We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It reminds me of an OLDTIME bakery”
Review of New Glarus Bakery

New Glarus Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in New Glarus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss
Restaurant details
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It reminds me of an OLDTIME bakery”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

They have a beautiful array of unusual and the usual. I was in (hog heaven) I would have liked one of everything, but then I wouldn't be able to waddle out of the store. DON'T miss this experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JOAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    18
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Cheap!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had the linzel bar and a cranberry orange scone and they were kind of blah. The pumpkin muffins are very good. We got about 7 items all for $10.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steno_starlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good stuff!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Traditional Swiss baked goods. Love the breads especially the Egg Braid (great for French Toast). Individual slices of cheesecake and pints of cookie dough for purchase.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The happiest place in New Glarus!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I go to New Glarus once a year with friends. My favorite time to go to the bakery is in the early morning. Everyone there is happy and smiling, the bakery smells wonderful--what's not to like? It is hard to choose what to buy because everything looks so good and, in my experience, tastes so good. The morning buns are my favorite, but everything I've tried--bread, cookies, rolls, scones--has been very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sweet Tooth Heaven”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a small bakery in a lovely Wisconsin Swiss town. Everything is to die for and so reasonably priced its hard not to walk out with one of everything! The raspberry cheesecake was so creamy and good! And if you like yeast rolls, try the orange blossom. It is so light and loaded with orange bits and an orange glaze. Wish I could bake like these folks!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlkRaven2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Glarus Bakery also viewed

 

Been to New Glarus Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing