We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Up close and personal with owls

Amazing work carried out with birds of prey. We hit quite a rainy day but still managed to see... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Katie K
,
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Fantastic day out

We had a wonderful day here, the birds in flight display were brilliant and the views across... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Lavinia H
via mobile
Read all 2,533 reviews
  
Reviews (2,533)
Filter reviews
2,527 results
Traveler rating
2,359
155
8
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,359
155
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds of prey flying display all ages wings knowledgeable staff wonderful birds owl display wonderful place whole family on site my partner great family day value for money black kites conservation work secretary bird feathers restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,527 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Amazing work carried out with birds of prey. We hit quite a rainy day but still managed to see flight displays. Owls flying low along seated rows of visitors brushing faces with their feathers as they went by and sitting beside or very near, great opportunity for photos and to see these amazing birds. Atmospheric music and information given. Saw 5 vultures flying in and then performing acrobatic display with black kites for food, with clouds looming, the scene was dramatic. Would have loved to have stayed longer and this was during the winter season with a full but shorter program. Will definitely return for the experiences and to support such great work they do.

Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had a wonderful day here, the birds in flight display were brilliant and the views across watching the eagles fly home were magnificent.

Thank Lavinia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Wonderful evening spent in the company of some beautiful owls who treated us to some incredible flying displays thanks largely to the experience and enthusiasm of Ben and his team. Hard to believe that I haven't been here before when I don't live far away but one thing is for sure it won't be the last time. I cannot recommend this experience highly enough if you love owls and if you wish to learn more about what the Trust does looking after all sorts of birds of prey. Highly recommended

1  Thank Razz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

What a great day out. Lots of displays including a fabulous free flying display with the hawks, music, people participation the works. Good tea shop as well.

1  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

If you can stay for all the demonstrations it is definitely worth it, as they are all quite unique. We were there in the summer and got to see 3 different displays. The guides were very knowledgeable, and clearly come across as really fanatical about the birds in their care. Great facilities to eat and drink too.

1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The whole experience was amazing, and educational, not just for the children, I and my family are now converted to try and look after our wildlife & all that you, the trust & your loyal members of staff have managed to promote in the most incredible way on a daily basis . We were able to have a superb hot meal in the feathers restaurant, which was delicious. The flying displays, wow, they are so beautiful , to see the birds in their natural habitat, thoroughly mesmerising, thank you so so much , such a well run and pleasurable day . I hope the trust are very proud of what they have created . Your staff clearly do this for the love of the birds, it’s not always about making money. Highly recommend a visit.

1  Thank paulagray9674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I honestly can not fault this place on any point. Staff are kind and friendly, not to mention knowledgeable.

Place is clean and tidy and a pleasure to walk around.

Enclosures look good and you can view the birds easily. It had been over 5 years since I visited last and the new burrowing owl place looks amazing.

Displays are great and the staff provide brilliant and fun commentary.

I was there on a photo day with Oliver Smart and the 2 handlers that were with us all day were great.

Definitely recommend

1  Thank MisterW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a truly amazing place to visit. We had a fabulous day and Mike and Bee were excellent hosts to our group of 6 people. Being able to fly the birds of prey in these beautiful surroundings was an absolute treat and we can’t wait to visit again. We watched 2 flying displays which were fantastic . A perfect day out for all of the family. Also worth a mention was the breakfast in the Feathers restaurant, very tasty and good value!

2  Thank Paradise40035054281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have been to the Hawk Conservancy several times over the years and every time we visit the live flying shows get better and better. The experience goes from strength to strength. Thoroughly recommend taking the children it's a fabulous and very reasonable day out! We are in the cafe and had a lovely pie- only thing to improve it would have been some veg with it! Staff are great, interesting, passionate and funny. 5 stars highly deserved

Thank Hana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great day out at the hawk Conservancy Trust. The flying displays were fantastic, you get so close to the birds. There are lots of staff on hand to give you information. The burrowing owls were my favourite.

Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews