We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunder Bay Grille

Thunder Bay Grille
Ranked #4 of 87 Restaurants in Pewaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant Thunder Bay Grille's spacious interior seamlessly melds contemporary elements with a warm lodge setting. Natural elements of light and dark woods and soft colored stones are combined with sparkle of glass to create a relaxing and inviting atmosphere. A casual atmosphere for groups of all kinds from family gatherings to business meetings. About us Rated #1 on TripAdvisor (March 2016) Wine Spectator Award of Excellence (2015) We invite you to come in and enjoy casual dining at its best. Some of the best memories are made from time sharing food and drink. Comfortable soft seating areas are for gathering, relaxing and socializing with family friends or colleagues. We pride ourselves on our commitment to our guests' experience and want each guest to enjoy themselves while dining with us. Menus Our chefs have rolled up their sleeves to create a whole new menu experience. We use local and regional sourcing partners' which results in fresh, exciting menu options. Try our fresh, never frozen fish and seafood or our chicken and pork that are raised naturally to assure the best flavor. Our private events menu is customizable so you get the perfect menu for your event. Private Events: Each event, regardless of size, is tailored to meet our clients' tastes and needs. We welcome your inquiry and will be pleased to answer any questions you might have about our venue. Catering: Thunder Bay Grille can cater to parties of any size and has successfully catered gatherings of all sizes from 10 to 10,000 - give us a call to get the details. Our staff will take care of the details.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to go for the NCAA tourney cause all the other bars were packed and we were able to get a seat near a tv here. Had a few drinks and some food during the game. I had a stuffed burger and it was alright at best, definitely not worth what we were charged. It is a neat atmosphere inside, but don't expect the food to match the price.

Helpful?
Thank mleslie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    91
    44
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good solid restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Large place but it is set-up in a way that does not make it feel that way. The food was very good and the wait staff was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PewaukeePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's a little pricier, but the food is really good. I've enjoyed the salads, meat dishes, and jambalaya. Sometimes a wait at lunch time, but that's just a sign it's a good place to eat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YKM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, WI
Level Contributor
292 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I recently visited here for dinner and it was fantastic. The restaurant itself is huge, with multiple dining areas and a separate room for the salad bar. This means they are able to accommodate large amounts of people, while not making you feel crowded. We were seated promptly in a comfortable booth and immediately noticed that two members of their staff would be waiting on us. Not a trainee and a waitress, but two people. They provided suggestions on specials and offered alternative ways of preparing menu items. My wife had the shrimp and I had the bison meatloaf. Not a complex dish to make, but it was quite tasty. We followed it all up with a warm desert. The food, combined with the exceptional service and great up north atmosphere make Thunderbay Grill a winner in my book.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sloomis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
437 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Reliable choice for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I went here for lunch with our daughter, who was heading back to college. We didn't have a reservation, so we had to wait only a few minutes. This is a popular lunch place for the nearby office workers, and it's frequently quite busy. We were seated in the back room, which seemed to be opened to handle a larger than expected lunch crowd. Service was pretty good, but a little slow at times. I had the salad bar and the chicken tacos, and our daughter had the mac and cheese with crispy prosciutto. Everything was really good, and there was plenty of food. The service was a bit slow and disorganized, and it's good that we didn't have any real time limitations. However, I have eaten here before without any real issues, so I am not going to hold this against the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Bay Grille also viewed

 

Been to Thunder Bay Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing