We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milwaukee Marriott West
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pewaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ok but dated”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in November and the hotel was ok but the room was somewhat dated with older standard Marriott furnishings etc. it is a decent enough location and I wouldn't mind staying again but probably wouldn't do it for too long. I was only there one night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Director of Sales at Milwaukee Marriott West, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. You will be happy to learn that we are currently refreshing all of our guest rooms. New carpet, drapes, chairs, lamps and more. We hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    109
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
67
43
20
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

we called at 11 am to see if we could check in early and were told no problem! We arrived about 1 pm and were given our room immediately. The front desk folks were helpful and courteous and the room up ty expectations for a newer Marriott. All amenities were good, this is a very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Duluth_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Director of Sales at Milwaukee Marriott West, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for acknowledging our front desk associates. I'll be sure to share your kind words with everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I recently booked the Marriott Milwaukee West for my college's homecoming weekend. The hotel is located near Waukesha and Pewaukee. I only booked it several days prior to arriving. On our way up I realized that I hadn't checked to see if the room had a fridge in it to store medication in. I called the hotel from the car to ask about that. They were very nice said that it would be taken care of for me. When we checked in the fridge was not only in the room, but also plugged in so we could use it right away. I can't tell you how many times there may be a fridge in the room, but not plugged in. This is just one thing that this hotel does right. The check-in process was so smooth. I spend a lot of time away from home for my business and this particular hotel is one of the cleanest that I have ever stayed in. There wasn't a spot on carpeting or furniture anywhere that we saw in this hotel. We also had requested a 'feather free' room and that was taken care before we even arrived. I have stayed in many 5* hotels around the world, but the cleanliness and attention to service put it above many of those. Great stay, only wish we were staying more than 1 night!

Room Tip: Every area that we saw in this hotel was top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieW6016UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Director of Sales at Milwaukee Marriott West, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am pleaseed that you had an enjoyable weekend and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near huture,

Sincerely,

Keith Kramar
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here with some other people for a wedding recently. The rooms were decent and clean. I didn't use the pool or exercise facilities but they looked above average. In general, everything went fine and the wedding had good food and seemed to go off smoothly. We had breakfast too at their bistro restaurant. They had an omelette station that was good, but everything else was average.

I only had one bad experience. The hotel bar staff was not friendly and quite rude to our group.

Oeverall, we had a good time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Director of Sales at Milwaukee Marriott West, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for the nice comments. I am sorry and surprized to hear about the service at the bar. I will definitely share your comments. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My context for writing is as a father of the bride on August 4, 2012. I have worked in the wedding industry for more than 20 years, but have no professional connection to Marriott West nor do I expect to have such connection. Just a father of the bride who knew of this facility from my work. The Marriott was always a standout compared to the other options, and I'm glad it was our choice for our own daughter's wedding celebration.

We chose Marriott West for my own sense of the elegance of the place -- and for the dollar value compared to the other area reception venues I have experienced (and I'd say I've experienced them all in metro Milwaukee.)

Some reception venues have class, but mediocre location. Others have class, but with highly classy price tag. Still others are mediocre venues with prices higher than they should be.

Of course, price isn't everything. But we were looking for good value for our dollar in a location that exudes a measure of sophisication and serious NICE. The Marriott West was that and more.

From its exterior on a hill overlooking I-94 20 minutes from downtown Milwaukee, the Marriott West reminds one of a Las Vegas hotel without the casino. Circular driveway, very ample parking, spacious lobby, inviting pub in the lobby, longer salon area for pre-dinner cocktails...and a ballroom that easily met our expectatioins.

A very classy setting for our daughter's wedding reception.

We worked with the Marriott banquet staff over a period of 1 year -- most notably Stacy, our reception coordinator. Up to and including the moment of the unveling of our gorgeously appointed reception hall on the wedding day, it was a delghtful experience working with Stacy and her colleagues.

The food choices were excellent. Our guests were delighted and commented on their overall positive experiences both at dinner and as overnight hotel guests. (Perhaps THE major advantage of a wedding reception here is having your room right upstairs. A complentary suite is included for the bride and groom.)

Summing up, I really can't think of a nicer setting for a wedding than the Marriott Miwaukee West. I won't name other venues here, but if you are planning a wedding in Milwaukee you have no doubt been exposed to some of the "historic" locations that are touted as the finest in the area. I think some of them are overrated and, again, overpriced. And mine is a somewhat informed professional opinion, having experienced dozens of area reception setitngs over the years.

Thanks again to the Marriott staff for putting together a perfect amd memorable evening for our family and friends.

P.S. For Catholic readers of this review, daughter's ceremony was at Gesu Church in downtown Milwaukee -- arguably the most beautiful church in the city. The organ selections at this acoustically-perfect church moved us all to the max. A Gesu Church/Marriott West wedding is one you will never forget.)







idngs gn shot video over the years cinge sdu

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zidnuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Director of Sales at Milwaukee Marriott West, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for such nice comments. We are delighted to have been a part of such a special occassion. I will share your kind words with the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights when traveling to Wisconsin for a wedding. We had a terrific stay! The rooms were very clean and well appointed. the room was very quiet and we did not hear any noise from neighboring rooms. The bed was very comfortable. We ordered room service by hanging the breakfast menu outside our room and requested delivery between 8:00-8:15. It arrived at 8:00 exactly. I was very impressed. Food was very good and served at the correct temperatures.

The bar was a comfortable area to visit with other wedding guests and family. We did not visit the pool.

The recommendations I would have for this hotel is to add more lighting in guest rooms. Even with our curtains opened and all lights on, the rooms seemed fairly dark. The lighting was better in the bathroom but the sink counter was so deep, it was hard to put makeup on. A little make up mirror mounted on the wall in the bathroom would have been a Godsend. Also, it would have been very nice if there was a refrigerator in the rooms.

Room Tip: We had an even numbered room on the 3rd floor and it had a much better view than rooms with an odd n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NegrilBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Director of Sales at Milwaukee Marriott West, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for the great review. I appreciate the recommendations for improvements. I'll be sure to share those with the appropriate people. We hope you get a chance to stay with us again in the future.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Nice enough is what I would say about this Marriott. Like a lot of the Marriott hotels built in the late 1990's, it is starting to feel a bit dated. But it is clean, comfortable and right off the 94 freeway. It not quite as nice as I was hoping for a Marriott branded property, but nice enough for out here in the lake country.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetUsROI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Director of Sales at Milwaukee Marriott West, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are planning renovations in late October. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pewaukee
2.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milwaukee Brookfield
1.0 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 4 in Pewaukee
149 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brookfield
Hampton Inn Brookfield
#1 of 13 in Brookfield
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Pewaukee
Holiday Inn Pewaukee
#4 of 4 in Pewaukee
124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Waukesha Grand
10.0 mi away
The Delafield Hotel
The Delafield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Delafield
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milwaukee Marriott West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Marriott West

Property: Milwaukee Marriott West
Address: State Highway 164 at I-94, Exit 295 off I-94, Pewaukee, WI 53186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Pewaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pewaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milwaukee Marriott West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Milwaukee with the help of Milwaukee Marriott West. Close to major attractions including Miller Park (home to the Brewers), Lake Michigan, the Harley Davidson Museum and Milwaukee's Summerfest. Our hotel has 281 deluxe guestrooms and suites with generous amenities, including a 24-hour business center, indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, concierge lounge and complimentary parking. Savor breakfast, lunch or dinner at our BLVD Kitchen & Bar which is an exciting new American bistro that adds an unexpected twist to traditional bar and grill fare. Business travelers, groups and event planners benefit from our hotel's convenient access to Interstate 94, providing access to downtown and General Mitchell International Airport. With 10,000 sq. ft. of state of the art event space, Milwaukee Marriott West is ideal for wedding receptions, special events, business meetings, conferences and trade-shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milwaukee Marriott West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Milwaukee West Hotel Pewaukee
Marriott Hotel Pewaukee
Marriott Waukesha
Marriott Hotel Milwaukee West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing