We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Business stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay here while attending a conference in La Crosse. The rooms were clean and I really enjoyed the woodsy decor -- down to the stuffed animal (available for purchase) sitting on one of the beds. :D
We stayed in a room with two beds, fridge, and microwave. Very handy. The bathroom was roomy and the shower had great pressure and temperature right off the bat!
I spent a lot of time in the whirlpool the two nights were there. The pool area is adults only after 10 PM and there is a security person who does patrol. He also patrols the halls to make sure kids/adults are not being noisy out in the halls after 10 PM.
The breakfast area was well stocked with hot and cold choices.
Overall it was a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    122
    27
    9
    14
See reviews for
159
105
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A very large number of compliments were shared by our employees on the neatness and cleanliness of Stoney Creek Inn in Onalaska, WI and about the organized, courteous staff. Everyone from the front desk people to the housekeepers, bus boys, and bartenders were extremely helpful and friendly to us. We witnessed an entire staff with excellent manners and a sincere desire to treat us like royalty. Same was said for the variety of caterers used for our meals: delicious, excellent quality, professionally presented and served.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were astounded at the noise level at this hotel. It sounded like Sumo Wrestlers running down the hall... yes, it was THAT loud. After putting up with it for an hour or so, I opened my door to see what the heck was going on. I found toddlers running. Toddlers! They couldn't have weighed more than 30 pounds each, yet it sounded like a 300 pound man was stomping down the hallway.

I have never stayed in such a poorly built hotel. You can hear the people above you, below you, and beside you. The other guests needn't even be loud; just going about their business, yet the noise was unbelievable.

The decor is so cute, the location convenient to both La Crosse and Onalaska, but since we booked a hotel to SLEEP, and that was the one thing we couldn't do, we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFamily01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Traveling,
On behalf of our entire staff please accept our sincere and humble apologies for your recent noisy experience. Thank you for sharing and including some kind remarks about our location and décor. Many other reviews posted on Trip Advisor have referenced “quiet stays” and while that fact doesn’t change your experience, it does point out that yours was the exception. We are very sorry we will likely not see you again due to this one bad event, but we wish you safe (and quiet) travel in the future, with no 30 pound Sumo Wrestlers involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Business trip that had been booked by my employer, but am considering it for a personal get-away later this year. Wonderful, warm staff. More than average breakfast and coffee ready when you are. The room was large and very clean. The only thing lacking is a restaurant on premise. There is a pub with pub-type food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GmaAndLuvnIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

2 night stay for business. Very welcoming staff, easy check in. Lovely, large pool area, though the hot tub was cool due to cleaning. Very comfortable king room. Standard breakfast fare but plenty of it. Coffee available 24/7. Easy access for freeway and local businesses. Clean room though one member of our party found a towel from previous occupant behind the bathroom door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is decorated in a North woods cabin decor. The room we stayed in had two full beds and was plenty spacious. We took our three grandchildren there specifically for a winter swimming break. The pool is both indoors and outdoors so a person can swim between the two. We swam outside in the rain during the month of April. The hot tub was huge!! The entire pool area was very nice with a TV and fireplace. The breakfast was typical hotel breakfast fare. They did not have the usual waffle maker, frozen waffles to toast. They did have biscuits and gravy. The biscuits were very fresh and tasty. The beds are not very comfortable, we could feel every move the other person made. There is shopping and many restaurants within a short distance.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side third floor. They have lots of conventions and wedding receptions so req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0313Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently attended a family wedding at Stoney Creek. We had the best time. Kids loved the indoor pool, I felt like we were in a northwoods cabin of our own in the suite. Liked the screened porch and decor. The staff is so friendly, and the food and beverage director and director of sales, Susan, really took care of my niece and new husband. They felt like a million dollars with their experience and planning of their wedding. It was a fantastic week-end, so full of laughter and love and we were made to feel like we were all at our second home away from home.

Room Tip: all rooms are with a theme, you can't go wrong with any room. we had the room with the screened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thereuhaveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
3.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Address: 3060 S Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650-8677 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center of La Crosse/Onalaska is your haven after a busy day of snow skiing, shopping or cruising the Mississippi river. We have 157 uniquely appointed hotel rooms, including theme suites with whirlpool baths and stone fireplaces. For family getaways, our rooms feature king-size beds and sturdy double-deck log bunks for the kids. We offer 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space just right for weddings, reunions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse Hotel Onalaska
Stoney Creek Hotel
Stoney Creek Onalaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing