We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, inexpensive motel”
Review of Motel 6 Oshkosh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Oshkosh
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Oshkosh
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Acceptable, inexpensive motel”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was greeted warmly upon arrival. The lady at the front desk checked me in quickly and was very friendly and helpful.

My room was small and very modern looking. There was no carpeting on the floor, just plastic laminate made to look like hardwood flooring. The floor was a bit dirty--perhaps not mopped recently. I walked about barefoot and the bottoms of my feet got a bit dirty. The bed and the bathroom were both very clean. No complaints. There was only a shower--no bathtub.

The TV was a large, LCD. Nice picture. The bed was comfortable. The sheets fine. Not a bad deal for $40+tax per night. I recommend.

Room Tip: Book early for the best selection of rooms. No elevator, but two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregg407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    17
    13
    15
See reviews for
15
12
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2012

When we got to the room, it smelled very musty and moldy!! The service was absolutely horrible. We were staying at the hotel for 2 nights. The first night was fine and then the next day we were gone from 6 am until 8 p.m., when we got back to the room it had not been cleaned. There were no fresh towels or toilet paper. We went to the office to complain and the desk worker was obnoxious. We explained to her that our room wasn't cleaned and she mentioned that, because we have pets, they are not required to clean the room. She said that sometimes there is a communication problem with housekeeping. I told her that we were gone all day and there was no excuse. She was not interested in listening to what I had to say and the discussion was not very fruitful, so I told her that I would talk with the Manager in the am. Well, needless to say, the Manager didn't care either. I was also walking our dog and asked another person if their room was cleaned and she said "no". They need to get their act together!!!!

Room Tip: Stay Away!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twojjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I think it's easy for a person to shell out $80 to stay at a hotel and not get the welcoming feeling that we hope for. For the price we paid at the motel 6, we were pleasantly surprised at how accommodating the staff and facility was. We only stayed one night and the room was sufficient enough for all our needs.

The building is a little bit on the older side, but they seem to be doing renovations/remodeling everytime I pass through town - That shows a lot of dedication and they truly care. I've never been so compelled to write a review for such a hospitable stay until now. This place was nice and the staff were great! I would recommend for anyone that looking for a comfortable place to stay and not hoping for a chocolate on the pillow (do they even do that anymore?)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We got Packer tickets 5 days before the game, and this was the closest hotel we could book. In retrospect, it may have been better to drive back to Madison. Room very small, bathroom was a strange shape, and the water pressure non-existent. The walls are so thin we literally heard everything next door and outside. Someone was very cold at 2:00 AM, and very sick at 3:00. We were very gone at 7:00 AM.

Room Tip: I don't imagine any of these rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussytrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here because it was the closest hotel to Green Bay I could get for a last minute Packers game excursion. The room was very small, not for a family. You get a small bar of soap and no shampoo.Bedding was clean. The lady at the desk was pleasant and early check in not a problem. If my wife would have been with me there is no way we would have stayed. Paid $45 for two adults.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1proram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Like another review on this hotel, this place is SOOOO disgusting. Spend the extra 10 dollars and stay somewhere else. They spent a good amt of money only to have a poor remodel. They have nice faux bamboo flooring, only for it to be DISGUSTINLY dirty. The bathroom had mold in it and the towels are stained beyond what bleach can take care of. We had rented 2 rooms (both are supposedly non smoking) but both smelled HIGHLY of stale smoke, covered up with cheap cleaner. One room even had cigarette burns on top of the microwave, thus showing they allow smoking in the rooms. Also DO NOT count on your room looking like the room that is shown on many websites. It has to be their display room, as our room looked ABOUT 20 years older than their "BRIGHT VIBRANT ROOMS".

As the other reviewer mentioned, why spend the money for a poor remodel when it should have been done all the way. I think they may have been in a rush to get the Motel 6 (this was previously a Travelodge who lost its franchise and then a no-name motel before it became the "NEW" Motel 6) name on it, but truly Motel 6 did not inspect or they would have seen cracked concrete, uneven walk ways and pot holes in the lot.

Room Tip: Spend some extra money elsewhere, this place is the pit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelWII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del S, General Manager at Motel 6 Oshkosh, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Hello,

I'm very saddened to hear about your concerns regarding our property posted 08/07/11. I apologize none of these concerns were brought to our attention during your tenative stay. We now understand from your feedback how we can help understand our future guests on the style of our rooms. Let me begin by saying we do feature new hardwood style flooring. While it is actually laminate, the main purpose we decided to implement our property is your concern. Cleanliness. The flooring we use in the rooms does not trap any type of bacertia or other unknown allergens, etc that you may find in hotel carpeting. Unless the hotel properly clean and sanitize their carpets after every stay, I can say with 100% guarantee our floor is cleaner and more safer.

Since before our award-winning in design remodel. We have implemented a smoke-free facility and do make all of our guests aware of repercussions of smoking in our smoke free rooms, which is accompanied by a $500 damage fee, a citation for violating our state-wide law, and immediate eviction. If it was known to us there may of been smell of cigarette smoke, we would have immediately relocated with no questions asked.

Our Laundry is all outsourced and treated and cleaned at the same place of our local hospitals in Oshkosh by professionals.

Once again, I'm truly sorry none of this was brought to our attention. We never are satisfied unless a guest is satisfied. While I have noticed from your reviews of 4-5 Star hotels such as the Sheraton, Westin. While we are a motel 6 lowest price of any national chain, and no frills. We still strive for the service of any star hotel out there! No matter what the star rating I am not satisifed until a concern regarding a stay is rectified.


Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we can locate your stay in our system.


With Regards,

Del Singh
General Manager
Motel 6 #4596
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level Contributor
347 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I reserved this motel on the Motel 6 website, yet the manager (owner?) had difficulty finding our reservation. Then he neglected to give me a receipt and when I asked for it he told me he would have it in the morning. I was tired after traveling all day so when I signed the credit card charge I simply signed without confirming that the price I was paying was the price I was quoted online. My mistake. The next morning comes, still no receipt. Only when he realized I was willing to wait all morning to get my receipt did he find it. When he did hand it to me it was folded in half and he was chatting away ,I suspect in hopes I would not look at the receipt and discover the amount charged was incorrect. More on that later.
The room itself was quite incredible, but not in a good way. They put all these new furnishing in a room that appeared to not have been cleaned in the past 20 years. There was a nice bamboo floor, but it looked as if it had been installed by someone with no concern for workmanship. The paint job looked to have been done by a blindfolded painter. I could go on, but my major complaint is that this room was simply the filthiest room I have ever seen. My husband dropped a piece of cheese on the floor. He took a washcloth to wipe the spot and found a black handshaped mark on the wash cloth after he wiped a small area of the floor. The floor was a different color where he wiped.
The more we looked around, the worse it got. It was simply nasty. I don't know why they would spend the money modernizing the room only to neglect the cleaning altogether. The room was obviously designed for quick cleaning. The beds are mattresses on metal platforms attached to the wall. Strange and not terribly comfortable. The bathroom is totally white, except that the tile on the floor around the toilet is grimy gray. The dust and dirt on the exhaust fan was something to behold.
We have stayed at many Motel 6 locations around the country. We are not motel snobs. We don't need fancy thick towels, toiletries, and wonderful breakfasts. All I really want when traveling is a clean, comfortable room. This room fails that important test.
On the plus side they have put money into this location. If they would just hire some good housekeepers, it might be acceptable. They were working on some landscaping and had recently painted the exterior of the building. The location is fine.
One other thing about their pricing. The price I paid for a senior room was about $20 more than the price advertised at the restaurant next door. Strange. Also, the price I was
quoted online is not the price I paid. The owner was willing to verbally spar with me the entire morning rather than refund the $3.77 I was overcharged. He said the price I was quoted online was wrong. He tried to convince me he had given me an extra special low price that he never gave anyone else until I asked him about the price on the ad in the restaurant. He had an excuse for everything. The same man was working in the afternoon when we arrived and in the morning when we checked out. I am sure he is the owner or at least has a stake in this motel. Ultimately, he wore me down. I wanted to get out of there and on the way home more than I wanted my $3.77. I felt angry, frustrated, and taken advantage of when I left the lobby in the morning. We will never return.
Sorry I can't include photos. We took many to document the state of the room. Unfortunately, the computer on which the photos were stored crashed and the information was lost.
If you read some of my other reviews you will see that I am not an overly critical person.
I am satisfied with most of the hotels and restaurants I have reviewed, but when I do encounter a placel like this, I think people should know what to expect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guavagirlKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oshkosh hotels
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Oshkosh Airport
Super 8 Oshkosh Airport
#11 of 11 in Oshkosh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oshkosh
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
#9 of 11 in Oshkosh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
#3 of 11 in Oshkosh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oshkosh-SR 41
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Oshkosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oshkosh

Property: Motel 6 Oshkosh
Address: 1015 S Washburn St, Oshkosh, WI 54904-8052 (Formerly Oshkosh Lodge)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oshkosh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Oshkosh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oshkosh 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Oshkosh is conveniently located to Oshkosh Convention Center, Lake Shore Golf Course, dining and shopping. All guest rooms have a modern look with 32" TV, Free Wi-Fi, granite countertops, and wood effect flooring. All rooms are 100% Smoke Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Motel-6, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Oshkosh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hotel Oshkosh
Travelodge Oshkosh
Travel Lodge Oshkosh
Oshkosh Travelodge
Oshkosh Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing