We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Lagniappe Brasserie
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in New Berlin
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
305 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Dined here on a night where the menu was Spanish inspired, 3 courses for $ 20. Portions were fairly small but creatively prepared and well cooked, an excellent value. The wine list is also well chosen and well priced. A nice bistro feel to the interior, an excellent waitress. We need to dine here more often, chef/owner on premises makes all the difference.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wisconsinwinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

It was my our first time dining here and everything was excellent beyond belief!! We went in on a Thursday night and they had half price bottles of wine-which was a treat. Vegetables were fresh and in season, and our meals were out of this world! Chef Andy Tenaglia knocked us off our socks!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillandAngela80482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Need to eat here more often”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I love small, intimate restaurants, and Lagniappe Brasserie is just that. Great for conversation during your meal. The food, what's not to like! Menu changes all the time, it's creative & fresh. Choose your entree, and soup or salad is included, it's a real deal, considering the top notch quality of food. You always get a little something "extra", a surprise appetizer - complimentary, just a bite for each. Our veal & hangar steak dinners were so flavorful. The dishes were served with fresh veggies, and fingerling potatoes. Jen, our server, was right on. She knew the dishes well, and could answer all questions. Only suggestion - have at least one chocolate dessert, but the pistachio baklava was yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank empty_nesters07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique experience at a great price.”
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My wife love this restaurant. The menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of foods that are difficult to find in the New Berlin/Milwaukee area. From elk to escargot to ostrich. It also offers many traditional options, such as beef, pork, chicken, fish, etc. An appetizer of salad or soup is often included with entree, and can be upgraded for a small fee. All meals come with a lagniappe or "a little something extra," which is a small treat prepared by the chef.

The restaurant is quite small, with only about 10 tables, but the service and food quality are excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicKimMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent and Affordable Dinner!”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We went to Lagniappe on 4/17/09 because we received a gift certificate from a friend. We went on a Thursday night because that was the day we had a babysitter available, and to our surprise, they have 1/2 off bottles of wine on Thursday nights. We thought the place was quiet and charming. It used to be an old house, now converted into a restaurant. We had an excellent server named Sally who made sure our wine glasses were filled at all times and that we had everything we needed. My husband and I both ordered the pork tenderloin. We've been out to eat at many fine restaurants before having children, and I must say I've never had such tender pork ever! The soup or salad was included and we both chose different soups (also excellent.) The menu of the restaurant changes daily so there is always a different selection which is fun. We will be going back at some point. People who like finer food for a great price should try this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagniappe Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Lagniappe Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing