We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accomodations, but terrible breakfast bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Overall this is a well maintained and nice hotel. With a pool and conference center, the hotel provides a business and family friendly atmosphere. The rooms are pleasant and cabin themed with good lighting and excellent internet.

There is room for improvement:

Shower curtain rods are not bowed out. When you a tall person with broad shoulders, a small shower needs the bowed out curtain bar.

Tv Channel selection is OK. Controlling the TV is a little confusing with channel selection being difficult to decipher.

The worst and most hurtful service for this otherwise great hotel is the breakfast bar. Poorly executed with tiny garbage cans that easily overflow, it presents a poorly planned representation. There are no eggs or meat and the staff is more focused on tearing down the food bar than ensuring their paying customers have full stocking up to the 10 oclock cutoff on weekends, and useable garbage cans. Fruit selection is poor and the juice machines provide fruit flavored aide and not juice.

Management needs to do a rehearsal test of the breakfast bar and make a critical assessment of the operation, followed by procedural and product improvement.

King size bed was exceptionally comfy with great pillows. Room stayed warm and toasty.

The internet is great throughout the areas we visited.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear 1Joe, Thank you very much for the kind comments as well as the constructive criticism. We will take all of your remarks under consideration and I apologize for the breakfast experience you describe. We have a rotating weekday menu that always includes eggs and meat and perhaps we ran out of whole fresh fruit late in the serving time. That being said, there is never an acceptable time for our staff to focus on tearing down when guests are still present and we will address that with our team. Thanks for sharing your comments and for your loyalty. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 455 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were traveling West in November and decided to stop for the night in La Crosse, WI. We first tried a big name hotel but it was filled and they recommended Stoney Creek Inn. I was hesitant at first but was so totally and pleasantly surprised with this Inn. The front desk employee was so helpful and pleasant. The lobby and rooms are decorated in a fun rustic theme. Everything was very clean and very well done. They had a nice continental breakfast. This hotel is centrally located to many restaurants and stores. We will absolutely stay here again when we travel West in the Spring!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at Stoney Creek Inn last night as a romantic little get away with out the kids. We've been to some hotels in LaCrosse that were loud, dilapidated, and disappointing. So we were thrilled to find a clean, fun, family friendly place to stay. We had a theme room with a whirlpool, and a patio. The evening was wonderful... until we checked out.

During our stay we were considerate, quiet, and left the room clean. We obeyed the no smoking rule and even though it was windy and in the single digits over night, we stepped out on the patio to smoke tobacco. (We don't even smoke in our own home.) We even cleaned up our cigarette remnants from outside and took them with us and swept the little bits of left over tobacco off the table and into the garbage (we roll our own American Spirits). So nothing prepared me for what happened when I checked out.

The lady at the desk was rude to me in front of other customers and said that they smelled smoke in our room and accused us of smoking tobacco (and marijuana!) in the room. When I told her that was absurd and absolutely untrue she brought the "evidence" to us. In the garbage there was an "incriminating" piece of a rolling paper package, some of those tobacco flakes and literally a speck of ash from those smokes we took with us (It was the bit that fell off the end of one when we had set it on the table while we were packing up to go.)

I asked if it was against their policies to smoke on the patio outside. Of course it wasn't, so I told her that the only reason it would smell in the room at all was because the wind must have blown a hint into the room as we went in and out. If we had smoked even one cigarette in the room I assume that it would have triggered their high tech smoke alarms, and actually SMELLED strong or LOOKED smokey. She told me that they were going to fine us $100, and when we tried to defend ourselves she offered to call the police.

At this point it was obvious that they were going to say and do whatever they wanted to and there was no use arguing with blatant stupidity so we just left feeling confused and wronged. We weren't looking for any trouble in the first place, we obeyed all the rules completely, and we did nothing wrong by considerately throwing away our tidbits of garbage. Any reasonably sensible person would have been able to walk in there and distinguish the difference between a room that had actually been smoked in and the faint hint that they may have smelled from the smoke clinging to us as we came in from outside. (I suggest they post signs in all of the patio rooms warning that if you smoke outside and even the faintest smell travels in then they reserve the right to charge you a hundred dollars. In the summer when the doors and windows are open one would assume that it would happen even more often.) It never crossed my mind that this would be a possibility or I certainly would have walked to my car.

We had been planning to recommend this hotel to our friends and family, and to also make it a regular place for us to stay when we go skiing. Now I'm just disgusted, insulted, and feel mistreated. I'm baffled at how the rude staff could be so adamantly unfair. We did Absolutely NOTHING wrong! I'm astounded that they can even get away with this!

Room Tip: If you smoke tobacco, be sure to get a room without a patio door, or you might be tempted to smoke r...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Caliope R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Caliope, I am so sorry that your "clean, fun family friendly" stay ended on such a sour note. While we must strictly enforce our no smoking policy to protect the rights and health of other guests and our employees, there is absolutely no excuse for rudeness. I’m so regretful that you felt our communication with you was inappropriate for the circumstance and for that I sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had stayed at a Stoney Creek Inn previously and had enjoyed it, so when planning a trip to hike in the La Crosse area, I found this one and decided to book it. It met, or exceeded, all expectations. While the whole outdoorsy-Up North theme is a little over the top, it is fun. Our room was generous in size and the bathroom felt enormous. I think because of the high ceilings, it all seems very large. The bed was good, the breakfast worked for us, and it was clean and quiet. The reception staff gave us an excellent dinner recommendation, Manny's, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The price was extremely reasonable and we'd definitely stay at another Stoney Creek Inn, as well as recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I live in the Twin Cities and consider La Crosse to be a great escape. I now have a new favorite place to stay while there! I enjoyed the northwoods décor of the hotel. Everyone I encountered was very nice. The room felt like brand new - clean and quiet. I couldn't have asked for more. Ask for a room facing the marsh, the view is beautiful! I got a great rate and am already looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: I always recommend a top floor, non-connecting room for peace and quiet. The view of the marsh is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesAVaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Got the conference price. My room was so clean and new looking. No wear and tear. Comfy King bed, cute bathroom. Nice little gym downstairs, free breakfast, free airport shuttle. Way beyond what I would have ever expected for the low price. Oh , and awesome wifi. free

Room Tip: third floor as vaulted ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmbradle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this place last weekend for my father in-laws birthday. The past reviews were pretty much on par. We had a great time. The decor is as expected and a hit cheesy but we are in wisco after all. I really enjoyed the sweet giant bald eagle mural in the pool area. Awesome! We took my son swimming at 7 months old for the first time and he loved it. The beds were super excellent and comfortable. The breakfast was good as well with hot biscuits and gravy hiring the spot. A waffle bar would have been nice. Front desk staff was great letting us check out late so our baby could take a nap.

Cons: we did have noisy, echoey hallways with Sasquatch running up and down them but it's to be expected on a Friday night.

The parking is TERRIBLE when there is some other event going on. On our night there was a wedding reception. We had a pissed off baby that apparently didn't like the plethora of Minnesota Vikings fans in the area and we couldn't find a parking spot and had to park in the ramp a ways away. Not to convenient. It would have been nice if there was a lot for overnight guests only and not wedding attendees. Just a thought.

Not enough chairs in the pool area also.

All in all we had a great time and would return next time.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank CyDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear CyDogg, I certainly hope you got film of Sasquatch on the run and I appreciate your sharing your experience while sharing and showing your sense of humor. I’d like to think that having fun while staying with us is not optional, but should be, in fact, mandatory. Thanks for taking the time to share and please come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
5.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,114 reviews
5.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse

Address: 3060 S Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650-8677 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range: $100 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center of La Crosse/Onalaska is your haven after a busy day of snow skiing, shopping or cruising the Mississippi river. We have 157 uniquely appointed hotel rooms, including theme suites with whirlpool baths and stone fireplaces. For family getaways, our rooms feature king-size beds and sturdy double-deck log bunks for the kids. We offer 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space just right for weddings, reunions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse Hotel Onalaska
Stoney Creek Hotel
Stoney Creek Onalaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing