We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We have stayed at Stony Creek many times and it has always been a wonderful experience, but we were very disappointed this time. We stayed for 2 nights and the first night we were woken at 2:30 am by people in the hallway being very loud. When we returned to the hotel the first night I was very upset with what they call making the bed. I totally understand not cleaning the sheets every day but the sheets were not straightened out and it basically looked like they pulled the covers up and that was it. I could have done that myself. The second night we were once again woken at 1:40 am with very loud and obnoxious people in the room next to us and this time I did call the front desk. They did send security down and after about 15 minutes they did quiet down. I realize they have no control over the noise that people make and they did their best at fixing that problem and we do appreciate that, but the beds really did bother me because we are paying for these rooms and I don't think it's asking too much that the beds be made decent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winginit60369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 443 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

Terrible stay!! At arrivle we had no issues and the staff at the front desk wre very friendly. But upon entering the room we were gravely dissappointed. The decor itself was nice but the housekeeping was terrible!! There was an inch of dust arould all of the baseboard on the carpets and cobwebs every where!! And to top that off we could not even enjoy the fireplace! When turned on the flames were two inches high and it just plain did not work. And the cieling fan in the bedroon area did not work either. It was hot and stuffy and very hard to get a good nights sleep.
We had to go out for supper as the hotel only offerd frozen pizzas and upon returning there was absolutely no parking because of a wedding party wich consisted of a bunch of drunks standing outside of the hotel being way to loud and flicking cigarettes all over the walkways.
Kids were running all over the place with no supervision and playing in the elevators so we had to use the stairs.
And the breakfast was terrible!! When I reserved the room they claimed a hot breakfast but what we got was toaster waffles....
I have seen the comments left by the company after other bad reviews and they all say the exact same thing!! How about saying "you didn't get what you paid for and we'll refund your money"!!!!!!
I did not pay over $200 a night for a room not to enjoy it one bit!! I want a refund!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayward024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaknight, Regional Director of Operations at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf of the entire Stoney Creek Inn family, please accept our sincere apology for the exceptionally poor experience you encountered during your recent visit. The disappointment you describe is both understandable, and from our perspective, at least equally unacceptable. The positives that we can take from this are that we see the things you describe as correctable and as an opportunity to insure that future guests will not have the same experience. Stoney Creek Inns strive to provide our guests exceptional and memorable experiences at all times . The management of the Hotel you visited will soon be in touch with you regarding those issues and will "make it right." Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We have stayed at other Stoney Creek Inn's and this one was great just like the others! Service was excellent, rooms were clean and breakfast was good. The pool was great and the kids loved that you could swim from inside to outside. We can't wait for our next Stoney Creek Inn stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajkmrusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here while we were in town to ride the Elroy-Sparta bike trial. Rooms were very spacious - we had a king room with bunk beds - included small fridge which is a nice feature for family weekends. Large TV, separate bath area, all in a lodge theme with nice add on's like cabin themed signage, bears, fish, etc. Everything was also very clean - including a sign under the bed that said "yes we cleaned here too!" The pool was enjoyed by the kids, and a large hot tub was enjoyed by kids and parents alike. Hotel also offered a large bar area with free billiards, lots of seating and inexpensive drinks. Finally, the was very friendly and accommodating, for example offering free snacks at the bar. Breakfast was standard continental but with a nice selection. We'd stay again and will consider the sister site in Wausau on our next trip there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I'm not one to give high marks freely, so this is for real.

My group got here completely by chance. We had booked reservations at another hotel down the road which couldn't accomodaye us upon arrival. So they sent us here. Saved $30 and the place is fantastic.

Love the whole northwoods theme. Rooms are nice. Hotel has lounge in basement which I'll be visiting in a bit. What a great accident this turned out to be. I'd stay here again if in the area!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This was the 2nd time I stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn. Very nice decor and the rooms were very clean. Continental breakfast is convenient (especially with small clidren). The pool is nice enough though a waterslide or something would really liven it up. The only downside to this hotel is that they are also a reception hall. There are wedding receptions most weekends and depending on where your room is, you can be in for a noisy night. Also, the parking is limited and with party guests, you may have to park in the parking ramp across the street which is annoying if you have young children or elderly people with you.All in all this is the place we stay when visting my brother.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I were there for a wedding. We found the accomodations to be excellent. Our room were spacious and clean. The staff was very courteous. We only stayed one evening, but we enjioyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
3.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
5.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse

Address: 3060 S Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650-8677 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range: $104 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center of La Crosse/Onalaska is your haven after a busy day of snow skiing, shopping or cruising the Mississippi river. We have 157 uniquely appointed hotel rooms, including theme suites with whirlpool baths and stone fireplaces. For family getaways, our rooms feature king-size beds and sturdy double-deck log bunks for the kids. We offer 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space just right for weddings, reunions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse Hotel Onalaska
Stoney Creek Hotel
Stoney Creek Onalaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing