We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Basil

Sweet Basil
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Cute and nice cafe style. I had the salmon and the flavor was excellent. I also ordered the tiramiso and was disappointed as it was sort of bland…did not detect any Kalhua. Otherwise everyone was happy with what they ordered.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank knitter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We love the appetizers and especially the salads. The wine list is nice and not to expensive. The food and service at this restaurant is top notch. The decor, well.......

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiscPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good small town place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My Friday night clam chowder was very fresh tasting and well done. I had the pork osso bucco and it was falling apart tender, hot and flavorful. This kind of portion obviously takes a long time to prepare and I would love to know how they saved and reheated or just what they did. They have a very nice selection of salads with unique and fresh ingredients. Very good selection of deserts if you have room.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinJ379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseilles, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I sat in the bar area on a Friday night when I went here. It was crowded but we were able to get a seat. The bartenders were extremely nice...always smiling and interacting with the guests. We had anticipated just getting drinks and an appetizer, but the food looked so good we looked over the menu again.

I ordered the margarita flatbread and the Tuscan meatloaf. The flatbread was very good, but it was similar to others I've had. The crust was delicious though! Now, the meatloaf...was amazing! It was unusual and very flavorful. The mashed potatoes were creamy and garlicky and the broccoli was cooked perfectly.

The drinks are strong and they have a nice selection of liquor to choose from.

I can't believe I never tried this place earlier...it is really a gem!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Walked in, no reservation, and were greeted by their very friendly hostess. Went to the bar and had a cocktail before being seated in the relaxing dining room. Started off the meal with a complimentary, delicious warm bread to dip in their house olive oil and parmesan. Next we had a crisp and very tasty mushroom flatbread and a house salad with italian dressing. Our entrees were the bone-in ribeye and the tuscan meatloaf. Both entrees were cooked perfectly and tasted incredible. No dessert, we were stuffed, but the tray looked fantastic. I would highly recommend this hidden jem of a restaurant to anyone, local or traveling. A short drive from Elkhart Lake and Kohler. I would suggest reservations on the weekend. Try it and you will be in for a treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie7Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing