We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location near the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This Holiday Inn, while the public areas were a bit dated, had nice rooms and a great location. A nice park along Lake Michigan was next to the hotel, and there are many shops and restaurants nearby. It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the nice comments. We love to hear from our guests and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our town. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Port Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

The staff was very polite, and the view and walk around the area were unparalleled. The only problem was that I had paid for a nonsmoking room and although on the surface it appeared that was the case, the aroma negated that fact.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Melody Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments. We appreciate hearing the nice comments you made about our hotel, however we apologize that your room smelled of cigarette smoke. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. When we are made aware of guest rooms that have been smoked in, our housekeeping staff completes a deep cleaning procedure to remove the smoke from the room and we do everything in our power to keep them smoke free. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Holiday Inn Port Washington August 25-28, 2012. This was our second stay at this location. The hotel is in the downtown area and convenient to many restaurants and shops. We were able to walk to most places and barely used our rental car. We were very pleased with our corner room on the fourth floor. The large, well furnished room provided spectacular views of the town and harbor. The bathroom had an immaculate whirlpool tub, separate shower, and large vanity. Bath and Body Works lotion and shampoo were supplied. We heard no noise from the hallway or neighboring rooms and enjoyed coffee from the lobby each morning. The pool looked great. Our only concerns were a non-working light in the bathroom and dusty bed headboards. We will likely stay at this hotel again since we have family who live in Port Washington.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HugeCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our hotel. Our goal is for our guests to feel relaxed in a clean, comfortable guest room and be able to take advantage of everything Port Washington has to offer by being able to walk to restaurants, shops and the lakefront. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff will do their best to investigate your concerns. We thank you again for the nice comments you shared with us and we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The room was nice but the view was terrible. The staff was unfriendly and not helpful. I would never stay here again. They don't even offer a continental breakfast even though they charge enough for it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearsfan5189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we value your opinion. I apologize that you received an unsatisfactory guest experience. We want our guests to feel welcome and appreciated when they stay with us. If you visit the Port Washington area again, we would love the opportunity to try and make things right for you. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Called the 800 number for Holiday in when we arrived and were walking around this quaint little town just doing sight seeing. We were told there were no rooms but my friend said we should stop in and check as it is the only hotel/motel on the water. Sure enough, they did have rooms available!! Just goes to show you can't always count on the 800 number having the correct information. Rates were acceptable and rooms were clean. The bar downstairs had problems with the air conditioning and the staff was less than hospitable. Don't blame them as it had to be over 90 degrees in the kitchen. This is the perfect place to stay to take advantage of the beautiful harbor and restaurants. Only a few rooms have lake view which is sad.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyandjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for walking into the hotel and checking to see whether or not we had a room available! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our city and your guest room. We appreciate hearing from our guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We would like to apologize for the service your received in the restaurant. We did have an issue with the air conditioning, which has been addressed. We have recently hired a food and beverage manager who has designed a new menu, created daily specials and has been training staff members (new and old). We thank you again for your comments. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Location - the best. Property?- Needs some capital improvements.
The original builder/owner were not geniusness, so there are some significant
design problems ( not addressable by current franchisees.)

Had a group of 6 rooms, common comments: - adequate Rooms, well cleaned. Maintenance and
room staff is ok, but they can only vacuum a worn out carpet so many times. Avoid the street side rooms at all costs. Chemicals in the pool will bleach out anything, including a tan.

Staff does not police noisy/drunk party groups on floors. Bar staff is inexperienced, overwhelmed
and easily emotionaly provoked -very immature. Go somewhere else for an evening drink; Better social gather options a short walk. Breakfast buffet is average, but AM the staff could care less if you are there. Overall, while there are no options on the water front, this property is "ok" , the owners just need to take more attention in managing the overall experience of the guest. (Watch a couple episodes of Hotel Impossible-and take notes so you don't need to make that call.)

Room Tip: Avoid te street side
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. We would like to apologize for the noise and the service you received. We want our guests to relax and enjoy their stay with us while in Port Washington. We have recently hired a food and beverage manager who has been re-training the restaurant staff on providing great service to each and every guest. Thank you again for your comments. We would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stopped through Port Washington en route to Green Bay. Sunday night. Rain. Yachties in off the water crowded the few open restaurants so we elected to eat in the hotel bar/restaurant. Simply put: worst food ever. Overcooked, dry, tasteless, slow. Worse, the temperature in the room was at least 80 degrees. Asked the waitress if she could adjust AC. Said she can't, that it's always like that. Wine was reasonably priced and well served. Just don't order anything foodwise to go with your drink.
In contrast the hotel was fine...a hotel. Nothing special since we didn't have a room with a view. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryBWashingtonDCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear MaryBWashingtonDCUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased that you have mentioned our friendly staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manger
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
8.6 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
12.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mequon Milwaukee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Washington

Address: 135 E Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range: $104 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Harborview Port Washington Hotel,, located just 20 miles North of downtown Milwaukee on the shore of Lake Michigan. There are no other Wisconsin destinations that can offer the same sort of East-coast, New England-like charm. The Holiday Inn Harborview is one of the few Lake Michigan harbortown hotels in Wisconsin, offering a unique & charming boutique hotel experience. All guests are sure to appreciate the convenience of being adjacent to the Port Washington Marina, downtown shops & boutiques and some of the finest restaurants in the Milwaukee area including our very own Rusty Anchor Saloon & Eatery! For nearby recreation we are one of the only Port Washington, Milwaukee, Cedarburg, Mequon and Grafton area hotels near: charter fishing on Lake Michigan (3 boats on property), Interurban Bike Trail (starts on property), Elkhart Lake Road America and Kohler Wisconsin. In addition, being one of the few Cedarburg area hotels, many guests will take the short 8-mile trip to experience the Cedar Creek Winery & antique shops in historic downtown Cedarburg. For corporate travelers, the hotel is conveniently located near WE Energies Port Washington Power Plant, Concordia University, Charter Steel, SKF, Simplicity, Allen Edmonds, Tecumseh, Leggett & Platt, Columbia St. Mary s and Kleen Test Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Port Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing