We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Web Site a Little Misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just spent the weekend at the Stoney Creek Inn. We booked our room about a month in advance of our weekend getaway. The web site lead us to believe they had a waterpark and a bar/resteraunt where you could get something to eat. There is a small pool and you can order a frozen pizza at the bar along with some deep fried choices (Chicken fingers, pretzel bites and mozarells sticks). So if your hungry, you have to get in your vehicle and drive someplace as there really is no place you can walk to from the hotel. Rooms were average. Nice Bathroom and shower. I would stay somewhere else if we ever go back to onalaska. All the staff at the hotel were very nice and accomadating. We wanted to park, have some drinks and eat and go back to the room. That wasn't happening here unless you want frozen pizza!

Room Tip: Make sure you request the 3rd floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twatman872016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear 1215,
On behalf of our management and staff, I sincerely apologize that you found our website even “a little misleading.” We have reviewed our site and when navigating back and forth between our distinctly different offerings it is certainly conceivable that our one Waterpark Resort could hold your attention as a fun destination. It does not go unnoticed that we had two reviews on this same subject nearly back to back, so we’ll take a long hard look at our site and it’s clarity. Thanks for your 3 star rating and your kind remarks about our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 447 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel when attending a wedding in town. The room was very clean, and the staff was SO friendly & accomodating to us. The contintental breakfast was a plus. Great value! I will return again in the future! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poshrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The website makes it look better than it is... there is no water park, just a pool, no resturaunt, just continental breakfast. The staff is very friendly, the room was really nice, the elevator sounds a little scarry, its not bad for passing thru town, but from loking at the website, we were a little disapointed...

Room Tip: room 325 has beautiful veiws of the hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMTSTOES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear TM,
Our website includes all thirteen of our unique properties, one which is a 50,000 square foot Waterpark with a restaurant and a snack bar. I can only assume you took that page as representative of all of our hotel locations and sincerely apologize for any assumptions that may have occurred as a result. Thanks for the kind words regarding our staff and our rooms and thank you for sharing your experience and for giving us the opportunity to clarify this for all who read your review. We are very sorry for your disappointment and are very glad that you still had an overall pleasant stay that led to your 3 Star rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed in Stoney Creek Inn and the staff is just superb and friendly as can be. I checked into room 304 which is a very large, king size bed with a jacuzzi in the room and has a crazy cowboy theme. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. It did take me about five minutes to locate the closet to hang my clothes, I wasn't expecting to find a built in wall rack in the corner to hang my clothes and it was quite a small area with a few hangars. But I do love that they give you a refrigerator and microwave in the room The location of the hotel is nice because it's in the middle of everything if you are driving.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: If you stay in room 304, don't expect a view of anything except the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spicytravelasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I was surprised how nice this was. The decor and moose theme is awesome even though I'm not into the outdoors. Room was huge. Beds comfy. The bed spreads had some obvious stains, but the sheets looked clean. Loved the stuffed animal moose that greeted us when we got to our room. ( great way for the hotel to make an extra $20- but my son lived it!). Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockeytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I travel for my job and use hotels frequently. I stay at the Stoney Creek Inn in Onalaska once a week and it always gets better and better. The facilities are outstanding and the service is even better. The rooms are unbelievable and the staff gives upgrades all the time. The breakfasts are good. The bar/lounge downstairs is also very nice. And the indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub area is always clean and nice. I can't say enough about how beautiful a hotel this is and the prices are better than most. I look forward to the staff there and my visit to Stoney Creek Inn every week.

Room Tip: Rooms with jaccuzi's are nice, so are the rooms with patios or 3 season porches. They have beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Jo C, Wow, what a nice review. Thank you for your kind words and for your loyalty. We will do all in our power to insure your experiences continue to please and continue to get better and better yet. We learn from from guests like yourself constantly and I promise we will never take your patronage for granted. We look forward to seeing you this week and next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The super-size log cabin style entry looks welcoming and the theme continues in the lobby. The bar offers pizzas and drinks in the conference area, reached from the hotel lobby by a twisting sort of a subway system. It was OK for a snack but, for a good dinner it would probably be better to explore the eateries nearby. The room was good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktho2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
3.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites La Crosse/Onalaska
5.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse

Address: 3060 S Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650-8677 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range: $102 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center of La Crosse/Onalaska is your haven after a busy day of snow skiing, shopping or cruising the Mississippi river. We have 157 uniquely appointed hotel rooms, including theme suites with whirlpool baths and stone fireplaces. For family getaways, our rooms feature king-size beds and sturdy double-deck log bunks for the kids. We offer 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space just right for weddings, reunions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - La Crosse Hotel Onalaska
Stoney Creek Hotel
Stoney Creek Onalaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing