We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location - older but still nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique location - older but still nice”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This property was originally a Best Western and converted to a Holiday Inn. In the early 90's a new section was added where all of the nicer rooms which face the Port Washington Lighthouse and harbor are located. There is a nice indoor pool and whirlpool, a small fitness room, and a restaurant and bar all on the lower level. The pool overlooks part of the harbor.

You are right downtown and there are many restaurants and shops to explore within close walking distance.

The hotel is well maintained but starting to show it's age on the inside. We were told that a major refresh was going to begin next year.

They have an arrangement with a local 24hr fitness center, which is about two miles away. That is a nice plus for those who do not want to miss their workouts while travelling. I have used the facility several times and it is new and well equipped, but a little small for a full-service gym. For runners or walkers there are nice options close by to include running along the Lake Michigan Beach.

A walk out to the Lighthouse along the breakwater is a must do it the weather allows.

The views of the Harbor are wonderful if you are in those rooms.

Room Tip: Lake views rooms are larger and have nicer bathrooms, some are Suites. The second floor used to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful and descriptive remarks about our hotel. We are pleased that you are a returning customer and really enjoy our hotel and city. We hope to see you coming back again and again!

Sincerely

Richard Tiedt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    75
    65
    21
    8
See reviews for
70
85
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I knew going in that it would be the most costly of the local hotels because of its "Location" however who ever owns this franchise has milked it dry. The carpeting appears to be 40 years old and so do the bathrooms it really wasnt very clean either.

Room Tip: Stay inland at a brand new facility one exit to the south on the freeway, then drive into Port Washi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tce13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear tce13,

We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel, we do try our best to keep our hotel updated with the things in the rooms and are working our way around the hotel. We do pride ourselves on being a very clean hotel and to hear that you did not find that in your stay, will make us work that much harder. I will let our housekeeping staff know of these issues you have brought up to us.

Thank you for your comments and concerns.

Sincerely
Richard Tiedt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Washington hotels

Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

For $100/night plus $25 extra for my dog, I expected a nicer hotel. The location is great, being right on Lake Michigan, the views are wonderful but inside the hotel-it needs some up keep. Our room was on the 2nd floor-I didn't look at other floor but I'm sure due to having the dog-we got put on the "less kept" floor like I've noticed in some other hotels and I don't like it one bit. Anywho..the layout of the facility is uninviting, decor needs updating, and the beds were hard and had no support, and the heater in our room squeeled. The pool/hot tub was great but when you look up, there are rooms of some sort overlooking the pool and some looked real trashy, they need to put blinds on those windows and close them. The staff was friendly but the housekeeping girls were pushy with wanting to get in our room to clean it on check out morning. Even caught one listening at our door to see if we were still in there! Having said all this, I probably won't be staying here again, unless the cost was half the price.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the lake-make sure you ask for it or you"ll be staring at other buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgmotorsports24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear jgmotorsports24,

First, off I want to thank you for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. Our hotel is trying to keep our hotel update the best we can, but unfortunately you are right that we only allow pets on certain floors, and those floors tend to see the ware of our hotel. We do have to keep pets to certain floors for other guest in the hotel.

Second, to address your room needs, I will make sure that our maintenance department is aware of the heater in that room, we have been taking out our older models and putting in new units, but the only way we know if they are working or not is to get the feedback, we are glad that you have let us know so we are able to fix that problem.

As for the beds, Holiday Inn has a standard on how the beds need to be and we meet those standards above and beyond for the quality of mattress but I will make sure that it gets check out again to ensure the next guest a comfortable night sleep.

Third, I am extremely sorry for the way the housekeepers were acting, they know that they should never make a guest feel like they need to leave before they are ready. I sincerely apologize for their behavior and will make sure some sort of action is taken for better guest service.

We do truly regret that these different events have impacted your experience at our hotel, and hope you can reconsider staying again.

Sincerely,
Richard Tiedt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The view of Lake Michigan is great, the hotel is right next to the lakeside park and walkway. Also in the Port Washington downtown, very pretty with church steeples on the hills makes the city look like in belongs in Maine. Every thing was good about the hotel except for one thing, there were toenail (or fingernail) clippings on the floor between the twin beds. I guess someone forgot to vaccum, the rest of the room was clean. If you stay here be sure to request a room with a vie of the lake.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Bill G,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel, and that you loved our town just as much as we do! You are very corrected in saying that our town has great sights and a view of the lake that can be breathe taking at times!
I want to apologize for the uncleanness of your room, we really do pride ourselves on being a very clean and tidy hotel. I will let our head housekeeper know of this situation, so she is aware of what happened.
I do hope that you come back again and enjoy our lovely town and hotel.

Thank you,
Richard Tiedt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Azizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I come up to Milwaukee about twice a year for meetings. I came across this hotel on the IHG website a few years back, before I had stayed farther south around Brown Deer road in Mequon. Port Washington is about 20 miles north of Milwaukee, just off I-43.The Holiday Inn in Port Washington is at the Marina in town, just off Lake Michigan. It's an older 5 story hotel that is well kept up. The staff has always been great and the rooms are very clean. Many of the rooms have mini-friges and microwave ovens. The wireless internet has worked well in every room I have stayed in.

They have a small restaurant in the basement. This trip the breakfast was excellent and not expensive. There is also an outdoor patio area. Port Washington is a quaint city and there are many places to eat within a few blocks. You can walk out to the lighthouse, which is about a 1/2 mile walk from the hotel. During the Summer they are usually sold out weeks in advance. If you want to stay in a hotel on Lake Michigan, this place is great.

Room Tip: East facing rooms have a full view of Lake Michigan. Rooms facing north have a view of downtown and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azrundfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We would like to thank you for being such a value customer to our Hotel. We appericate all the kind words you had to give us about our property. Thank you for choosing us, and can not wait to see you again!

Thank you,

Richard Tiedt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our last hotel on our 10 day trip.
What a view!!!!! Our room was on the 5th floor with a view of Lake Michigan and what a way to wake up each morning to see the sun rise!
The hotel is not new; I think it was a Best Western or Quality Inn before. It was a hotel picked by the bride for the family from out of town to stay in for the wedding. There isn't much to chose from in Port Washington. The staff did seem ready to help but not ready for the amount of people that came in at one time. We came back one night late and could not get the women's attention for information for the next day. My husband had to call me loudly from the front door before she realized I was at the desk saying loudly "excuse me".
The parking was not always available on the port side of the building and with a truck that can be an issue. Parking on the city side was hard to maneuver at times.
The room was clean and we had the whirlpool tub which really helped this tired traveler. The bathroom was large with a stand-up shower, whirlpool tub, toilet and sink.
The furniture had some issues; you could tell this is a fisherman's hotel. There were knife holes in the pull out couch and arm chair in the room. Someone forgot that they had a knife on them when they sat down.
The bed was comfortable and the room was very large with pullout couch and work area. There was a sink between the beds and bathroom which did help us when someone was in the bathroom using the sink.
The pool was nice but an odd location; next to the bar with windows looking into the bar, yes that ment they could see you too.
The triangle whirlpool was different but very nice. The jets were very strong and helped my feet that were very sore from all the walking I did around town.
The restaurant was under staffed for the week; one cook and one waitress each day. We warned her before we left to prepare for the next day due to our numbers growing each day until the wedding. The food came out slow and we helped ourselves to extra sugar/water/napkins as needed. She was very friendly but overwhelmed.
They also have washers and dryers for guests to use and that came in very handy for us being on the road for so long.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytotravel127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your view of the lovely Lake Michigan. It is just a wonderful view to wake up to every morning! It is also great to hear that our staff was helpful, sorry with our third shift staff with their attention, they need to also remember customer service skills too, I apologize for that. I also understand the frustration with the parking lots, it is hard because of where our hotel is located. For your future stay just let our front desk staff know and they will give you permission to park on the street, so you do not have such a challenge.
I am glad you enjoyed your big room it is one of the favorite rooms in our hotel. We are sorry about the furniture! I will let our maintenance and housekeeping staff know of those tears, so repairs or replacements are done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nekoosa, Wi
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the third year for our annual family reunion. Let's start with the room, the room is average size and was very clean as was the bathroom. The bathroom is very small and the tub drained very slow which seems to be a problem in older hotels. It's not a new hotel but one of the original hotels in Port Washington that the Holiday Inn purchased some years ago. We rented a conference room in the lower level for our family reunion which was very adequate. The location is perfect, right next to Lake Michigan by the harbor/marina, Spectacular view. The property itsself didn't disappoint me, it was the staff that I thought could have used some customer training. When we checked in the girl couldn't find our reservation, you might of known this was the one time that I left my confirmation number at home. She said not to worry as they had plenty of rooms although they told another party earlier that they only had one room left. The next morning I double checked as I didn't want to get double billed and the new girl at the desk said my first reservation was canceled and I would only get billed for the one I made when I checked in. We never canceled, I think they needed a room with two queens on an earlier reservation and canceled ours because we were only able to get two doubles when we checked in. Now to the bar on the lower level which I realize is leased but reflects on the hotel. The girl behind the bar was the least interested in making any money. She spend most of her time texting or flirting with the younger guys at the bar. No personality whatsoever. She couldn't wait for the last person to leave to lock the door. We will probably book again for next year as there's very hotels that have a lounge, restaurant, pool and let's you bring in you're own beverages and snacks.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the first floor next to the main street, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSchmidtNekoosa_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear DSchmidtNekoosa_Wi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found our hotel a perfect location for your annual family reunion. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
724 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Port Washington
Address: 135 E Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Harborview Port Washington Hotel,, located just 20 miles North of downtown Milwaukee on the shore of Lake Michigan. There are no other Wisconsin destinations that can offer the same sort of East-coast, New England-like charm. The Holiday Inn Harborview is one of the few Lake Michigan harbortown hotels in Wisconsin, offering a unique & charming boutique hotel experience. All guests are sure to appreciate the convenience of being adjacent to the Port Washington Marina, downtown shops & boutiques and some of the finest restaurants in the Milwaukee area including our very own Rusty Anchor Saloon & Eatery! For nearby recreation we are one of the only Port Washington, Milwaukee, Cedarburg, Mequon and Grafton area hotels near: charter fishing on Lake Michigan (3 boats on property), Interurban Bike Trail (starts on property), Elkhart Lake Road America and Kohler Wisconsin. In addition, being one of the few Cedarburg area hotels, many guests will take the short 8-mile trip to experience the Cedar Creek Winery & antique shops in historic downtown Cedarburg. For corporate travelers, the hotel is conveniently located near WE Energies Port Washington Power Plant, Concordia University, Charter Steel, SKF, Simplicity, Allen Edmonds, Tecumseh, Leggett & Platt, Columbia St. Mary s and Kleen Test Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Port Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing