We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Landhaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Landhaus
Save
You added Chalet Landhaus to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 6 New Glarus B&B and Inns
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Busy but good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped by the restaurant on the way out of town on a weekend visit. We took advantage of the breakfast buffet. I usually don't care for breakfast buffets, and yes, this was breakfast, not really brunch. But, they had some great made-to-order omelets at a station and some very good warmed dishes. The service was slow--took forever to get drinks, refis, etc, which is surprising when most folks were eating the buffet. The atmosphere was good and the hotel seemed very nice as wel. Very full of character!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    54
    42
    16
    7
See reviews for
20
89
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is exactly the kind of inn you'll find in small towns in Bavaria and Switzerland. Mom and pop type operations with a small but delicious restaurant and bar downstairs. The breakfast buffet was excellent and included delicious dishes like potatoes roesti, and ham, strudel etc. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff at this hotel were very gracious and accommodating.

Room Tip: My advice is fork up the extra $49 for the whirlpool suite. Beer lovers check out the New Glarus Tas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I felt like I was back in Europe. This hotel looked like it was plucked right out of Switzerland. The rooms were clean and the buffet breakfast was very nice. I enjoyed that we could easily walk to town to enjoy shops and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecarrbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel. Very clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Especially Donna at the front desk. Room was clean and cozy. Bathroon bight and clean also. Very nice breakfast included. We made it over ti the New Glarus Hotel Restaurant around the corner for a great Firday Night dinner with live Polka music and dancing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is our second visit to little Switzerland and we enjoyed the hospitality. Good service ... nice place ...
Very recommendable. Old style Swiss
Chalet type Hotel with classic Architecture. ...nice swimming pool loved by our grand children. ...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were very impressed with the cozy yet clean and modern room with a King sized bed - great for sleeping and a wide range of TV channels.

The Old World but modern decor gave it a special feel. We were disappointed that we were unable to rent bikes or get any help from the hotel in sourcing bikes. Too bad, because an outstanding bike trail trial is built upon an old rail bed just a short walk from the hotel. We found a good soul who let us use his bikes on the trail.

The continental breakfast in a nice dining room was quite good and included in the room fee. Too bad the dining room and bar were not open for lunch or dinner during our visit.

The spa was excellent and we enjoyed the whirl pool, steam, and dry saunas. Nice small pool as well for the kids. A very up to date and pleasant spa facility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoorCountyRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We met friends at the Chalet and we all thought it was a very charming hotel. Yes, it does need some updating, but the overall charm is there. The staff is very friendly. The housekeeping staff is very honest as I left an expensive bracelet there and before I got home, there was a message to call the Chalet as they had my bracelet. At this point, I didn't even know it was missing! The breakfast was very good and we had the Thursday night Swiss cookout buffet which was excellent.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that does not face Highway 69.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardon3411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glarus
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
13.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
14.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison Verona
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
14.3 mi away
Karakahl Country Inn
Karakahl Country Inn
#3 of 3 in Mount Horeb
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Landhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Landhaus

Property: Chalet Landhaus
Address: 801 Hwy 69, PO Box 878, New Glarus, WI 53574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New Glarus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Chalet Landhaus Hotel New Glarus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing