We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“German Food at its finest!”

PJ Campbells at the Depot
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“German Food at its finest!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Come to Plymouth and enjoy an authentic, delicious German meal in a warm and inviting setting. Be sure to try the Chicken Schnitzel, the potato pancakes, the "BIG Pretzel" and dessert.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
“Don't Order the Rouladen!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have enjoyed going to the Depot for over 30 years and it has changed hands several times. Knowing the new chef was locally celebrated in german cuisine, led us to order the wienerschnitzel and beef rouladen. My wienerschnitzel was very good, however, the rouladen that my dad and husband ordered was a very small portion of very thin meat wrapped around four two-inch carrots. That's it! Needless to say, the two men walked away hungry. This isn't the same rouladen we had at this restaurant several months ago and we fear that, because they have been doing a pretty good business under the new ownership, they are beginning to cut corners. The historic pictures of the old rail depot are nice but, overall, the dining room is very plain and depressing. Taken as a whole, we won't be back for a long time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Average "Supper Club"”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just another Wisconsin supper club. The food was nothing special. The dining room could use a different decor. The bar area is clean and really nice to sit in after dinner and the drinks were pretty good as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, WI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you like good food, good service, good prices and a welcoming atmosphere, you won't do much better than this restaurant in Plymouth, Wisconsin. Choose from tasty German food to Fish frys to perfectly prepared Baked French Onion soup. A beautifully decorated old rail depot is now serving just what you want in food and drink. Try it once, and you'll see why it's a favorite to many.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Sartori_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great German Food, Great Service”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I try to go out every week, and keep trying different items on the menu. I have always been pleased, and it starts with Joseph at the Host Station. The train pictures are great and set a special mood., and the German food is tasty and interesting too. When Chef Patrick comes out to the dining room and greats his guests, he adds a special unique experience. Try the Baked Onion Soup, or Bavarian Pretzel for a starter and follow it with a salad with home made dressing.

Entrees range from Veal Schnitzel to Pasta Alfredo. Sides include potato pancakes, my favorite.
Continue with dessert, and a wonderful drink from the bar. I am sure you will return again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1nonna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ Campbells at the Depot also viewed

 

Been to PJ Campbells at the Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing