We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parked out car at check-in and didn't have to drive til we checked out four days later”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Parked out car at check-in and didn't have to drive til we checked out four days later”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This place is very cool. Situated right near the water, our suite had killer views. Most everything we needed during our stay was within walking or biking distance, so we never had to use our car. We stayed for four days and began our mornings by sauntering out to the park (directly adjacent to the hotel) where we just hung out and got caffeined-up while we soaked up the ambience of the lake, marina, and the goings-on. There's a walking/biking path, a smoked fish shop, beach, lighthouse, and much more, very close to the hotel. We all enjoyed the indoor pool and spa at the end of the day, too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booboo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    75
    63
    21
    8
See reviews for
69
84
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Franksville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Not sure about the hype. Hotel has been there for years and in many respects it's showing (not well). Noticed an electric space heater sitting on a mantle when entering the lobby to generate additional heat and the carpeting certainly could use a major cleaning.

Like one of the other reviews, park early. Lot is very small and fills up quickly. We were one of the lucky ones but heard another guest's concern they were ticketed for street parking over night. Room was OK at best, small bathroom, ten year old tube televisions and the view, well like others said...... it's a small crummy harbor with a few unsold condos and a power plant. Wouldn't call that romantic or exciting.

I suppose if you paid $79 for a weekend night like we did and your sole intention is hanging around for a wedding reception or going downtown for pub crawling, OK......

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUMMAGETHENET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We have stayed at this motel since it was owned by Smith Brothers - every year we get a suite - it consists of either a separate alcove beyond the sleeping area - with a fold out couch - or a small separate room when you enter - that has a fold out couch and its own tv - as defined - a SUITE is a group of connected rooms used as a living unit. Holiday Inn has a new definition - the SUITE we got had a longer than normal hallway - but then it was just a room with 2 queen beds, no couch (but it did have 2 chairs for the 3 of us) - I asked why they were calling it a suite - and was told because it had a lake view and a downtown view. WHAT???? We should have been charged for just a room with 2 queens - NOT a suite. So they offered instead to take $20 off our breakfast - which was inedible. Never used to be - this is the first time the food was so bad - so we had to get dressed and drive or walk to restaurants in the area - big pain. I reserved for 2 nights - got there and was told they only had me down for one night - WHAT? I was told - YOU are lucky it is not next week - we are booked solid next week. When I reserved I asked - is everything working? Hot tub - spa and swimming pool - they were insulted. But we have a handicapped son that it is really impossible to explain that something is broke - and if that was the case - we just would not go right now - but everything was working - until Sunday morning - then the hot tub was no longer working - we just left early - way too much hassle for a quick get away - lousy beds - great pillows - all I can think of as good - small tv - NO dvd or access to rent movies - what is with that?
This hotel has been a Ramada - a Best Western - maybe a few others - but Holiday Inn is the worst -

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank besand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Washington hotels

Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This hotels location can not be beat. It is right on Lake Michigan in downtown Port Washington. There are many restaurants within walking distance. The lake front walking path starts right outside the hotel.

I stayed in a whirlpool room on the top floor. I loved it. The refrigerator & microwave were very convenient. The whirlpool filled up with hot water in about two minutes. It was very clean, as was the rest of the room & the bathroom.

The pool is one of the largest hotel pools I've seen. There is a large hot tub & attached sauna. The area was also one of the cleanest pool areas I've been in and it appeared the floor and pool were recently refinished. Outside of the pool is a riverside sundeck.

I'd stay at this hotel again without hesitation. It may be an older property, but it is well staffed, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coso333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2009

My teenage son and I stayed in this motel on the way to Door County. GREAT hotel. Right downtown and right on the water. We enjoyed just sitting in our room and looking out the window at the harbor with small and large watercraft coming in and out of the docks. Nice pool was also enjoyed. Room was clean and quiet.....would stay again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uni69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I was greeted personally by the lady at the counter. My aunt had called to the hotel a few times concerned that I make it safely, I had driven alone from Winnipeg straight through to Port Wisconsin on the last day of Labour Day weekend (traffic was crazy!). The lady at the desk seemed almost as concerned about me as my Aunty, it was wonderful, I walked in and she said very relieved, I bet you are (and said my name)! I was greeted very warmly and given an upgraded room without paying extra, I had a nice view. I know some people say the view is overrated, I am a prarie girl and for me I was so excited, I got to look out at the quaint little condo's (they are so cute!) and a I am not sure if it is a store or restauant, that had FISH written on it, makes for some amazing photos (I am a photographer). You can see lake Michigan, it is way out there, the water view is a kind of a little private marina for the condo owners, and there is a power plant or something there, but hey, I am the type of person to see the good in things, oh, and the boardwalk around the condo's right hooked onto the hotel, it was lovely, and the park that is in the hotel's backdoor? IT is gorgeous, a lovely gazebo, this hotel is really in a prime location, Port Washington is a very old place, and you are in the heart of it and can walk up or down the main street without any problem you literally are right there, not a two minute walk. And I didn't hear any noises, I slept so soundly and the bed was the most comfortable of my journey yet. I didn't eat at the restaurant, so I can't comment about that. I did want to use the computer to email my hubby that I made it okay, but it was out of use. Stuff happens. I would NOT stay anywhere else if going to Port Washington, the area this hotel is in is awesome. Room was fine, not the Plaza but worked for me!! It wasn't the brand new sparkling clean hotel, but it is kept well, and my room was clean (I am pretty picky).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becksbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

lakeside room is best for ammenities and view. price seems a bit hight, but go every year and love it ! can walk from hotel to restaurants and lake and beautiful park next door. the staff is always pleasant and efficient

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadyToGoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
713 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Port Washington
Address: 135 E Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Harborview Port Washington Hotel,, located just 20 miles North of downtown Milwaukee on the shore of Lake Michigan. There are no other Wisconsin destinations that can offer the same sort of East-coast, New England-like charm. The Holiday Inn Harborview is one of the few Lake Michigan harbortown hotels in Wisconsin, offering a unique & charming boutique hotel experience. All guests are sure to appreciate the convenience of being adjacent to the Port Washington Marina, downtown shops & boutiques and some of the finest restaurants in the Milwaukee area including our very own Rusty Anchor Saloon & Eatery! For nearby recreation we are one of the only Port Washington, Milwaukee, Cedarburg, Mequon and Grafton area hotels near: charter fishing on Lake Michigan (3 boats on property), Interurban Bike Trail (starts on property), Elkhart Lake Road America and Kohler Wisconsin. In addition, being one of the few Cedarburg area hotels, many guests will take the short 8-mile trip to experience the Cedar Creek Winery & antique shops in historic downtown Cedarburg. For corporate travelers, the hotel is conveniently located near WE Energies Port Washington Power Plant, Concordia University, Charter Steel, SKF, Simplicity, Allen Edmonds, Tecumseh, Leggett & Platt, Columbia St. Mary s and Kleen Test Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Port Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing