We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nutcracker in the castle”

Paine Art Center and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Oshkosh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Paine Art Center and Gardens is a historic estate with art galleries and display gardens, located in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. The historic Paine estate serves as a multi-faceted museum for learning and inspiration. The museum preserves the mansion, surrounding architectural structures, and many of the interiors as they were created by founders Nathan and Jessie Kimberly Paine. Selections from the museum's art collection, much of which was acquired by Nathan and Jessie, are featured in the many rooms and settings of the estate. Outdoors, the Paine maintains and enhances numerous display gardens as "galleries" of horticulture with varied designs and thousands of plant specimens. In addition, the museum presents a wide variety of changing art exhibitions, from historical to contemporary, within the estate's galleries and gardens. The Family Discovery Gallery, located on the house's lower level, offers "hands on" activities about architecture, art, and gardens for people of all ages.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nutcracker in the castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

we scored free passes to enjoy Nutcracker for christmas last year. So beautiful, we took our 9 yr old daughter and she still talks about it!

Helpful?
Thank brightzillasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    38
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A beautiful must-see stop in Oshkosh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The gardens are just wonderful, and they do have outdoor weddings on the grounds. Each season is a delight, and the indoor special exhibits are great- I usually see at least one each year. We just recently saw the Ansel Adams exhibit, and last year the Norman Rockwell exhibition. There is always something to see and do at the Paine. Its a great place to take visitors to, and they have quite a few children's programs downstairs in the Children's section. Great Christmas displays/ and the Nutcracker show/music/dancers .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oshkosh's Little Cultural and Historical Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Paine is a marvelous place that fits into the category of historical silver linings. Mr Paine owned a lumber company whose labor practices were cited in support of child labor laws. When he started this million dollar English Tudor Country House in the 1930's, local labor was so incensed, they threatened to burn the place down if he ever lived there. He didn't, which may have saved an architectural beauty and an exquisite garden and cultural program for us.

The gardens showcase native prairie and woodland plants, popular perennials for all areas of the gardens, decorative trees, a small rose garden with a fish pool and annual displays for Wisconsin Gardens set out in an English Tudor design. So beautiful, my daughter dreamed of being married on the grounds and convinced me that it was essential to her happiness and that of future generations she has promised to provide.

The house showcases both permanent and travellng collections. Seasonal exhibits include a spring flower arrangement show and a nutcracker showcase for the holidays. Traveling exhibits have included justly popular artistic works of famous Americans including Ansell Adams, Normal Rockwell, and others. There are two arts and crafts fairs a year and some musical evenings in the gardens.

Worth seeing again and again and again.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank knfriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Current Ansel Adams Exhibit is incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Ansel Adams Masterworks Exhibits is a collection of 48 photographs, which the famous photographer picked himself to represent his life's work, is excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NomadRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

this was built as a home yet never lived in for lots a reasons it also displays moving uh visiting art displays the home is exquisite and the grounds are also lovely i was speechless at it oh think i just talked myself in to going again!!!! oh this is a place id live in in my dreams bet its hard to heat!""""""

Helpful?
Thank 101katra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paine Art Center and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Paine Art Center and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing