We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms”
Review of Mound View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mound View Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Platteville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The room was very large and well equipped for a long weekend stay.The staff were very friendly and helpful with my complicated check in. The hotel Was very quiet even being close to the road. I lived in Platteville for years and I rarely gave this hidden gem a chance. Definitely worth staying at again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaMontae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moundviewinn, Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

really enjoy staying here while in the area on business. They check in process is simple, the rooms are spacious and clean. Great price and location. I will always stay here when in need of lodging in this area,

Room Tip: plan to enjoy a quiet relaxing evening here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moundviewinn, General Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Definitely appreciate the comments and hope to see you on a future stay! Parth -GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our heat didn't work. The man at the desk said he stays in a similar room and his is fine. It just takes a couple hours. Well 4 hours later it started blowing minimal heat but made such a horrible grinding sound that we had to shut it off. We paid a lot for a whirlpool room but couldnt use it because it was so cold in there. We stayed in December it was supposed to be time away for my birthday. It was less than enjoyable. The owner offered to give us $20 back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenJo2079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moundviewinn, General Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry that it was less then satisfactory. We will use your observations to improve for all our guests. Parth-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

You get what you pay for with this hotel. It's no frills, but it's clean, cheap, decent beds and close enough to campus that it's a short ride. You are going to find a toaster, pre-packaged rolls and basic juice and milk for the continental breakfast, but don't expect more. I recommend you call first to make sure the hot tub is up and running because like anything, sometimes its down for maintenance. I have stayed here many times while recruiting and will again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moundviewinn, General Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for staying us & taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your suggestions.
We have now added fresh fruit & yogurt to our complimentary continental breakfast menu. See you next time through. Parth-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The issues are many that made this a bad experience. First, the hot whirlpool was cold. We were told that it is set to 95 degrees so children can go into it. Children must have been in it as the sides of the whirlpool displayed grime immediately upon turning on the jets. (By the way 95 degrees is bellow body temperature). Breakfast consisted of packets of unflavored oatmeal (with no sugar, butter, fruit, etc), very small containers of yogurt, bread, jars of generic peanut butter and jelly with all the other customers hands handling the utensils, and small/nasty muffins. The advertise an exercise room...what a joke! This is an end cap on the second story, not a separate room, with three cheap pieces of exercise equipment you couldn't give away in a rummage sale. The room was cleaned poorly upon arrival. When I complained about the service and amenities, the worker at the desk expressed that she wasn't able to help me in any way. She advised I talk to the manager the next morning regarding my complaints. The owners and management don't even have a system of responding to customer complaints. My bit of advice if needed to stay in Platteville for a high use weekend is to DRIVE TO DUBUQUE as the 15 minute travel will be worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moundviewinn, General Manager at Mound View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We are sorry that your stay was less then satisfactory. We appreciate it when guests point out deficiencies. This allows us to correct them. Please come back sometime. We will always do our best to do better. Parth-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platteville
1.9 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville
20.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
17.3 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Lancaster Welcome Inn
Lancaster Welcome Inn
#2 of 2 in Lancaster
14 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
23.0 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mound View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mound View Inn

Address: 1755 E Business Highway 151, Platteville, WI 53818-3848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Platteville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Platteville
Price Range: $82 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mound View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located of Hwy 151 at Exit 21(Business Hwy151). We are across Walmart, McDonald's & Menards. Just Minutes away from UW-Plateville Campus. Non-Smoking Hotel. Free WI-FI, Free Hot Cont. Breakfast, Hot Tub for Guest Use, Fitness Equipment for Guest Use, All Rooms with Fridge/Microwave, Jacuzzi Suits Available. Family-owned and Operated, Mound View Inn continues to pride itself by offering clean, comfortable and specious hotel rooms at affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mound View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing