We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex Mex Really?”
Review of Durango's

Durango's
Ranked #72 of 169 Restaurants in Oshkosh
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tex Mex Really?”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If it weren't for the pleasant nature of the employees, I would call this place a disaster. The food was tasteless and unimaginable. The margarita was a positive note. The place was very busy and service did lack.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristieAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay
Level Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Choose lousy service or mediocre food or screaming kids.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went there for lunch on Saturday. I was expecting 'authentic' Mexican food.The place has 2 eating areas, we were put in the back area. Had to move to the front as a screaming toddler was ruling the family and the room. I know not the restaurants fault but the service was hit or miss at best. The food is where we were really disappointed. They did not tell me I had to pay extra for shredded beef. It was full of fat pieces, the taste was bland and the chile relleno did not have a batter coating that is the usual way it is prepared. The food was lukewarm and they put ground beef on top of my tamale. My husband is not a picky eater and he was very disappointed in his enchilada. I will say one positive. I liked the refried beans.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omro, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will Definitely Go Back”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised!! We ordered a shrimp entree and chirizo/pollo dish. Food was great!! Nice variety on the menu and provides guests with plenty of options, even for children. Love the murals on the wall. Fast service, good portions for prices, authentic, and complimentary chips/salsa. What's there not to be happy about!!?? Will Definitely Go Back!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Look No Further...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

If you like great Mexican food try this place. The food and service are always great. They treat us like family and our kids love going. The rest of the Mexican restaurants in Oshkosh just don't compare!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AAwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Imitation Mexican Food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Really...this was barely a notch above fast food Mexican restaurants. The service was slow, the server inattentive, and the food was lukewarm when it arrived. My quesadilla was soggy, and everything was slathered in a very NON-authentic Mexican cheese sauce. If you are looking for authentic Mexican food, this is NOT the place to go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HomeGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durango's also viewed

 

Been to Durango's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing