We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, underdelivered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Oshkosh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overpriced, underdelivered”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here during the Oshkosh Fly in. Prices were jacked up to $400 a night - to be expected, but the room was marginally cleaned and the air conditioning was not working properly. Not enough toiletries in the room and the staff was very inattentive. Probably the worst run hotel I have been to in awhile.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank provoshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    147
    68
    31
    12
See reviews for
167
106
24
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

For a HGI, this is an average location. The hotel could use some updating, especially the bathroom. I had no real complaints, but I have stayed in better locations. The price was good. This hotel backs onto the Oshkosh/Wittman airfield, so it would be a good place for EAA except that it gets booked quickly. One thing I can say is the staff always went out of their way to be helpful. Based on price I would go back. Go across the street to west end pizza.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltakilo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I check into this Hilton Garden Inn and room had a bad odor. I asked for another room and was given the Baron Hilton Suite, which was a nice room.
Problem was I left a pair of short pants in the room and remembered after I had driven about an hour away. I called hotel immediately and they had found them hanging on a door. Thanked them for finding and asked to them to mail to me (offered to pay postage).
It has beenover two weeks since and I have been lied to repeatedly (have called no less than 5 TIMES) and told they have been mailed, then when I call they describe them and say they still have them and will mail them to me.
I spoke with Sue (housekeeping manager?)and General Manager (Mike) with no results. I called tonight and got very snotty, condescending remarks from Chris (front desk?) he answered the phone at the hotel. When I mentioned I was going to write a letter of complaint, he said he could not care less if I wrote the President of Hilton. He said he could not help me in any way. I had to ask him just to write down my name to give to management.
I just got a letter from Hilton Honors congratulating me on reaching the next level in their program. What a way to treat customers loyal to Hilton!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Da83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
339 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Reception staff extremely friendly and helpful, room up to usual HGI standard. We like this hotel and only slight complaint is that the bar area was a bit uninviting. Drapes on the windows and more carpeting would make such a difference to the ambience, it felt a bit like eating and drinking in a lobby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JstarkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Different in that private airplanes can pull up behind the hotel which is on the runway. The is the site of the experimental aircraft show among others. Very intersting. Great observation deck for the air shows. Enjoyed restaurant. Breakfast specials each day, I ordered the special and was not disappointed. Friendly staff. One of my favorite HGIs to date.

Room Tip: room facing the airport during air shows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We went there for a weekend getaway, when we arrived we were told that they had two weddings and three other groups there for the weekend. And they asked us if we wanted a room away from all the noise. We told them to move us. We got a room on the second floor right above the dumpsters, where the employee's smoking area was located so in the evening you heard them talking real loud every 15-20 minutes. Then from 9 pm till 2:30 am the wedding party that was right across, and both rooms to the right of us were pounding on doors, slamming doors, yelling in the hallways all night. The other groups took over the pool area, putting all the tables together and bringing in several large coolers and spent the entire afternoon, and evening at the pool. We complained to the front desk in the morning and offered us a free breakfast and we told them that was already included in the rate that we had, so all they could do was take $15 off the bill. And the beds are very uncomfortable, they are supposed to be like a sleep number type bed, but no matter what settings it was on you could not change it from being rock hard. The made to order breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harleyrider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The hotel was just as the typical Hilton Garden Inn setting - always welcoming staff and plenty of information/brochures about the area, quiet rooms/halls, and well cared for amenities. The breakfast was average, and the coffee was good. The availability of the business center (computers with Internet access) and printer is helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oshkosh hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oshkosh
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
#9 of 11 in Oshkosh
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oshkosh-SR 41
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Oshkosh
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
#3 of 11 in Oshkosh
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh
Address: 1355 W 20th Ave, Oshkosh, WI 54902-6651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oshkosh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oshkosh
#3 Family Hotel in Oshkosh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oshkosh
#7 Business Hotel in Oshkosh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh located right off Highway 42 on Witman Airfield. We are near the EAA Aviation Center. We are also close to other area businesses such as Oshkosh Corporation and Miles Kimball. We also offer private airplane parking. Guest rooms include free internet and the Garden Sleep System. Relax in our pool or whirlpool or use our fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh Hotel Oshkosh
Hilton Oshkosh
Oshkosh Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing