We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Percheron Paradise A Jewel In the Bluff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwalk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Percheron Paradise Romantic Hideaway
germantown
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Percheron Paradise A Jewel In the Bluff”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Well we had come up here just to get away from it all....Great idea...We stayed at chalet #2...and it was so quite and serene it was almost surreal...It was everything Carl & Tracy said it was and more....we went end of July, 09, and are returning in Sept, 09....Our chalet was packed with all we needed to survive alone for days...We saw many birds we never saw before, and yes their dog Comet made an appearance to our chalet.....The sunsets were awesome along with the nice little rain we had....they had notes for everything and i couldn't get gas grill to work, so i found out from Carl i missed a note or 2...The drive up to chalet was a nice little adventure in itself...We can not thank those 2 (Carl&Tracy) enough for the most beautiful time we had...And also a thank you goes to 1 of their son's for letting us borrow his flashlight as we headed to the 3/4 mile old train tunnel ( built in 1870-1873) and a few other tunnels are now part of a bike and hiking trail....The huge porch was awesome for just relaxing on and getting to know each other again...of course the whirlpool is the best 1 we ever came across in any place we stayed along with all the electronic devices also...I took 100's of pics up there in the hills...You can also get some excellent maple syrup just up the road. It is better than any store brand i ever had....These people have it all planned out for you before you even get there...As a matter of fact Carl was washing our "Rig" as he referred to our 4 wheel drive Geo Trekker.....That also came with the chalet...Better than taking our car up in them hills (more fun} as you head up the little dirt road past the sheep's...But when Nancy walked into that chalet all she could say "WOW"....I want to say more but i could go on & on .....but i will post again after we spend our 3 nights in #5 the end of Sept, 09.....We were so pleased we would recommend this to anyone who would just like to get away from the Rat Race just long enough to slow down and smell the roses sort of speak........well OK the fresh bluff air......listen for the coyotes at night they are out there......Carl & Tracy we can't return soon enough and hope to see you soon..........and thank you again..........John & Nancy Germantown, Wisconsin.....August 8th 2009
P.S. Check out Terry's hideout up the road for some good food & spirit's

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2bchbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

My wife and I just returned from Percheron Hideaway. We stayed in Chalet #5. Our expectations were far exceeded. Everything we've always wanted in a getaway is right here. The owners literally bend-over backwards to assure your have everything you want and need. The chalet is beautiful and spacious and extremely clean. Every amenity and detail you can think of, and some you didn't think of is included. We walked their "mowed" hiking trail then sat on the huge deck surprised by the variety of birds. The red flowers in front of the deck brought the hummingbirds right in front of you. At night, the stars were visible by the millions and coyotes howling in the distance was the only thing to break the silence.
We've stayed at many locations with whirlpools but they are usually too small. We opened up the cabin and sat in the huge hot tub, sat out on the deck in the cool night air, and back in the tub. Seclusion is the key word here and the owners have made sure all of the chalets and bungalows are very private. The second floor master bedroom balcony is also spacious and allows for a wonderful Westerly breeze.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Just came back from our 4th getaway at Percheron Paradise. I want to go back. We love it!! These cabins are completely secluded, tucked away in the woods. Every direction you turn it's just beautiful. These cabins are wonderful, all the comforts of home, but you don't have to be at home. Ahhhh, what a getaway. They have a full kitchen (everything included) you just bring the food. Hot tub, double headed shower, gas fireplace, patio, grill, CD/DVD player. Our personal favorite is the game room cabin, which comes with a pool table, dart board, and fuseball table. They have 4 or 5 different cabins to choose from. ALL WONDERFUL!! I highly recommend this to any couple in need of some time away together. AMAZING!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManhattanGarbageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2009

My husband and I needed to getaway. Boy was this the place to go! Karl and Tracy (the owners) are great people, nice and very polite. We arrive at 3pm and put our stuff in the Jeep. (yep you get to take their jeep). When we enter the chalet (#3) we were blown away. We had seen the pictures on the website but they don't do this place justice. It was absolutely beautiful. The first thing we did was looked at everything. There was a cute little tray on the table with some energy drinks and glasses and a candle. (the note said we get to keep the glasses and candle). There were little notes everywhere telling you how to use the certain amenities around the chalet. They came in very handy when turning on the direct TV. Although we didn't watch to much TV. We were way to busy playing pool on the high end pool table. (Hubby's favorite amenity and the whole reason we chose to come here), sitting in the huge whirlpool (red with red mood lighting above) taking, sitting on the deck listen and looking at the wildlife. We enjoyed grilling out on the deck. The grill was well maintained and cooked great. There were many more things we didn't get a chance to do (darts,Foosball, hike,etc..) but we are going back in June and staying for two nights this time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My husband & I have been together 21 yrs-he brought me to this place for my b-day to get-away from the stresses at home & because I told him it would be better than "material" gift! Boy was I right.
Directions: when the owners say follow their map-they are right! We used GPS-it did get us their (to CR X) but thru the back 40's where the amish live-gravel roads, etc. It was interesting to see, but my husband kept thinking of the movie-"Deliverance"! Once we got into Norwalk town-we gassed up & found a bar-grill called Lil's Korner-best burger ever & everyone so friendly. From there is was just a few short miles to Paradise. It's a small sign, but we seen it & were anxious to get there!
Upon arrival-had to take pic of their sheep! Tracey, owner sweet as can be & very informative of trails to take & places to go. She walked us to the red 4x4 Jeep to take to our Chalet #3-that was fun all in itself! Bahahing up/down the trails! We pulled into our garage under the chalet-& walked up the stairs...all we could say was Wow. One thing i look for is cleanliness-this place was spotless-had all amentities you'd need. (mouthwash/makeup remover cloths/t-brush, hairdryer, etc!) We brought lobster tails/steaks for dinner-kitchen had everything we needed for dinnerware & breakfast. Everything was designed & color coordinated with alot of thought-down to the red silverware to match flowers/curtains! There was a dishwasher, but we decided to hand wash-garbage bags/soap provided, even dog biscuits for their dog Comet if he were to visit, but he never did so i gave one to a chipmunk on our deck! First thing we did is hike some trails-nothing but silence at this place. Birds chirping, owls hooting & rustle of leaves from chipmunks looking for food. We didn't see any deer or wildlife, but that didn't matter-just sitting on the balcony playing chess/checkers/poker dice & bird watching was wonderful. Weather was perfect-high 50's sunny no wind-once sun started going down I decided to turn the fireplace on to warm up a bit (we had the heat on low so we could use the fireplace!) We could not get the flames to light on the gas fireplace so my husband called the office-Karl the owner was up within 3 minutes! Ended up transmitter needed a battery-wah lah-fixed! He stayed briefly to chat about the work he has done building that Paradise & other interesting stuff-very nice man-My husband could have talked to him for hrs! So he left & After grilling outside we hiked some more at dusk-by this time we were ready for that whirlpool-it was so big & comfy & pretty when lit up at night-we watched a DVD (you can pick what u want at arrival) while in the pool yes, you could hear the sound-the surround sound is awesome! After our skin started to shrivel up-we decided to get out & use the 2 person shower-it has 4 shower heads w/different massages-i asked my husband if he could install one in our house! We then got comfy & warm by the firplace in the robes they provided then got dressed & played darts then pool-it was so fun. We had rock on the radio/wine (which we added our corks to their vase full!) and snacks (they too provided popcorn/coffee/tea)...I was so exhausted from a great day we didn't play foosball, but the bed upstairs was cozy & comfy & they had extra pillows as i usually use 2! We didn't use the balcony up there but slept like a baby-woke up next morning-& what a view!! So many birds to see on the feeder in front of the big window-sat outside at the bistro set w/coffee-bird watched some more & signed their guest book & had breakfast & hated to get dressed to go home! It was neat to see all the comments that different people have wrote in the book. We finally got the jeep packed & i looked at my husband & said "this is the first time in yrs I have not had anxiety attacks" i normally have anxiety daily-when we were here-i had no difficulty in breathing or aches/pains. So it was Easter day & the owners were gone to Church but left us a note thanking us & gave us a voucher for a next stay along with 2 chocolate easter eggs taped to the note-how thoughtful! The price for this place may seem steep $350/night (as i kept telling my husband not to take me & let's just go to a hotel-cheaper) luckily he doesn't listen to me because i feel it is well worth every penny-this place proves there is still romance after 21yrs!-Karl & tracey are so lucky they live there-in Paradise. Looks like they are adding another Chalet-we will definitely be back. Miss it already.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Percheron Paradise for a second time and oh how we enjoyed everything that they had to offer ..... beautiful scenery, cute little chatels, and most importantly ..... peace and quiet for a nice romantic weekend! This is so much than any hotel could offer. It's also better than heading to some big resort because there it would lack privacy. This destination has everything needed for a romantic getaway. The owners of the resort are super and they are very accomodating to their guests. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a three day stay at Chalet #5 of Percheron Paradise Romantic Getaway; we typically get away for a few days to celebrate Valentine's Day and this year are one week late. For the last 7 years we have continued to go to Percheron Paradise because, in our opinion, it is the best and is our favorite of all locations we have tried in the past. Chalet #5 is one of our favorite Chalets available at Percheron Paradise (Chalet #2 is our other favorite though all of the chalets are very nice and we have tried each of them); we have also stayed at #5 for our anniversary getaway in August on many occasions. I am puzzled at the description of Chalet #5 provided by gigagirl as it sounds like a different Chalet than the one we often stay in. During our August visits there we have had some extremely warm weather and have never had any problems with temperature control in the chalet-air conditioning worked fine and we were comfortable. When the sun is at it's peak we close one or two of the sets of blinds to keep the sun out for a couple of hours but otherwise we keep the blinds open to enjoy the scenic beauty of the setting.
Our stay on this occasion was fantastic. As has always been our experience the owners make it clear that if anything is not satisfactory to let them know and they will accommodate us so we have a good stay. As usual everything was just right thanks to the attention to detail on the part of the owners, Karl and Tracy. When we first stayed at Percheron Paradise, we brought along kitchen utensils, plates, etc as we were planning on not leaving the chalet to go into town and we discovered we didn't need any of that as everything needed is in the chalet. As their ad states, it is hard to leave after staying there for a few days.
We have reserved Chalet #2 (our other favorite) already for our anniversary getaway later this year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Percheron Paradise Romantic Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Percheron Paradise Romantic Hideaway

Property: Percheron Paradise Romantic Hideaway
Address: 12833 County Highway XX, Near La Crosse, Norwalk, WI 54648-8216
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Norwalk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justin case you are planning a romantic weekend getaway to Sparta Wisconsin or are planning your wedding and looking for the perfect secluded honeymoon destination or just a nice relaxing vacation, just for the two of you, you have found it. Built exclusively for couples to escape from the world. We are only 1 1/2 hrs. from Wisconsin Dells, 2 hrs. from Madison, 3 1/2 hrs. from Milwaukee, Green Bay, Dubuque and Minneapolis and 4 1/2 hrs. from Chicago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Percheron Paradise Romantic Hideaway Hotel Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing