We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean. Not a favorite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oconomowoc
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very clean. Not a favorite.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel was very clean and in a great location for my stay. However the staff was not the friendliest and breakfast is not complimentary. The rooms are also smaller than your average room. The Staybridge Suites down the road is a better value and has larger rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSG320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    97
    31
    14
    10
See reviews for
112
54
22
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
richmond,virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn last summer. The hotel was quite well maintained, the lobby really very pretty. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We stayed in one of the junior suites as my adult daughter was staying with us, so that she could have a little more privacy. I really liked the room, as , say, compared to a regular Hampton Inn. I agree with the other reviewer in that I was surprised that we would have to pay for breakfast, as I also was so used to so many hotels, including the Hampton Inns, which we use often, and Embassy Suites, always including it as part of the amenities. That was the only "down" side of the hotel that I could see, if you could really call it a down side, as in," it is what it is. " But the hotel was quite nice, it was right next to a Pik N Save grocery store, that we could have walked to if we chose, as well as a Brennan's Market, (more upscale,) across the street, that had a great selection of fresh produce, wines, cheeses, etc, The room includes a microwave, mini -frig, and coffee maker, so we were set. Very clean, very comfortable. Bed was "adjustable", with baffles, for the firmness level you choose. Hotel is directly off 1-94, easy to find, and 30 minutes via 1-94 directly to Milwaukee, 45 minutes to Madison. The Hotel is located in Pabst Farms, a beautiful area, and Oconomowoc itself, is a great, upscale area, and with many many great restaurants, shops, places to see,etc . I will most definitely stay here again!!! Thoroughly enjoyable! Good center point for going so many places easily!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loving-bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I am finally getting around to this review. We stayed here for two night right before Christmas while visiting family. Overall, it is a very nice hotel. Our room was spacious (upgraded to a jr. suite) and very clean. The hotel was quite, but I am not sure if that was because it is generally quiet or if it was because it was pretty empty. The pool area is very nice and the spa was the perfect temperature. The front desk staff seemed very nice and always had a smile for us when we would come and go. One thing I thought was "interesting"; it was posted that there would be no maid service on Christmas day. While I appreciate the sentiment, I thought this was a little odd for a business that runs 24/7.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WannaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

While family stayed near by at the Olympia Resort, we needed opted for our own place as it was getting a bit cramped back at that condo. I read the reviews and decided to stay here. I'd never stayed at a Garden Inn so didn't realize the difference from the Hampton Inns. They have breakfast available for purchase, which others can also partake in. Usually we expect free breakfasts at the various chains, but as we had a free points night we figured now was a good time to try it.

The hotel strikes you as being brand new, but is probably several years old. When you enter, there's a very large, attractive lobby with the eating area, as compared to the many cramped rooms at other chains. The next morning, the family met us there and we all ordered from their limited, but satisfying menu. We variously had pancakes, made to order omelets, other egg dishes and numerous side dishes. The cost was more than a diner, but the availabilty and quality of food made up for it.

The room itself was very nice, similar to a Hampton. The plus is also a negative in that it is in a suburban area so there's not too much nearby, but our window looked out over a beautiful Wisconsin farm field and woods, as compared to the typical highway and fast food restaurants. It was only a short drive to other shops or restaurants and we enjoyed a brief walk around the grounds to start our day.

The one real glitch was that while the television was HD, many of the channels, including NBC weren't. This was very odd, and the picture quality was very fuzzy. The desk had no real explanation except that's how it was. As far as the meal, I was surprised to find myself willing to pay for a breakfast, as compared to the freebies. I suppose as this was an unusual situation, with family joining us but I'll definitely consider an HGI in the future over other chains. The enjoyable stay must have countered my innate desire for a free breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frozen_Tundra_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the past three or four years. It is always consistent in it's cleanliness and professional service. The hotel is conveniently located right off of I-94. While there is not much in the area as far as food and entertainment, a movie theater and a lot of restaurants can be found about 8-10 minutes closer to Milwaukee.

The hotel is very clean & modern, with the typical HGI beds, flat screen HD tv's, a nice bar and restaurant. The staff generally remembers me and acknowledges my Hilton Honor's status.

All, in all, a good choice if you have to be in the western Waukesha County area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel- it has a nice view of a field and pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BuckyBadger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed at the HGI-Oconomowoc, 16-21 Oct. I appreciated the newness of the property and the clean rooms. The club chair and ottoman was very cozy. The beds were very comfortable too.

The rooms are not very sound-proof. My room was at the end of the hallway on the first floor so I heard people coming and going at night. Housekeeping was adequate. I came back to my room after the end of a long day and discovered my used, wet towel and washcloth still on the floor in the bathroom. The only other issue my boyfriend and I had was at dinner. I ordered the herb-crusted chicken and he ordered the strip steak-medium rare. My salad and our entrees both arrived at the same time. Both entrees and our baked potatoes were lukewarm at best. The 'fresh' vegetables were not cooked completely. (I suspect the cook used something like BirdsEye microwave veggies.) Our server (Hannah) forgot his salad but never came back to check on us to see if everything was okay. When she came to clear the dishes, I explained our disappointment in the dinner and she was extremely apologetic. She ended up discounting our dinners, which was unexpected but welcomed.

If I have the opportunity to stay in Oconomowoc again, I'll select this HGI.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the side entrance if you want a peaceful night's sleep. Front of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJGso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were there for a wedding. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There's a breakfast for about $11 with lots of self-serve items, including made-to-order omelets, French toast, eggs, etc. Very reasonable for what you get. Extremely satisfied for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gratamama5173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandLHospitality, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear gratamama5173,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Garden Inn in Oconomowoc, and for taking the time to share your positive experience with others through this review. I'm glad you enjoyed the guest rooms, and the breakfast offerings. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards, Erin Ruppenthal, S&L Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oconomowoc
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Milwaukee West Oconomowoc
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Milwaukee Delafield
3.2 mi away
The Delafield Hotel
The Delafield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Delafield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Delafield
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Delafield
9.8 mi away
The Country Springs Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc
Address: 1443 Pabst Farms Cir, Oconomowoc, WI 53066-4881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oconomowoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oconomowoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc offers a clean room and amenities for your comfort during your visit to Oconomowoc, Wisconsin. The Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc is located for easy access to Milwaukee and Madison. Each Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc hotel room offers free high-speed internet, a microwave and refrigerator for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc Hotel Oconomowoc
Hilton Oconomowoc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing