We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice treasure, fair prices.”
Review of Vitales Italian Cuisine - CLOSED

Vitales Italian Cuisine
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
central Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice treasure, fair prices.”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Multiple veal selections indicate that this is a place that is serious about authenticity of Italian cuisine. Service was basic, just fine. 15% worthy.
Food well-prepared and delicious and plentiful for the price, which was beyond reasonable.
Bar was a very pleasant place to wait for a table. Classy, but homey.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank PoliticoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

It's unfortunate this restaurant isn't more convenient for travelers and tourists, but at least I know where it is!
The service was more than adequate and the food was much better than expected.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

When for dinner with my wife. The service was good. The food was average... I had scrimp scampi, the flavor was ok but it wasn't served hot. My wife ordered the pan fried walleye. Nothing special and had bones. Ordered tiramasu at 7:45PM, sold out, only still frozen available. The restaurant was clean.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reggie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not trust Vitales in Oshkosh”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I had lunch with colleagues and left an appropiate tip of 18% in cash, Guess what...despite that they charged my credit card with another 25% tip. They cannot be trusted and I personally do not reccomend eating there...for more than one reason. Lunch was ok but their so called "espresso" was identical to their filer coffee...run away fast...they are as Italian as I am ...which means not at all...
EK

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HOTELDISSAPOINTMENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Like New York”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We were here for EAA and Googled " Italian Restaurants". We went to Vitales and what a suprise! A nice white table cloth restaurant, waiters with white shirts & ties, excellent service, and great food. We were waited on by Clint, who could have worked in any high end restaurant in Manhattan. We have been working at the EAA show for 10 years and have missed this place. Shame on us--This will be at the top or our list next year

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 1danleather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vitales Italian Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing