We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oshkosh Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Oshkosh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Walpole ,ma, United States
2 reviews
“Oshkosh Best Western”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great Hotel in downtown Oshkosh, adjacent to river ,in good weather can walk riverway for miles. Convenient walking distance to a number of reasonably priced restaurants. In hotel dining at Ground Round and Lounge with drink and app specials ,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    170
    32
    14
    4
See reviews for
214
143
26
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I cannot complain about the stay at the hotel overall except for two things. They charge you an EXTRA $150 on top of your bill without telling you for "incidentals". This gives you no chance to prove your innocence. Also, they are so money hungry that they don't have a complimentary breakfast (The one they have is $9.99) as well as way over charging you for even a bottle of water. The room was clean, so I cannot complain there and the hotel seems to be safe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I appreciate the time you took to share your comments. Thank you for recognizing the room to be clean and that you felt safe at our hotel. I am very sorry the two incidents you described negatively affected an otherwise satisfactory stay.

What you described as an extra $150 charge for incidentals was not a charge but simply an authorization to cover potential incidental charges. I ask your patience in allowing me to offer a detailed explanation.

At check-in, all major hotels will “pre-authorize” a credit card or debit card for the cost of the room and an additional amount over the cost of the room to cover possible incidental purchases that a guest might charge to their room during their stay. For example, a guest may charge to their room the cost of dinner from dining in the hotel’s Ground Round restaurant. The pre-authorization is performed to establish the guest’s ability to pay for incidental charges (the Ground Round charge in this example) posted to the room account. We establish that amount for incidental charges to be just $50 per night. Seeing you stayed three nights with us, the total amount calculated for incidentals was $150. It is important to note, this is not the posting of a $150 charge. It is simply an “authorization” determining ability to pay. However, the way most banks process debit cards, the authorization may appear to the guest to be a charge rather than a temporary “hold” on the funds. When looking at your charge or debit account on-line, this dollar value is often displayed as “pending”.

Please allow me to explain further. When a credit card is used at check-in, and no additional charges are posted to the guest’s account, the extra $150 authorization typically is removed from the credit card holder’s account within 24 hours. However, when a debit card is used at check-in, the guest’s bank will place a hold on that $150 for up to three to seven business days after check-out. For this reason, we highly discourage the use of debit cards at the time of check-in with a statement on the registration form that we ask you to initial. At the same time, we ask our front desk staff to make every effort to discourage guests from using debit cards.

After reviewing your registration card you (or the person you roomed with) initialed the statement about debit card use. This would verify that the information was discussed at the time of check-in. However, it appears that the initials of the person who checked in were initials other than yours. This would suggest to me that the person who roomed with you actually signed-in and had this procedure explained to them.

With regard to your comment about breakfast, it is not unusual for hotels with a full service restaurant to offer table service with an a la carte menu and to charge for that service. We did offer the choice of a hot breakfast buffet for $9.99, including beverages, or the option of dining from our full breakfast menu with tableside service. Comments from our past guests indicated the preference for a full a la carte breakfast menu with waits staff service provided.

I regret these incidents caused you to rate your hotel experience as less than satisfactory. We truly work to be proactive for the comfort and satisfaction of our guests. There is nothing for us to gain if we don’t work toward that goal. I hope my explanation gives a bit more insight into how and why we handle these situations in the way we do. Again, I am very sorry for your disappointment. I hope by addressing your comments I can improve your faith in us and the Best Western brand.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel was very nice! Everything was very clean, the restaurant food was extremely good, and the beds were very comfy. The only thing's I noticed, that could be improved, are: the shower temperatures were a little cold (even when turned just about to the maximum hot side), one of the waitresses we had could have used a bit of improvement (didn't know the menu, was kind of rude, didn't really check up on us), and the parking garage only connects to the 2nd floor. Other than that, it was an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, General Manager at Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay. It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed our hotel. I also appreciate the fact of giving my team and I constructive feedback.

Please accept my apology for the water not being as hot as you would enjoy. The hotel is designed to have plenty of hot water capacity with new hot water boilers put in place during the renovation as well as several large hot water holding tanks. We are conscious of guest comfort with the goal of offering water temperatures that meet the expectations or our guests yet, not too hot with risk of providing scalding hot water. I will review our settings with our building engineer to be sure we are providing water temperatures as expected.

Regarding your dining experience, I am very sorry for what you experienced. I firmly believe this incident was outside of the norm, and that our servers are always very friendly to our guests. We will take your feedback to heart and work further to coach our staff so that these situations can be avoided in the future.

The second and third levels of the parking ramp do indeed connect to the hotel at the second level vestibule and walkway. However, when parking on the ground level, you may also enter the hotel by following the sidewalk along the north face of the hotel to the main hotel entrance.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope my response is helpful and I hope you take the opportunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Excellent Hotel! Would highly recommend. Very clean lobby and room. Very nice and helpful staff. The Ground Round at the hotel is also very clean and served a great breakfast. The lobby has fresh coffee and water. Nice seating in the lobby with a relaxing fireplace. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Love this hotel in Oshkosh. Best place to stay while my husband was fishing on the Battle of Bago fishing contest. It offered me all that I need while he was fishing. Loved the onsite food services offered. Will stay here again if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank sandi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was here for a business meeting. I enjoyed the breakfast and lunch that was served. My room was very nice and clean but didn't like the bed. The hotel as a whole was very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and stay again. I would look forward to coming in the summer though to see the waterfront and the ships come thru the draw bridge. .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the night and night after our wedding. The pool was full of a kid birthday party group. We could not enjoy that. Room service was cold and incorrect and way overpriced. The room itself was very nice, beds very comfortable and clean. I would NOT stay here if you want to relax other then in your room. And do not order room service

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, General Manager at Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I appreciate and thank you for the valuable time you took to share your comments about your stay. Please accept my personal apologies for your disappointments during your visit.

Thank you for acknowledging that the room was nice, the beds were comfortable and the hotel was clean.

The restaurant and room service has earned a reputation with our local guests and hotel guests for providing a quality product at a value price. Your experience truly is not typical. I asked my restaurant manager, Jason, to look into your issue and respond to you. In quotes, below, is his response.

“I am sorry that you experienced an incorrect and cold room service order. To say that it was unacceptable would be quite the understatement. Please be assured that the issues which occurred have been taken up with the Room Service Attendant, the Kitchen Expeditor, and the rest of the Ground Round Management team. Thank you for offering the feedback you did so we can use it as a coaching opportunity to better serve you and other guests in the future”. Jason C., Ground Round General Manager

Regretfully, inadvertent issues can occur. My team and I have great pride and train to provide the best in customer service and product throughout the hotel. We will continue our process improvement steps with our room service delivery.

I regret the pool was noisy with loud kids and parents yelling. We do not sell or promote birthday parties in our pool area. I suspect this was another hotel guest staying in the hotel and one of their children was having a birthday and had other relatives staying in other rooms. If this was something that was not of the nature of normal family activity in a pool area, I apologize that a member of our management team did not notice this and did not take action to bring it under control. Another alternative would be to inform one of our front desk team so that a member of management could address the issue at hand. I am truly sorry it became an issue during your time at the pool.

We will continue to put our efforts towards creating a pleasurable memorable experience for our guests. I hope by addressing our guests’ comments, I can improve our current and future customer’s faith in us, as we work to always improve. I am hopeful you will respond to the earlier direct email I sent you so I can personally address your room service issue.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oshkosh hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oshkosh
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
Comfort Suites Oshkosh
#9 of 11 in Oshkosh
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oshkosh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
La Quinta Inn Oshkosh
#3 of 11 in Oshkosh
286 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oshkosh-SR 41
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Oshkosh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 1 N. Main Street, Oshkosh, WI 54901-4810 (Formerly Oshkosh Premier Waterfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oshkosh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oshkosh
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oshkosh
#1 Business Hotel in Oshkosh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oshkosh
#1 Green Hotel in Oshkosh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the Fox River in downtown Oshkosh, lies the beautiful Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel and Convention Center. The majority of the hotel’s guest rooms provide a beautiful view of two of the community’s greatest assets; the Fox River and Lake Winnebago. Enjoy direct access to the Riverwalk which connects to the popular Wiouwash Trail. Perfect for walking, jogging or biking. The hotel’s convenient downtown location provides easy access to dining and entertainment venues, shops, the Leach Amphitheater and the Grand Opera House, all within walking distance. Experience the Ground Round at River’s Edge Bar and Grill providing casual dining and cocktails. This fun filled lounge and eatery features seasonal dining on the riverside patio, large windows that overlook the water, private dining and nightly specials. Bring your boat and tie up along one of the many piers located right in front of the hotel. The 176 room, full-service hotel features an indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center, game room, and business center. Weddings and conference attendees enjoy the convenience of the sky walk which connects to the Oshkosh Convention Center. The hotel and convention center, combined, provide over 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting space with the flexibility of 19 breakout rooms. Some meeting rooms provide beautiful views of the Fox River. The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh is a short one mile away. There is no other choice when looking for a place to relax, meet or socialize in Oshkosh. The hotel is located just minutes from E.A.A., home of the nation's largest airshow and popular aeronautics museum. Oshkosh is known as “Wisconsin’s Event City” and our hotel is often in the heart of the activity. The hotel is just the right place for any occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Oshkosh
Park Plaza Oshkosh
Oshkosh Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing