We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly authentic”
Review of Antigua Real

Antigua Real
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Mukwonago
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Central American, Guatemalan, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly authentic”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find a Latin restaurant that is actually good and about as authentic as you'll ever find in suburban/rural Wisconsin. Menu items are listed with a little flag indicating their country of origin, and they don't shy away from ingredients like pumpkin, cactus and even huitlacoche. Service is friendly and prompt, and the atmosphere is nice.

Don't miss the little gift shop on the way out; they sell lovely handcrafted souvenirs like bags, scarves, figurines, blankets and jewelry at good prices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarmieBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    7
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
153 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“South American Cuisine in the Country”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Antigua Real is a 'refreshing' break from ordinary Mexican food. They allow you to experience cuisines from Central and South American countries that other restaurants just don't do! Their freshly prepared salsa is tangy and choices of beverages adequate.

Tip: Do not go on "kids eat free" night which is Thursday if you are expecting a quiet night out. Also, the staff appears to be over-worked and service is slow during these type of promotions as was the case during our last visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JetsForFunJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neat place, good food & drinks.”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Really nice Latin decor and atmosphere. Large selection of specialty drinks. I had an almond sauce taquito entree that was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ookuhjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago
1 review
“Margaritas did not meet expectations!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My wife and I decided to have margaritas and nachos and leave the kids at home. Don't worry the oldest is twenty. Are drinks were dispense from a frozen mixer and not blended when ordered. My wife's strawberry margarita was tart with no sweetness to it. My regular lime margarita was bland and did not have any kick to it. Furthermore, our nachos were also uninspired. Breakfast is a better choice at antigua real and nothing after twelve noon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Fish tacos are excellent! Friendly staff did substitutes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esperanzasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antigua Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing