We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host and hostess!”
Review of Harbor Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pepin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Pepin B&B and Inns
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful host and hostess!”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Harbor Hill Inn for two nights during the Laura Ingalls Wilder Days in September. The inn was lovely and had a beautiful view of Lake Pepin from the second story balcony. The English breakfast was wonderful. The Maxine book left in the bathroom had us in stiches... just an added touch. The highlight of our stay, however, was the friendliness and kindness of the innkeepers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed in the back 2-bedroom apartment and loved it. The owner was very helpful, and the yard was beautiful. The apartment is big, clean, well supplied with books, games, etc. A great find- and the location in Pepin couldn't be better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaddybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here on a whim while driving around the Lake Pepin area. We called from Wabasha and found they had one room open. Good price, nice room with lots of light facing the water. The trains ran frequently but were not that disruptive. A very good breakfast and quality visiting with fellow guests and the innkeepers Dick and Ann.
I would recommend staying there and touring the area and doing some sightseeing and enjoy the area art, baked goods and antiques.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the other side of the railway if you feel it will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, TX
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed for one night July 15, while on a recent Daddy - daughter trip touring Little House on the Prairie sites in WI, MN and SD.

This is a very nice Inn. The home is beautiful. The hosts were very kind. We enjoyed our room which was upstairs in the front of the house with a private balcony and nice view. Our bathroom and shower were in the room. The bed was comfy.

There was a game room and free beverages to enjoy in the evening.

Our breakfast from Dick was yummy and hearty.

Pepin has it's charm. It is a small town that was shut down in the evening on a Thursday night. We found a nice meal at The Pickle Factory. We walked by the lake and through the marina area.

The Ingalls homestead is a gorgeous 7 mile drive from town. The drive from MSP was very pretty as well.

The only downside is one that you can't really avoid if you stay anywhere in Pepin. The trains run all night and often and they sound their horns at every pass through. Ugh.

Overall a great place to stay and a good value.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinmdpedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee,Wi
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Harbor Hill Inn is lovely and the host and hostess are very kind. Our group of three adult females stayed here and had a very small room with a double and smaller than usual single bed. Our bathroom was not IN the room but we had to enter from the adjacent hallway. It had a bathtub but no shower......only a hand held hose. We missed having a real shower. We did not mind the lack of a TV in our room, but after 9:30 P.M. we did not know what to do just sitting in our room. There was only one chair in the room, so we layed on the beds to chat. If there was a television or a common great room, it had not been offered to us. Be prepared to hear the trains whistling by all night long. You can even feel their vibrations as the room trembles. A rather folksy experience. The dining room/four seasons room was nice with a pretty view. We sat in here for an hour drinking the wine we had brought along before departing for dinner at a nice restaurant along the river. Breakfast in the morning was very good. The companions at the dining room table was a nice bonus. Maggie, the resident goldendoodle, befriends you immediately.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank untired26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Staying at The Harbor Hill Inn was almost like staying with dear relatives.

Overall:
The house was very easy to find, especially from the directions the owner gave us. It was walking distance to downtown Pepin, as well as the lakefront. Great small town life. Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING - so many choices that we were stuffed beyond capacity halfway through. The owner, Ann, was very welcoming and inviting. We sat in their 3-season room and talked with her and played cards for hours. The natural light in the room was wonderful.

Room:
We had a beautiful room with a queen-size bed, attached bathroom - complete with a jacuzzi tub! I could not wait to get back to that room to relax, it was so peaceful. Bedroom also had dresser, TV, etc. and a private key. You entered the room via the bathroom, b/c the sliding doors of the bedroom remained locked (opened into the hallway). This was fine with us.

Pros: Very quiet, a hidden gem. Great for couples and if you have 1-2 children.
Cons: Can't think of any. If you're going to Pepin, you already know it's a quiet, small town, so that's not really a "con".

  • Liked — The warm feeling I got from the owner. I wanted to give her a hug!
  • Disliked — If you like REAL middle-america, nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiesSassenach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pepin
6.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
22.1 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
15.6 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
21.9 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hill Inn

Property: Harbor Hill Inn
Address: 310 2nd St, Pepin, WI 54759
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Pepin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pepin
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a step back in time when you visit Harbor Hill Inn in Pepin, Wisconsin. You'll find comfortable accommodations in a charming Mississippi River village on Lake Pepin. Restaurants, shops, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum, pubs, lots of great music, Pepin Marina and Beach are all a short stroll away. ​ Our award-wining Queen Anne style Victorian home was built in 1872. Through the years our cozy Inn has hosted Guests from throughout the world. Our home has been thoroughly updated - maintaining its original charm while incorporating modern conveniences. We provide coffee and tea in our Solarium from about 8am to 10am each morning. Ask us for breakfast recommendations nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing