We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown and Punchbowl
Ranked #1 of 1 Horningsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sheer excellence”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a marvellous place! Gerry and his team perform a sterling job catering for guests at this hidden gem. The rooms are amazing - especially the power showers. The restaurant is to die for and I have now used it for business dinners without hesitation. The only downside is the slightly remote location but at the end of a hard day, what better way to unwind than in front of a real fire!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    46
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
76
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We cannot understand how this B and B gets any 5 star reviews. We stayed there for 4 nights at the beginning of September and had booked this hotel because of the previous reviews in Trip Advisor and the Michelin Guide. We were a bit dubious about the place when we arrived but we quickly unpacked and went for a meal in the restaurant. This part of our stay WAS a 5 star experience, so we thought that we were on to a good thing. The menu was excellent, the food really good and the prices very reasonable. However, it went downhill from there on. The room was small and could only be accessed by going through the function room which, most of the time, was untidy and was often being used as an office and meeting room for the management. The bathroom was so small that it was almost impossible to get in. Also, the only tray for putting shower gels etc. on was 6 feet off the floor and my wife could not reach it. At 6 am every morning we were woken up by a lorry collecting empty bottles from the restaurant and making a lot of noise. At breakfast we only had a choice of two or three different cereals, but no fruit or other extras. The bacon and sausages were local and OK but, again, a very limited choice of hot food. The breakfast room was a very small, cold lean-to conservatory and was being used as a delivery passageway on most mornings. The staff in the kitchen were noisily discussing their private lives and social history in a loud voice all through breakfast. For £90 a night for two people with breakfast it was disgusting. Alan the Doc.

Room Tip: There aren't any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located just outside Cambridge this former pub has 5 well decorated and equiped rooms. The food is excellent and the breakfast cooked to order is also excellent. Great value for money when comparing other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Thank you to Roger and James for going out of your way to assist us in our hour of need when we suffered a puncture to our car!
Over and above this though you can expect:
Lovely location
Easy to find
Parking outside door
Lovely breakfast
Fantastic power shower

Possibly a glimpse of some of the local wildlife....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My partner was working in Cambridge so I joined him for a few days at ease in Cambridge. The Crown and Punchbowl is just 5 miles from the centre in the pretty village of Horningsea. Parking is an expensive nightmare in Cambridge but we were able to leave the bustle of the town behind at the end of each day and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere at the C&P. The room was recently refurbished and absolutely spotless; the bathroom was pristine. A room fan was also thoughtfully provided as the weather was very warm. The staff were very relaxed, attentive and friendly. This was my second visit with a space of a few years and I'm pleased to say that standards are continuing to rise. Only downside is the stoned car park which makes comings and goings noisy, particularly noticeable in the early morning and staff and deliveries begin to arrive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottsVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited The Crown and Punchbowl as part of a visit to Cambridge. Arrived early and left luggage with them. Staff knowledgeable and advised us not to drive into Cambrigde but use Park and Ride. Such a good idea as Cambridge seemed a nightmare to park in. On return from Cambrige was shown to our room by the lovely Jerry - a real star. The room was smashing, so clean and bright. Bathroom looked brand new and shower was amazing. Jerry arrange for a taxi to take us back into Cambridge for th evening and after a nice glass if champagne we went on our way. On our return at about 10.30pm was greated by the lovely young lady who had checked us in. Seemed really interested in our day. Got talking to Jerry and asked about booking later in the year. Have booked for my husbands birthday in November and can't wait to try to food as the menu looked so sumptuous. After a good nights sleep had a great breakfast and then had to leave. We could easily have stayed a few more nights just to enjoy Jerry and his staffs hospitality. Thanks to all at the Crown & Punchbowl. Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanRayYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This perfect hideaway only has 5 rooms but they have everything you need. The best bit though is the care and the empathy that comes from Roger, Jerry and their team. They were not only the perfect hosts but Incredibly understanding of the unfortunate reasons as to why our family needed to stay near to Addenbrookes Hospital. The food served at breakfast for residents, lunch and dinner and also drinks were made with love and pride for this crazy industry that is "hospitality". Thank you for truly taking care of us. You have made all that we are going through as a family much more comfortable. We'll be back x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaSLewis85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horningsea
3.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
1,780 reviews
3.8 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
4.0 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,185 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Punchbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Punchbowl

Property: The Crown and Punchbowl
Address: The Crown & Punchbowl Inn High Street, Horningsea, Cambridge CB25 9JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Horningsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horningsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown & Punchbowl is a quaint country pub, restaurant and inn nestled amongst farmhouses in the village of Horningsea, just 3 miles from the centre of Cambridge. This Grade II listed building was originally an old coaching inn constructed in the 17th century. It has been extended periodically but retains many of its traditional features including brick fireplaces and original timber beams. The Crown & Punchbowl has 5 delightful double rooms, all of them ensuite. The Erasmus Room is our largest room and offers an ensuite bath/shower. Room rates are from £120 per room. Breakfast is available for an extra £10 per person. All our rooms feature: - Freeview TV & Wifi - Egyptian Cotton Linen - Espresso Machine & Kettle - Toiletries & Hairdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown and Punchbowl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Punchbowl Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing