We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Lake Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Oak Creek
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Near Lake Express”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Traveling to Michigan, we decided to take the high speed ferry from Milwaukee to Muskegon. This Days Inn was a perfect place to stay because the drive to the 6 a.m. ferry was less than 15 minutes. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. And there is a very good restaurant just across the parking lot, within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired06x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could provide you with the level of service and hospitality you have come to expect from us, and more importantly, deserve. We are glad you could take advantage of some of the local features while visiting here. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    62
    56
    51
    34
See reviews for
66
50
38
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed 2 nights here one on August 3 and the other on August 4. To charge $60 (tax included) is appalling considering the poor service and the minimal amenities and condition of the rooms.
When are they going to understand that they need to lower their nightly rate to be competitve.? The old $44.00 per night to $47.00 per night was more appropriate for this motel.
I used the AAA rate but they never told me that the AARP rate was much lower. I will demand my credit. The check in on the August 4 took 25 minutes and there was noone there. The check in agent was slower than a chinese train and although he knew that I was in a hurry, he completely ignored my request to "please speed it up". The room windows coudl not open , the windows' glass was disgusting filthy when in deed it takes very little to keep them washed and clean. Minimal towels, had to request additional.
On the night of the 4th August I stayed at the Days Inn in Green Bay wich was more pleasant, a better hotel , cleaner , and yet much much lower in price.

Thsi was a most disapppointing experience considering that Hampton Inn, Ramada etc.. all charge less than what this motel charges. I have stayed here many times before and yet make no exceptions or consider repeat customers. That is it. No more.

Room Tip: There are no tips other than it is a below standard motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am sorry that your stay with us wasn't the pleasurable experience you have come to expect from us in the past. Please know your comments and concerns are of great importance to us, and we are reviewing them to improve our services and facilities. Please know that we do have some new staff members and they are not always the quickest in check-ing our guests. We are working with them to improve their skills and training to ensure our guests are properly seen to. I apologize that the gentlemen who checked you in could not respond as quickly as you had expected. Please also know that I have spoken with housekeeping about the windows being dirty and that they are correctling that issue. We do hope you will see these changes with your reservation with us tonight. We look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room was quite comfortable. However, something was wrong with the door hinge and we noticed we had to pull it hard to shut it when we would leave for the day or step out of the room. Unfortuneatley the housekeeping staff did not realize this and left it ajar. We notified the manager and he stated it was a problem with the hinge and he would have it repaired. It still was not shutting properly; but at least housekeeping made sure to shut it.

What I was uncomfortable with was the fact that when we notified the manager on duty in the evening and again the morning front desk staff; neither of them apologized for what could have been a serious loss of property for us. They both gave the excuse of why the door didn't work and then said they'd have it fixed. An apology would have been nice.

Also, no milk for cereal the first morning of our stay. We asked the staff and were told they were out of milk. This was when the breakfast started at 6 or 6:30 am or so.

While the staff wasn't rude, they were rather disinterested.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I apologzie on behalf of the staff for their lack of compassion with the issue with your door. Please know that your safety and security is very important to us. I am sorry that the staff failed to share your concern with the door issue in the matter that they should have. I have addressed this issue with our staff, and well as verified with maintenance that the original issue was resolved, to ensure that proper care is taken with all of our guests's concerns. I am also sorry that proper measures were not taken to make sure that all breakfast foods were avaialble for you on the first day of your stay. Measures have been implemented to make sure this type of incident is not repeated in the future. We would love to have you back again as our guest, we hope you give us that opportunity to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Second time I stayed at this hotel while waiting for a flight out of Milwaukee. While the room was not the Ritz, it was a decent room at a good price. The staff up front was very helpful and the free breakfast was a plus. No, it was not the Hampton Inn but it was also half the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitflyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to work on providing your with the best in service and value here in Milwaukee. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We recently spent two non-consecutive nights here on a trip to Milwaukee.

Night 1 was on Friday - we arrived late and wanted a hotel nearby. The room was clean and looked fairly newly remodeled, although it did smell like someone had been smoking in it. We had a full size bed - not sure why hotels don't make a queen size standard. We went out to grab some food & returned around 1 am - I called down to the front desk to get the access code (wireless is free, but you do need a code) - and it rang 3 times, and then someone answered and hung up. I thought it was in error, but I called back and let it ring 20x and no one answered. I waited 5 minutes and tried again - same result. Breakfast was fine - bagels, muffins, yogurt, coffee was pretty decent.

Night 2 was Sunday - we returned as we had a 6 am flight. Their website indicated they had an airport shuttle - this is NOT a hotel-run shuttle. You have to go through Airport Connect (similar to Super Shuttle) and it's $8 each way. For our early flight they said they would have to pick us up at 3:30 am - even though we were less than 2 miles away! We had to return our rental car Sunday night - we assumed the hotel could just come pick us up. Instead, we ended up taking a taxi and dealing with a driver who complained about the short trip & overcharged us. We took a taxi back in the morning because the shuttle was just too much hassle.

Overall the hotel was fine - staff was very friendly. When we checked in Sunday we said we'd be leaving before breakfast & she said to ask the clerk in the morning & she could probably grab us something if we wanted.

However, the lack of a shuttle will probably prevent us from staying here again. If you have a car, then this place would be fine. There's also a restaurant/bar next door that is open late.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleBrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. Please know that your comments and suggestions are very important to us and we are working on upgrading and improving all apsects of our hotel. We are working with our owners both about the hotel-run shuttle (a problem we are sorry you experienced during your stay with us) as well as our rooms with the one double bed, as we are looking to upgrade those rooms in the future. In the meantime, we will continue to strive to give you the best in service and selection of hospitality here in Milwaukee. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2011

This is not my first time staying at this hotel. It is very clean and close to General Mitchell Airport. A great value if you have an early flight out.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NYTraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to hear from one of our returning guests that we have been able to maintain the level of service and quality you expect from us. We hope to continue to be of service to you during your travels to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

The hotel is very dated, but it is kept mostly clean. Except for the fact that someone was obviously smoking in their rooms and this seemed to fill our room with a lovely cigarette smell.

Where do I start? The room, is clean, old style television with cable, coffee machine, desk. The bed, is... different. Small pillows & see through sheets- they're that worn. Stained mattress... not that nice to be honest.

The room itself was quite roomy with decent space, not the best heating system when travelling in the winter, but it was generally quiet which was a good thing. Free Wi-Fi was pretty poor, it took ages to connect and kept re-connecting, the signal was bad. And don't expect to have two windows running at the same time - not very fast!

Breakfast-is awful. If you're staying more than a day, expect to be paying for somewhere else for breakfast like iHop. You get the choice of boiled egg, toaster waffles, bagles or awful pastries. The cereal selection is Frosties & Raisen Bran. Thats it... and - only the bagles were half decent.

There is a 'Business Centre'; aka one computer and a printer. Which was out of service for 4 of the 7 nights we stayed in the hotel.

There is a small 'gym' - 2 tredmills, we didn't use it but it seemed decent enough.

Car parking is ample and the location is ok if you have a car and want to drive about. It's about 15/20 mins from downtown.

I personally wouldnt stay here again. It wasn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but it sure was one of the bad ones. Days Inn? ... more like Days out!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdole07, Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
We are very sorry your recent stay with us was anything less than completely satisfying. Please know that your comments and issues have been addressed with our staff, particulary in housekeeping. There is no reason that the linen you described should have made it back to our guest rooms, and for that we are truly sorry. We will, as always, continue to welcome your feedback (whether good or bad) so that we can continue to improve our services and amenities. In response to the issue of our business center, we are aware that unfortunately it was down for several days due to maintenance issues. We are, at times, at the mercy of our associated vendors to repair our equipment in a timely fashion. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. Please know that for future reference, any additional services you may need may be directed to our front desk staff for assistance. We will continue to work diligently to make sure all of our guests needs are met. Again, I apologize that we fell short with you during your recent stay. It is our hope that you will give us another chance to be of service to you again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback, and please continue to have many happy travels along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Creek
0.1 mi away
MainStay Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milwaukee Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Milwaukee Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi

Property: Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi
Address: 1201 West College Avenue, Oak Creek, WI 53154 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Oak Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Oak Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Motel-6, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Oak Creek Wi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Milwaukee South Hotel Oak Creek
Days Inn Oak Creek
Oak Creek Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing