We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the kitch value, maybe not the food”
Review of Kilte Drive In

Kilte Drive In
Ranked #5 of 5 Dessert in Oconomowoc
Restaurant details
New Hope, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth it for the kitch value, maybe not the food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was a lot of fun to share the old-time drive in experience with my son. The food was fair, the burger was ness than spectacular, but we all agreed the fries were excellent. The chocolate malt we shared was good, though nothing amazing. But the price for the food was low and the kitch value was high, so we'd likely go again next time we're in Oconomowoc!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It is about the "Drive In" experience, more than the food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This vintage, throw back style Drive In overlooks the highway. The menu has no vegetarian main course options, I ate cheddar (melted velveeta-type) fries and a thick shake. They were both good enough, but very much junk food, even if the word yogurt is included. There was not a salad within a mile of this place. The wait staff were young cute girls in mini-skirts. Ours was the only classic car in there, but that might be a different story on s Saturday evening. I did not feel like I was in "Happy Days"

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun throwback”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I like their burgers, fries and shakes. I like the scottish theme and the ability to order from your car. Very cool and fun to reminisce.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BamBamWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old fashion drive in”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a fun place to go w/ a varied menu & wonderful malts. It's like being in the 50's w/ cute carhops & great food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fraulin5spd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good is ok. Atmosphere is genuine”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Its a real old-fashioned drive-in. This is the place all the cheerleaders worked when he was a kid in the 60s. The highway was rerouted but the drive-in is still there. We make it there at least once every summer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary_Hartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilte Drive In also viewed

 

Been to Kilte Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing