We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I checked in, the lady had the...”
Review of Swiss Aire Motel

Swiss Aire Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Aire Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Glarus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“When I checked in, the lady had the...”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

When I checked in, the lady had the personality of a wet noodle. There was a huge cat in the lobby, which wouldn't have bothered me if I had known about the place being pet-friendly ahead of time. (Like when I booked the reservation, I should have been told). The bathroom had hair everywhere! Behind the faucet, in tub, on my sheet..I ended up getting antibacterial wipes from my car and wiped down the toilet! It was very disappointing. And we didn't get to our room until 1am, so there was no way to fix our situation. $100 is waaaay too much to charge for the uncomfortable beds & nasty hair. If you're just looking for a place to sleep because you're too drunk to drive, then this place is for you.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midnightdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
39
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
des moines
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Everything was just fine here. Had to ride bike or drive to eat supper downtown but Bowling Alley bar was walking distance. Stayed 2 nights and all went well. Interesting little area--well worth investigating.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The location of this property is very appealing. It's walking distance to New Glarus and the bike trail. We were there for Oktoberfest, so it was packed! Rooms are a bit outdated, but fairly spacious and they were CLEAN. It is a roadside motel, so with the window open there is some traffic noise. The hotel property has a nice little outdoor seating area, away from the rooms. Price was a little high, but I think that was because of the festival weekend. Owners were polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abc12399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We were very disappointed with our stay here.
The staff were very disinterested.
The sound of water running in the adjacent rooms was very loud and
the road noise was also loud.
The bed was uncomfortable.
The towels were small, dingy-looking and thin.
In short, too many negatives & few positives.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austrian17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Room was clean and it had all the basics-including the tiny bar of soap and tiny towels. This is a really old strip style motel that you see along every highway. It was quiet but probably only because no one else was staying there that night. Rooms had been only superficially remodeled a few years ago but I could still see the repairs where someone probably punched a hole in the wall. Old furniture and beds as you might expect. Some other reviews I saw before booking were favorable but my wife and I were really disappointed with this choice. We wished we could have stayed anywhere else. Poor value for the rate that was charged.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100DollarBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford, il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Just spent 3 nights at the Swiss Aire Motel, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff was very polite and helpful on things to see and do. It is right on the bike path. Next time we go to New Glarus, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockford_bicyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Stopped through New Glarus for a short stay, stayed at the Swiss Aire Motel.
This is your older "roadside" hotel, with rooms you can drive right up to. Many of these have seen better days, but the Swiss Aire has obviously been updated within the last couple of years.
The have updated the bathrooms, the flooring, the walls, and the furnishings. Nothing really fancy, but clean and nice. Staff was friendly and helpful, location was just fine. I will stay there again!

  • Liked — Convenient, easy to access
  • Disliked — No problems, really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ljkdhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glarus
14.0 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
433 reviews
14.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison Verona
14.0 mi away
Super 8 Verona/Madison
13.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison/Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Aire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Aire Motel

Property: Swiss Aire Motel
Address: 1200 Highway 69, New Glarus, WI 53574
Location: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Glarus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Swiss Aire Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing