We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nutcracker”

Paine Art Center and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Oshkosh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Paine Art Center and Gardens is a historic estate with art galleries and display gardens, located in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. The historic Paine estate serves as a multi-faceted museum for learning and inspiration. The museum preserves the mansion, surrounding architectural structures, and many of the interiors as they were created by founders Nathan and Jessie Kimberly Paine. Selections from the museum's art collection, much of which was acquired by Nathan and Jessie, are featured in the many rooms and settings of the estate. Outdoors, the Paine maintains and enhances numerous display gardens as "galleries" of horticulture with varied designs and thousands of plant specimens. In addition, the museum presents a wide variety of changing art exhibitions, from historical to contemporary, within the estate's galleries and gardens. The Family Discovery Gallery, located on the house's lower level, offers "hands on" activities about architecture, art, and gardens for people of all ages.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nutcracker”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visit at least once a year and have never been disappointed. It's a beautiful old house and has wonderful activities throughout the year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susanne444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    41
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clintonville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I visited here for the first time shortly after Christmas to take in the display of Christmas trees. As we both love to visit old homes, after learning some of the history of the Paine,during the course of our visit, we were pleasantly surprised at what we found. It was amazing to learn that this beautiful home was never lived in as the builder/owner feared a backlash from the less than wealthy employees of his Oshkosh firm when he built this beautiful mansion. I won't give away any more of the "story", I leave that for each of you to learn on your trip to this grand old home that serves as a great home for their permanent collection of some fine pieces.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I visit nearly each time I visit my mother. There is always an interesting exhibit to see. Plus I simply enjoy seeing the history of the Paine family, who owned a large lumber mill in this area in the early 1900's. Their collections are rotated in and out, so there are different things to see each time. I love the pretty rooms of the women of the house and could imagine myself in them.

On this visit, there was a knowledgable young men that gave us so much more history about pieces, rooms, and the Paine's that this trip was doubly delightful.

Never disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond Du Lac
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gardens are amazing!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A friend got married in the gardens here. It was really beautiful and the staff was very nice. Didn't see the inside so not sure about the art they carry.

Helpful?
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Make sure to visit during Summer...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

They have a pretty good selection of exhibits for a smaller town museum. Beautiful to visit whenever, but in the summer it is absolutely beautiful to walk through the gardens!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brigid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paine Art Center and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Paine Art Center and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing