We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean stay”
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I was staying in LaCrosse for one night, as we had an early AM baseball game my son had to be at. I checked in early on Saturday... no problem.

The check in was easy. Waited one minute for the front desk clerk who was gone on a short errand. No problem. Elevator wasn't busy, took it up to find my room was about 20 feet from the elevator and just across the hall from the ice maker and soda dispenser.... grrr! HOWEVER, I never noticed the elevator or the ice machine until early the next morning when a hoard of loud, hung-over baseball parents where filling their coolers and complaining loudly that the ice machine "was empty". (HELLO! Your pals just filled up 9 full coolers with ice, ya morons!)

Bed was comfy. Bathroom and bedroom area was clean. Microwave is a nice touch, but didn't use it. Used the wireless Internet (easy to use) and fridge (very clean, cold).

Other than the loud guests at 6AM, the only complaint I had was that the hotel was illuminated from the outside by very bright mercury vapor lamps that made it appear that it was high noon instead of 1AM. The light blocking drapes were too short, and didn't go all the way to the wall for full closure. Minor, but I am used to total darkness. Also, the security door next to the lobby (the stairwell) wasn't secure. I didn't need to use my key to get in even late at night.

Check out was easy, just dropped off the keys and my receipt was already completed and under my door when I awoke. Parking was just outside the front door.

  • Liked — easy access to interstate, restaurants and event
  • Disliked — bright lights outside of windows
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wettap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    129
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
171
117
28
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

This hotel met all my expectations for a Hilton brand hotel. I had a King room. The bedding, like other Hiltons, was very comfortable. I especially like their choice of pillow thickness and firmness. The room was clean and well kept. Breakfast was good. They have fresh chocolate chip cookies every day around dinner time. MMM!!

  • Liked — clean, comfortable, internet
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flynaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, WI
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

We picked the Hampton simply driving by on I-90. The first impression was very good, nice looking. After checking room availability we were
offered a suite or standard room. Being later in the evening, we were given
a discount so opted for the suite. We were absolutely delighted ! Huge king size bed, jacuzzi, pull out sleeper sofa, fridge and microwave and a very large bathroom with walk in double shower.
With back problems I usually have trouble sleeping in hotel beds. This was
wonderful ~ we both slept like babies. We have now planned a fall getaway
and will definitely stay at this hotel !

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Il
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2004

A great value is an understatement for this hotel. Spotlessly clean throughout and a staff that seems to truly care about your stay. I am a picky one when it comes to detail and my roaming eyes could not even find an inch of this place with even a spot of dust on it. The furnishings and the decor are both above the norm. Great breakfast too! Also if you have not driven south and north of LaCrosse on both sides of the Mississippi then by all means due so. The high bluffs and eagles soaring above are spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reospeedwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 8, 2004

My husband's weekend business trip brought us to the LaCrosse/Onalaska area. Typically, we always try to stay at a Hampton, but due to "Parent's Weekend" at the local universities, availablility was scarce. Our first night was spent at the Comfort Inn Onalaska which was a grave mistake. However, this review is about the Hampton in LaCrosse so that review is for another time. To make a long story short, we checked-out of our room and Comfort Inn as there was a "last-minute" cancelation at the nearby Hampton. We arrived hours early and I had resorted to the fact that the common area of the lobby would be my home for the next few hours. Quite the contrary; I was assigned a room in under five minutes. Not only was the front desk staff overly-accomodating (namely Dustin), but helpful and friendly to the Nth Degree. In comparison to our previous night's stay, this place was the Taj Mahal. We stayed in an Evergreen King room; a clean, updated room with an air purification system to boot. The room smelled exceptionally fresh and clean and was a welcome sight to my sore eyes. We stayed a total of two nights here and were in awe by how friendly the staff was. I saw the general manager landscaping, housekeeping cleaning at the break-of-dawn, breakfast bar being continually stocked, windows being washed -- need I say more? Dustin (the Manager) asked me numerous times how I was doing and how my room was. I'm always a sucker for Hampton Inns because of their consistency. Choosing any other hotel chain in this price range seems absolutely absurd.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
3.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
5.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska

Property: Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Address: 308 Hampton Ct, Onalaska, WI 54650-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Hampton Inn La Crosse/Onalaska located only 4 miles from the La Crosse Municipal Airport. Other attractions include the Black River wetlands and businesses such as APAC, Midwest Security Insurance and Sagebrush. All Hampton Inn guest rooms include free internet, free hot breakfast (or grab a On the Run breakfast bag), free hot tea and coffee in the lobby. Relax in our pool or whirlpool or use our fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska Hotel Onalaska
Hampton Inn Onalaska
Onalaska Hampton Inn
Lacrosse Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing