We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“College town pizza at its finest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steve's Pizza Palace

Steve's Pizza Palace
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Platteville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“College town pizza at its finest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Steve's pizza is a must stop when in Platteville,WI. Located in the small downtown it has that great college town feel. There are a lot of beer choices which is nice and allows you to try some local brews. Then you get to the pizza. There are many different combinations to choose from or you can create your own. The crust is thin and crispy. Try the fried cheese curds for an appetizer. Will definitely make this a regular stop when visiting our daughter at college.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank abtfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Pizza is always great at Steve's - we were glad to have good TVs to watch the Badgers Final Four game too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must try...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The atmosphere was Fun but the service was very slow. We had to go find out waiter two times for refills on our sodas and so did both of the tables on each side of us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ahjellming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, WI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Thee Best thin crust pizza ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our favorite stop after high school games and dates 45 years ago and still is today. You can never go wrong with a good established pizza/bar/reception hall.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marti k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

After reading all the rave reviews my partner and I decided to give Steve's Pizza Palace a try. What a disappointment! We went there on a Sunday night and there was hardly anybody in the place. Our waitress took FOREVER to come over to our table to greet us. When she finally came over my partner asked for a wine list, and the waitress recited the types of wine that they had, i.e. Merlot, Cabernet, etc. My partner had to ask her several times: "Well can we please see a wine list?" Finally she brought one over to our table.

We ordered an appetizer--the spinach dip with tortilla chips--which was quite good. The appetizer arrived in a timely fashion but we waited and waited for our salad, which did NOT arrive in a timely fashion. A couple at the table across the room were seated AFTER us, and they were already almost done with their pizza and still we had no salad! We had to flag down a different waitress in order to inquire about our food and order another round of drinks. "We're backed up in the kitchen" was her response, which was hard to believe since there was hardly anybody in the place.

Finally the salad AND the pizza arrived AT THE SAME TIME! Usually the salad should come BEFORE the main entree. But I have to admit that the Greek Salad was very good--plentiful and fresh. The pizza, on the other hand, was TERRIBLE! Other reviewers had raved about the great sauce. Well, we wouldn't know because our pizza didn't seem to have any sauce on it at all! It was dry as cardboard, and we found the crust to be unappetizing. WTF? And this place is rated number one in Platteville? I don't think that we will be going back any time soon...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RealHungryMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve's Pizza Palace also viewed

 

Been to Steve's Pizza Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing