We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Harbor View Cafe

Harbor View Cafe
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Pepin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
st paul
Level Contributor
147 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived on Sat at 1:15pm for lunch. We had a 15 minute wait, which was fine. Then they came to sit us and put us in the rear of the secondary, overflow room. We asked to wait for a better table, but were told No, not possible because they were closing in an hour and wanted to fill tables ASAP. So, in the spare room we noticed better tables than our back, in the rear end of the room. We asked for one of those empty tables, and again were told this was not possible. I have never seen such rigid rules. Would have been no skin off their nose to accommodate us, but they would not. We stayed, even tho we were tempted to walk put. Service was slow, only two waiters in the room. When our food finally came, it was good, tasty. But the overall experience was poor. They care more about their personal rules and preferences, than in serving their customers. We won't be back. Beware if you get seated in the secondary room. Service and ambience Is definitely secondary here. NOTE. Wanted to leave "bar scene" and "outdoor seating" columns, below, blank, but computer marked these as terrible, and I cannot clear the fields...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kirbyfredstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    35
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
204 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great dinner after day of hiking”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

After spending the day hiking, a friend and I stopped at the Harbor View café for dinner. I loved that the part we sat in was a "library" with books everywhere. As a vegetarian, I am always interested to see how much of a selection I'll have to pick from, especially when the menu is limited and written on a chalk board. In this instance, I was pleasantly surprised that I had several options. I have to admit that the name of the restaurant and it's initial impression - a cute café - did not do justice to the inventive options available. Both of our meals were very good and service was quick and efficient. They also have a very good beer menu! I'd recommend this place if you have the chance to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Harbor View Cafe has been a favorite of ours for years. The owner and staff always greet us with genuine smiles and make us feel welcome. There is often a wait for a table (they don't take reservations), but, for us, that is part of the experience....having a glass of wine and winding down before sitting down to dinner. The food is consistently great, with generous portions. The atmosphere and setting of the restaurant (a gorgeous view of the harbor and Lake Pepin) adds to the experience. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon lunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for a late lunch on a lovely fall afternoon trip down the Wisconsin side of the Mississippi River. We recalled hearing about the restaurant and were pleased to give it a try. We were told 10-15 minutes wait was needed, so we took the time to review the menu chalk board above the bar. The lack of a printed menu was the only thing I didn't care for. I found the board a bit hard to read, and it's hard to focus on it while feeling you're in the middle of the traffic flow. When we didn't get called for a table, my husband checked with the hostess and found that another (impatient) person with a rhyming name had taken our place in line. A couple minutes later we were seated at a lovely table with fresh table cloth and settings. Our server came promptly to take our beverage orders and was very friendly and helpful. Our food was outstanding; it didn't come in a hurry, but worth every minute of waiting. Piping hot, flavorful and generous to the point that half my lasagne came home with me for lovely lunch today. My husband was very happy with his BBQ pork sandwich with "the best potato salad" he'd ever had. High praise, indeed. He also loved his curried lentil soup appetizer. We didn't have room for dessert, which was too bad. Our server provided wonderful, attentive service throughout our meal, but we never felt rushed or pressured. On our way out, the hostess again apologized for the seating confusion. Our experience was delightful and positive in every way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camera425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant day trip”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent as always although swordfish undercooked and had to be sent back. Choices and preparations interesting. Well worth the drive from Twin Cities. Best on a sunny summer day but fall is beautiful and rain made wait shorter than usual.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing