We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a first class eating place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fork In The Road

Fork In The Road
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Mukwonago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The village hang out, where neighbors meet new friends. Casual American cuisine, homemade soups, awesome sandwiches, fish and BBQ.
Chana, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a first class eating place”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

we stop here every time we go to wiscinsin. for a meak, a salad, or a bowwl of hearty soup ... this is the place. everything ie made from scratch... delicious ... the staff is friendly..... the owner is uaually lurking somewhere ready to make you feel right at home. They want you to have a good experience. all the patrons are having a wondeful time. eat inside, or outsid .. you will love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ray e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    50
    10
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wind Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our first (but not last) time at Fork in The Road. Be aware that you should NOT come here if you are in a hurry. Although they were GREAT about honoring reservations, and we got to pass up LOTS of people that were waiting since we had made them, it still takes a while between courses for food to come out, but the service was very attentive the entire time. We were there on a busy Saturday evening. Both men in our group had the prime rib special, which they were pleased with. Also in our party, we had the mealoaf with mashed potatoes which was excellent (and BIG) and the steak sandwich (which was probably the least fave of the meals). It was good, but just a little boring and not best tasting nor tender steak I've had. They have very interesting soup choices, such as cilantro lime chicken chili and a pepporcorn pork in beef broth. Pay the extra for the side salad that comes with grapes and sugared walnuts--(i think it was $1.50). It was fabulous. Each couple also shared the apple dumpling dessert, which was MORE than enough and a perfect ending to a great meal. The owner was walking around mingling with his guests--a charming, funny older man and we all appreciated the visit from him! Drinks were spot on as well. (good mojitos!!) Can't wait to go back and try more items!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cappygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food- not so good- the wait and wait and wait!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were hiking in the Kettle Moraine area and heard that Fork in the Road was a good choice.
When we arrived, we were told that the wait was approximately 30-35 minutes. Given we did not know many restaurants in the area, we chose to wait in the bar area which was packed. If you go, try to secure a bar stool as soon as possible because the wait was endless or so it seemed. We had finished a college football game in the fourth quarter. I finally asked the waitress after 40-45 minutes how much longer and was told there was still a table ahead.

We ordered salads which were crisp and fresh. The vegetables on the entree were delicious and well prepared. The meat however ( prime rib) was almost tasteless and the meat was overcooked at medium rare. Our waitress was very hospitable and was available when needed.

If you have a lot of time, and don't mind waiting longer than expected, this place will be fine.
Service good, food good to average.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha3312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant that's worth a special trip”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Mukwonago, Wisconsin is a little (pop 7,000) town and a bit out of the way, but Fork in the Road is a gem of a restaurant that is worthy of a special trip. The location seems like an old house that was long ago converted to a restaurant, and the decor combines old and modern very well to make for a pleasant, relaxing atmosphere. Service was nothing short of excellent - our server was knowledgeable, personable and efficient. Water and drink glasses never hit bottom without being filled. But the best part of the experience is the food. I had a pulled pork special (they call the special "pig roast") that came with a fresh green salad, mashed potatoes and a roasted whole ear of corn that was spectacularly seasoned with fresh herbs. My companion had encrusted Tilapia with risotto, as well as soup. Both meals had very ample portions and were absolutely amazing. The pulled pork was the best I've ever had. We each had a soft drink, and the total before tip was about $32. We were halfway through our meal when we started planning our next visit. I can't wait!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyL60365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
1 review
“I'll be back again...and again...and again...”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have never taken the time to write a review, but I am now after having dinner at Fork in The Road. I had the salmon sandwich, my sis-in-law had the gluten-free mac-n-cheese and my brother had the parmesan-crusted chicken. ALL entrees were out of this world, as was the salad that came with the mac-n-cheese entrée. The staff was friendly and efficient and our server was very knowledgeable about the menu.
I am so looking forward to my next visit.
P.S. No reservations on Fridays, and they are packed, but I will definitely try the fish fry next!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fork In The Road also viewed

 

Been to Fork In The Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing