We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wine and food variety in this cozy friendly place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wine Maniacs

Wine Maniacs
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Oconomowoc
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Wine Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Great wine and food variety in this cozy friendly place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I have been coming here since it opened. We love the abiance and huge wine selections. It is fun to just sit at the bar and enjoy the small plate entrees and chat with others. Rick is a fun and knowledgeable bartender. The owners Debbie and Jeff are great hosts and Kayla, one of the waitresses is terrific. We are both vino-heads and love the variety. Jeff has never steered us wrong and can put together great case buys for most any budget. The small plate entrees are comparable to other fine dining experiences in Milwaukee like LaMerenda and El Mito's. High quality and very creative with a menu that changes often enough that it is never boring. Lamb lollypops are spectacular, lobster blts, duck sliders and empanada's, great salads and soups. We think the pricing is very reasonable for the product we receive. We are greatful that we can go here instead of drive to Milwaukee for a pleasant dining experience close to home. "Do not miss the wine tastings and dinners"! A great value for the money and always fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A little pricey for what you get, but the food selection is very nice, the small plates are very nice, and they change their offerings from time to time according to our waiter. We tried the Scallops, Beef Wellington, Lobster Mac-n-cheese, as well as an Ahi tuna appetizer. Everything was very good, except for the Beef wellington. The beef was very tough, and no steak knives, just a regular table knife. My son ordered a philly steak sandwich and he enjoyed it very much. Nice selection of wines by the bottle as well as by the glass. We will definately try here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mct911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Love this place, food, wine and the wait staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Love the place. Those rude customers should have been asked to leave! Imagine being insulted because someone asked for your ID. You were in a bar right? That's what they do. It's for your protection as well as theirs!

Helpful?
Thank Herincari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We came into Wine Maniacs with a group of 11 just to have a few drinks. The second we told the hostess how many people we had in the group she threw her hands up in the air and scawfed at us. She rudely told us that she would have to push a few tables together, as if it would be an inconvenience. While the hostess and another waiter were pushing the tables together they kept rolling their eyes and staring at us. When the waiter walked by us he shook his head at us and rolled his eyes at us. Our waitress was a lot nicer, thankfully. We actually contemplated just telling them to forget it and leave; we felt terribly unwelcomed.
Prices are severely too high for what the certain product they carry.

Helpful?
Thank Kaylen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The manager is AWFUL. UNBELIEVEABLE.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The manager at this place is Awful. I will never go back to wine maniacs because of how I was treated by her. She was UNBELIEVEABLE. I am in complete shock that I just had this experience. Wow. That blows my mind. I will only say bad things about this place from now on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea6588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleDebbieBert, Owner at Wine Maniacs, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are very concerned that you feel our staff is awful, however requesting proper ID is not an unreasonable request, it is the law. Management was attempting to explain the difficult situation an establishement such as our is put in when guests do not have proper ID. Even after resolving the problem, there was continued hostility from the table. We felt it necessary to attemp to explain the situation we were put in at the end of the evening and that was received with hostility also. Please accept our apology if you beleive the situation was handled incorrectly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Maniacs also viewed

 
Oconomowoc, WI
 

Been to Wine Maniacs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing