We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Barebones but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Plymouth
1 review
“Barebones but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Microtel wasn't my first choice, but since every other place was booked, I gave this place a shot. To my surprise, it was a great choice. Check in was easy. The room was small, but very clean and neat. The bed looked fresh with crisp white linens and was surprising comfortable.The bath was fine. Plugs on either side of the bed, and on the desk wall allowed for easy laptop charging. Wifi was free and speedy, so definite plus here! Flipping through channels and not really being able to easily find something to watch on the television was likely something that local cable service should provide. Although the remote didn't have a button specifically for turning on captions, it was easy to quickly turn it on. The breakfast provided was simple, with easy grab-and-go options.

The only real drawback was that there was only one vending station and ice machine in the lobby, not on each floor as the door map indicated. I was awakened several times by the doors slamming, and heard them several times the next morning.

Pros:
Comfortable
Clean
Well lighted

Neutrals:
Price of stay
Cable service

Cons:
Vending, ice only in lobby.
Noise

When I checked out, I mentioned that this was my first stay in this chain, that I liked it, and I would very likely stay at this location again. I chose to stay here because it offered free wifi, when several other places were cheaper, they were also booked. I also absolutely loved the fact that there was no cigarette odors present, although I had to smell some of the smokers in the parking lot when I arrived.

One thing I noticed when I was coming and going was that while the building was easy to spot, there was no marker for where to turn in, which resulted in some confusion of how to approach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager29873, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank for choosing the Microtel Inn by Wyndham in Onalaska, WI
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving your needs whenever you are in the La Crosse/Onalaska area.

Thank You again,
The management and staff of the Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    187
    115
    61
    28
See reviews for
185
121
52
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coal Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Noise from plumbing or something else went on all night long, was a "pinging" noise in the walls.

Curtain would not close all the way, had to place a bag against the curtain to keep closed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager29873, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We strive daily for 100% guest satisfaction in all areas of the hotel.
We thank you for bringing your issues to our attention and have taken the necessary steps to address/correct the issues.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Thank You again,
The management and staff of the Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our basic needs were met: clean room and beds. We only needed a place to sleep. However, I specifically looked for places that offered breakfast. The breakfast here wasn't impressive: an alcove off the lobby had a couple of breakfast cereals, coffee, and doughnuts. Some juices, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt would be a good addition to the starch-heavy offerings

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager29873, Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We strive daily for 100% guest satisfaction in all areas of the hotel.
Thank you for the breakfast suggestions and we are looking into adding these items at a future date. We do have orange and cranberry juice available all day for our guests.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Thank You again,
The management and staff of the Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Onalaska
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites La Crosse/Onalaska
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse

Property: Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
Address: 3240 N Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650-8546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Onalaska (La Crosse Area) Hotel Onalaska
Microtel Onalaska
Onalaska Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing