We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My second extended stay (over Christmas)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My second extended stay (over Christmas)”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 8 days over Christmas last year and we had a great experience thanks almost exclusively to Jeff, the Assistant Manager. Because of him I decided to stay here again over Christmas this year; we stayed for 11 days this time. I knew I was happy with the room we stayed in last time (second floor, back of the hotel away from the freeway, and right between the stairs and elevator) so I wanted to see if I could request the same room. I kept forgetting to call and ask for it right up until the day I was getting in to town. I called up and happened to get Jeff. I didn't expect him to remember me, but he did. Not only had he remembered me but he had already noticed my name on the list of people checking in and put us in that same room. I was extremely happy! He is always in a good mood and is willing to help with anything to make your stay a good one.

The hotel was getting new tvs last year, and this year they were painting and redoing the baseboards in the lobby, first, floor, and third floor. It's nice to see that they are doing things to keep the hotel looking new, and it didn't interfere with us at all. I believe they avoided booking anyone on the 1st and 3rd floors, but I'm not positive. I know that we didn't hear a thing.

My only real complaint is that the walls are extremely thin. If there is someone staying next to you then you'll be able to hear them very clearly. I think we have been spoiled by staying here during times that the hotel is fairly empty -- not many people go to Wisconsin in the middle of winter! But when we have had nights where people were next to us, we had to use a white noise app on our phones to drown it out. I'm not sure that the hotel could do anything to prevent that at this point, it's just how it was built.

Overall the staff is great and helpful, the hotel is very clean and kept up-to-date, and we will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Stay on the backside of the hotel to avoid the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipzmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager29873, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback about your extended stay with us. I'm happy to read that you were happy with the room and service from the staff. We will continue to go upgrades throughout the hotel. We hope to see you guys next year.

Happy New year & thank you again for the great feedback.


Thanks,
Jeffrey & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    206
    123
    65
    29
See reviews for
201
133
60
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We came to town to visit our kids at Christmas. The front desk clerk was very nice, apologizing several times for the renovation mess. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable and had the crispest sheets I've ever slept on in a hotel. The breakfast was just fine.

We visit family in the area frequently and need a place to hang our hat for a night or too. The Microtel Inn definitely suits our needs.

We highly recommend this property if you just need a place to sleep. Very good value; we will return.

Room Tip: The hotel is really close to I-90. Next time we will ask for a room on the north side of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager29873, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback about your first night stay with us. We are done with the renovations. We hope to see you again soon. Take care & happy New Year.

Thanks Jeffrey-AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was in town visiting family and had a great experience at the hotel. Staff was friendly and courteous. I would recommend this hotel to my friends & family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Lilly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager29873, Jeffrey-AGM at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the great feedback about your stay. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites La Crosse/Onalaska
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Onalaska
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse

Property: Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
Address: 3240 N Kinney Coulee Rd, Onalaska, WI 54650-8546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Onalaska (La Crosse Area) Hotel Onalaska
Microtel Onalaska
Onalaska Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing