We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Stop on the way to Wisconsin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Last Stop on the way to Wisconsin”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our last hotel on our 10 day trip.
What a view!!!!! Our room was on the 5th floor with a view of Lake Michigan and what a way to wake up each morning to see the sun rise!
The hotel is not new; I think it was a Best Western or Quality Inn before. It was a hotel picked by the bride for the family from out of town to stay in for the wedding. There isn't much to chose from in Port Washington. The staff did seem ready to help but not ready for the amount of people that came in at one time. We came back one night late and could not get the women's attention for information for the next day. My husband had to call me loudly from the front door before she realized I was at the desk saying loudly "excuse me".
The parking was not always available on the port side of the building and with a truck that can be an issue. Parking on the city side was hard to maneuver at times.
The room was clean and we had the whirlpool tub which really helped this tired traveler. The bathroom was large with a stand-up shower, whirlpool tub, toilet and sink.
The furniture had some issues; you could tell this is a fisherman's hotel. There were knife holes in the pull out couch and arm chair in the room. Someone forgot that they had a knife on them when they sat down.
The bed was comfortable and the room was very large with pullout couch and work area. There was a sink between the beds and bathroom which did help us when someone was in the bathroom using the sink.
The pool was nice but an odd location; next to the bar with windows looking into the bar, yes that ment they could see you too.
The triangle whirlpool was different but very nice. The jets were very strong and helped my feet that were very sore from all the walking I did around town.
The restaurant was under staffed for the week; one cook and one waitress each day. We warned her before we left to prepare for the next day due to our numbers growing each day until the wedding. The food came out slow and we helped ourselves to extra sugar/water/napkins as needed. She was very friendly but overwhelmed.
They also have washers and dryers for guests to use and that came in very handy for us being on the road for so long.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytotravel127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your view of the lovely Lake Michigan. It is just a wonderful view to wake up to every morning! It is also great to hear that our staff was helpful, sorry with our third shift staff with their attention, they need to also remember customer service skills too, I apologize for that. I also understand the frustration with the parking lots, it is hard because of where our hotel is located. For your future stay just let our front desk staff know and they will give you permission to park on the street, so you do not have such a challenge.
I am glad you enjoyed your big room it is one of the favorite rooms in our hotel. We are sorry about the furniture! I will let our maintenance and housekeeping staff know of those tears, so repairs or replacements are done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    75
    65
    21
    8
See reviews for
70
85
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nekoosa, Wi
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the third year for our annual family reunion. Let's start with the room, the room is average size and was very clean as was the bathroom. The bathroom is very small and the tub drained very slow which seems to be a problem in older hotels. It's not a new hotel but one of the original hotels in Port Washington that the Holiday Inn purchased some years ago. We rented a conference room in the lower level for our family reunion which was very adequate. The location is perfect, right next to Lake Michigan by the harbor/marina, Spectacular view. The property itsself didn't disappoint me, it was the staff that I thought could have used some customer training. When we checked in the girl couldn't find our reservation, you might of known this was the one time that I left my confirmation number at home. She said not to worry as they had plenty of rooms although they told another party earlier that they only had one room left. The next morning I double checked as I didn't want to get double billed and the new girl at the desk said my first reservation was canceled and I would only get billed for the one I made when I checked in. We never canceled, I think they needed a room with two queens on an earlier reservation and canceled ours because we were only able to get two doubles when we checked in. Now to the bar on the lower level which I realize is leased but reflects on the hotel. The girl behind the bar was the least interested in making any money. She spend most of her time texting or flirting with the younger guys at the bar. No personality whatsoever. She couldn't wait for the last person to leave to lock the door. We will probably book again for next year as there's very hotels that have a lounge, restaurant, pool and let's you bring in you're own beverages and snacks.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the first floor next to the main street, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSchmidtNekoosa_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear DSchmidtNekoosa_Wi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found our hotel a perfect location for your annual family reunion. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This Holiday Inn, while the public areas were a bit dated, had nice rooms and a great location. A nice park along Lake Michigan was next to the hotel, and there are many shops and restaurants nearby. It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments. We love to hear from our guests and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our town. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very polite, and the view and walk around the area were unparalleled. The only problem was that I had paid for a nonsmoking room and although on the surface it appeared that was the case, the aroma negated that fact.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melody Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments. We appreciate hearing the nice comments you made about our hotel, however we apologize that your room smelled of cigarette smoke. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. When we are made aware of guest rooms that have been smoked in, our housekeeping staff completes a deep cleaning procedure to remove the smoke from the room and we do everything in our power to keep them smoke free. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Holiday Inn Port Washington August 25-28, 2012. This was our second stay at this location. The hotel is in the downtown area and convenient to many restaurants and shops. We were able to walk to most places and barely used our rental car. We were very pleased with our corner room on the fourth floor. The large, well furnished room provided spectacular views of the town and harbor. The bathroom had an immaculate whirlpool tub, separate shower, and large vanity. Bath and Body Works lotion and shampoo were supplied. We heard no noise from the hallway or neighboring rooms and enjoyed coffee from the lobby each morning. The pool looked great. Our only concerns were a non-working light in the bathroom and dusty bed headboards. We will likely stay at this hotel again since we have family who live in Port Washington.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugeCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our hotel. Our goal is for our guests to feel relaxed in a clean, comfortable guest room and be able to take advantage of everything Port Washington has to offer by being able to walk to restaurants, shops and the lakefront. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff will do their best to investigate your concerns. We thank you again for the nice comments you shared with us and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The room was nice but the view was terrible. The staff was unfriendly and not helpful. I would never stay here again. They don't even offer a continental breakfast even though they charge enough for it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearsfan5189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we value your opinion. I apologize that you received an unsatisfactory guest experience. We want our guests to feel welcome and appreciated when they stay with us. If you visit the Port Washington area again, we would love the opportunity to try and make things right for you. Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Called the 800 number for Holiday in when we arrived and were walking around this quaint little town just doing sight seeing. We were told there were no rooms but my friend said we should stop in and check as it is the only hotel/motel on the water. Sure enough, they did have rooms available!! Just goes to show you can't always count on the 800 number having the correct information. Rates were acceptable and rooms were clean. The bar downstairs had problems with the air conditioning and the staff was less than hospitable. Don't blame them as it had to be over 90 degrees in the kitchen. This is the perfect place to stay to take advantage of the beautiful harbor and restaurants. Only a few rooms have lake view which is sad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyandjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for walking into the hotel and checking to see whether or not we had a room available! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our city and your guest room. We appreciate hearing from our guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We would like to apologize for the service your received in the restaurant. We did have an issue with the air conditioning, which has been addressed. We have recently hired a food and beverage manager who has designed a new menu, created daily specials and has been training staff members (new and old). We thank you again for your comments. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
721 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Port Washington
Address: 135 E Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Harborview Port Washington Hotel,, located just 20 miles North of downtown Milwaukee on the shore of Lake Michigan. There are no other Wisconsin destinations that can offer the same sort of East-coast, New England-like charm. The Holiday Inn Harborview is one of the few Lake Michigan harbortown hotels in Wisconsin, offering a unique & charming boutique hotel experience. All guests are sure to appreciate the convenience of being adjacent to the Port Washington Marina, downtown shops & boutiques and some of the finest restaurants in the Milwaukee area including our very own Rusty Anchor Saloon & Eatery! For nearby recreation we are one of the only Port Washington, Milwaukee, Cedarburg, Mequon and Grafton area hotels near: charter fishing on Lake Michigan (3 boats on property), Interurban Bike Trail (starts on property), Elkhart Lake Road America and Kohler Wisconsin. In addition, being one of the few Cedarburg area hotels, many guests will take the short 8-mile trip to experience the Cedar Creek Winery & antique shops in historic downtown Cedarburg. For corporate travelers, the hotel is conveniently located near WE Energies Port Washington Power Plant, Concordia University, Charter Steel, SKF, Simplicity, Allen Edmonds, Tecumseh, Leggett & Platt, Columbia St. Mary s and Kleen Test Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Port Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing