We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem on the Riverwalk with Western Art Treasures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Neenah
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Gem on the Riverwalk with Western Art Treasures”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

A basic Holiday Inn...or is it? Stroll the property and find 10 Original Remington Sculptures! These are usually in major museums of western art. Then a delightful stroll along the picture perfect river-walk and we found The Pour House for a drink and across the street Zacatecas,
with amazing Mexican food (but that's another review)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFan95661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
You’ve wonderfully described the atmosphere of our hotel and community. We have a fantastic collection of Fredric Remington statues throughout the building. Our excellent location in Neenah's historic downtown provides scenic walks along the river, the sailboats and lighthouse is a must see in the summer! Many of our great events in downtown start in June offering concerts in the park and the wonderful farmer’s market right across the street. Thank you so much for the thoughtfulness and time to share your comments. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Laura D.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    39
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
45
28
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hortonville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Everyone on the hotel staff was very helpful, accommodating and friendly. Everyone was very happy to help. So many staff members that weren't even working with our event were wishing us well, because they knew we had our wedding

Room Tip: Only rated 'kids activities' and 'spa' average, as they did not apply for our weddin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineMilheiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience, it was our pleasure to be a part of your special day! Our dedicated team work to make every detail perfect to build lasting memories. I have shared your feedback with our entire team, thank you and congratulations!

Laura D.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as a last minute option. Our first room had some issues so we needed to switch. This room was just fine. The hotel does need some basic room remodeling to be done but overall the room was very quite, warm and comfortable. The best feature the hotel has is free cold bottled water and fruit available to all the quests during their stay. I loved this feature and so did the rest of the family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlbdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you took advantage of the complimentary bottled water and fruit provided in the lobby. We are pleased to hear that the room made you feel warm and comfortable, for that is something we strive for. Thanks again for taking the time to present us with some positive feedback; we hope that you will return to our hotel sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The check-in was quick, but when we arrived at our floor, we noticed a strong deodorizing scent. Makes you feel as though the hotel is trying to snuff out mold or other unpleasant odors. The entire hotel: the lobby, hallways, and room feel like it was last remodelled in the 90s. The had room 417. During the night, we heard four trains. Not the most restful night.

We had breakfast at the hotel. The restaurant opens at 6:30am. We had an omelette and wheat toast. The toast was delicious: thick and fluffy.

We had our conference in Dotty B. This is one of the largest conference rooms we have ever been in. The room temperature was fine away from the doors. The people closes to the emergency exit doors wore their coats. Unfortunately, during the two days, the maintenance people were working on the roof and hearing the speaker was difficult at times. The beverages and food was delivered on time. The bakery desserts (brownies, scones, cookies) tasted unremarkable. We ran out of green tea. The banquet room coordinator did a poor job ensuring that we had the best of everything (if maintenance needs to be scheduled when the banquet room is empty).

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hahnje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the review in regards to your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Neenah Riverwalk. We are here for our guest and want to make their stay not only comfortable and relaxing but also enjoyable. I am glad to hear you received efficient service throughout your stay.
Please accept my apologies for the noise experienced. We are putting on brand new roofs on our meeting & event space and there was some unexpected noise early in the morning in which we addressed with the contractors. We may not be a brand new hotel but we are continually upgrading our product to ensure the best possible experience for our guests. In the next few months we will be replacing our hallway carpeting on our guest floors as well as many items that we will be updating into 2014.
Thank you for sharing your insights, we do hope to see you in the future!

Laura Dietz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a somewhat older property that is well maintained. I enjoyed its location, in the small downtown area, rather than the increasingly common and boring locations along the nearest freeway. The room was well kept, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italyvacationer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the positive feedback and will be passing it on to our staff members. They always enjoy hearing that a guest's stay was positive. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to have you stay with us again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I recently had our wedding at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk in Neenah and we were very disappointed. The hotel itself was fine; we have no complaints about our room and we received good feedback about the food during our reception. The hotel is in a nice location, there is an on-sight bar and restaurant and a complimentary guest room is included for the bride and groom. However, that is where the pleasantries stop. We were shocked at how we were treated by the event coordinator, Alison, when we arrived to our reception. We were 20 minutes late and we did not receive a "welcome" or "thank you" or even an inquiry as to why we were late. We were abruptly told that because we were late, our food quality had been compromised and we did not have time to be introduced to our guests. We were told to "go in and sit down so grandma can do the prayer". During the reception, the service was very poor (except for the male bartender, who was excellent). Guests complained that it took very long to get their food, water was never refilled and the staff was unfriendly. Our reserved tables were not marked so my husbands mom, sister and grandparents had to sit in the back of the room. We paid for 4 bottles of wine to be served to our reserved tables and they were never served. After the cake was cut, we did not see or hear from anyone from the Holiday Inn staff. No one bothered to ask us how things were going or if we needed anything. We had to ask 3 times for tables to be moved so we can have our grand march. When I emailed Alison my list of complaints and requested a refund for the 4 bottles of wine, she merely responded by saying my comments had been forwarded to the general manager. It has been over a week and I have not been contacted by anyone.

As I stated in my email to the event coordinator, they should be less concerned with how their food represents the hotel and more concerned with how their staff represent the hotel. We were shocked and disappointed with how we were treated on our special day (that we paid a great deal for) and we felt totally disregarded by the hotel staff. We would certainly not recommend the Holiday Inn to anyone who is looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Abby H,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let's face it, if you're looking for a hotel in Neenah, Wisconsin, the options are thin. Very thin. The Holiday Inn has a rich history of mediocrity. Built on the site of the "Valley Inn," a venerable, early 1900s, Mediterranean styled "grand hotel," a local developer razed this strcture and in its place, built the Fox Valley Inn, a striking example of hospitality ordinariness. It is this structure that was sold to Holiday Inn and serves as the "bones" of the current hotel.

So Holiday Inn buys the Fox Valley Inn, remodels the lobby (sort of) and replaces the mattresses. Voila... a Holiday Inn! But the rooms and general ambiance remain the same. Super small rooms, windows glued shut, plastic glasses wrapped in cellophane, no closet, self-service bellman assistance... you get the general idea.

The only thing that saves the place is the location. It's directly across the street from two office towers -- home to various divisions of Kimberly Clark and other local businesses. So, occupancy is surprisingly high. How else would you explain that fact? I'm just grateful that I don't have a job that would require me to stay in hotels like this on a regular basis.

Okay, the staff was friendly and upbeat. But it must be difficult to engender employee pride and loyalty when the workplace is so soul-less. You gotta credit Holiday Inn for that, right?

Room Tip: Honestly, there aren't any "better" rooms here. They're all cookie-cutter ordinar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddyt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Freddyt64,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see your high scores for the Service and Value. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neenah
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Bridgewood Resort Hotel
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Neenah
Days Inn Neenah
#2 of 4 in Neenah
229 reviews
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
#10 of 23 in Appleton
473 reviews
5.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
4.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah

Property: Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah
Address: 123 E Wisconsin Ave, Neenah, WI 54956-3007 (Formerly Holiday Inn Neenah)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Neenah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Neenah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, enjoy a worry free atmosphere - Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah. Great service, clean rooms. Quality and convenience in downtown Neenah, WI! The Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah is ideally located near Hwy 41 (1 mile) , the Outagamie County Airport and Fox River Mall (9 miles), the EAA Museum (15 min.) and Green Bay/Lambeau Field (35 min.). The Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah has 107 remodeled sleeping rooms in sight of the Fox River/Lake Winnebago, Riverwalk Parks, shopping and the historic Paper Baron Mansions. Mostly walking distance to area businesses: Bemis, K. C. Corp., Theda Clark Hosp., Alta Resources and more. With 13,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, skilled planners, and exquisite banquet/catering menus, plan your wedding or special event for 5 or 500. Make memories at the Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah! Free high-speed wireless everywhere! Free HBO, parking, and shuttles to and from the Outagamie County Airport. 24-hour pool, hot tub, and exercise facility. Full service restaurant, lounge, room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Neenah Hotel Neenah
Neenah Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing