We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Review of Glarner Stube

Glarner Stube
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in New Glarus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The German food was excellent and filling. Great service.
Excellent beer list and lots or variety on the menue

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hogdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    89
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Food is the best--try there potatoes!!!
Great everything!!
Been going for years
Well worth the drive!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This needs 10 stars !!!! From the friendly warm staff to the Roesti - their brat with sauerkraut and WOW- the German Potato Salad - this was the first lunch I ordered - and the only one I order !!! I will try a new menu item next time (well...MAYBE). This is the place to be for food in New Glarus !!! I live in Illinois - and this is a "road trip" a few times a year !! Already thinking about the new run!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suza223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait for the Fondue Alone!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've visited the Glarner Stube twice, once during a festival weekend, in which there was a long wait, and again during a non-festival weekend, in which there was a long wait. While you may have to wait 45 minutes for a table, saddle up to the bar, enjoy some New Glarus beers, and prepare for an amazing culinary experience. If you love fondue, the fondue appetizer is a MUST, especially if you have a large group. The wiener schnitzel is great, as are any of the authentic Swiss specialties on the menu. You can't go wrong with the Stube when in New Glarus!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FullOfWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Choice In New Glaru”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

There is a reason that the wait for dinner is 45 minutes! The service and food here are excellent. While we waited we enjoyed some New Glarus beer and felt that the wood paneled bar was an excellent way to spend time waiting for our table.

We tried the Schubling appetizer which was excellent and served with a vinegary warm red cabbage and brown mustard. The veal meatballs were delicious and accompanied by some of the best Roesti I have ever had. We never had to wait for a refill for drinks as our wait person was on top of things. All of us left the dinner happy and satisfied.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BellBoys60625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glarner Stube also viewed

 

Been to Glarner Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing