We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be beat”
Review of DeBroux Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
DeBroux Diner
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Jefferson St.
Description: Formerly known as Brous Nellie's
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't be beat”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hands down the best place to eat in the Madison area. Best criscut fries and the sandwiches are always spectacular. Need to get up early enough to make it there for breakfast / brunch someday. Make sure to try their special of the day, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great local diner!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hands down the best cole slaw and grilled cheese you will ever eat! New to the area and try to eat there at least once a month! Have also had the meatloaf and it was delicious. Husband gets the chicken pot pie and he says it's great as well :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailcerces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Just like old times”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We found Debroux's Diner quite by accident. And we were really glad we did. Even though the place is only about 15 years old, it has the look and feel of an old time diner. Remember getting a malt or shake at one of those places, and the extra wa served to y I. The metal blending can? That's what you'll find, and the malt that I had and shake that my wife had both earned high praise. My wife ordered the chicken pot pie. I ordered a homemade veggie burger with seasoned waffle fries. Both came very quickly and were very good. The service was fast and friendly, and the prices were very reasonable. The next time we go through Oregon, we'll be stopping back in.

Helpful?
Thank RBWCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cockroaches”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

During my short breakfast visit at DeBroux's Diner, two cockroaches found their way to my booth. I thought this was completely disgusting and I will not be going back. The service and food is somewhat decent but the place is dirty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is typical diner food with good service and very reasonable prices. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raffdura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing