We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected, delicious lunch!”
Review of Fork In The Road

Fork In The Road
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Mukwonago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The village hang out, where neighbors meet new friends. Casual American cuisine, homemade soups, awesome sandwiches, fish and BBQ.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As expected, delicious lunch!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lunch with the girlfriends, not disappointed. We have been there several times. Love the martini selection, oh yeah! Salads, bread, creativity, service....all wonderful. Oh, and the artichoke dip was the best we ever had. The grilled pita chips that come with are fresh, homemade, and to die for. Save room for dessert, especially if you like carrot cake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank empty_nesters07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    55
    11
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding service & food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a party of 8 @ 6:00 PM on 6-1-13 for a family dinner.
We have been to this restaurant a couple of times before but only for lunch, and always sat in the bar which has alwas been a very good choice and the reason we chose here for dinner.
It was rather busy, dining room was about 1/2 full. It is a family place with couples, singles and entire families. Everyone was more than welcome. When you enter the place it has a long bar right in front and the dining room is to the left.
Our table was ready on time.
Drink orders were right on the spot, our server was very friendly and fast. We ordered 2 orderes of breaded chesse curds, this are a must have, hand breaded, not just grabbed out of the freezer and thrown in old oil. I am sure the would win a contest if there was a chesse curd contest.
We all had differant items on the menu, most liked were;
Chicken wellington, a special that was perfect
Fried chicken that is one of the best fried chicken dinners I have ever tasted, also home made, stuff to dream about, with mash potatos, and corn bread with flavored butter, all nice and hot.
Just the bowl of mac/chesse was HUGE, and more of a winter food but, good none the less. Kids loved it.
The prime rib is a Saturday night special, done med. rare just as asked for, good crust on it, picture perfect. Parm. crusted fish was also outstanding, out of 8 of us everyone would come back in a second.
The owner is there on site and overseeing everything, but he does not stick his nose in to anyones business, a sign to me he trusts his people have been trained to do thier jobs, and that they do, with a smile. This is an outstanding "out in the country" place to go, tables on the patio out front, flowers all around. A great evening all the way around.
Special note, the place is as clean as Disneyworld, people are always cleaning, wiping down, and it shows, place is spotless.
You can go to fanicer restaurants that is for sure, but for an excelleant meal, in a family type place, old world bar/restaurant charm you can not beat this place. I would rate it an "A" for sure all the way around. dinner/drinks for 8 with tip was $240.00 Not a bad drive from Milwaukee. We now live in Mukwonago so we will be regulars here that is for sure.
PS, I understand the fish fry on Friday is a huge draw, very popular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John60133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Fried Chicken Rocks”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Usually eat at Fork In The Road on Wednesday for their all you can eat chicken. I highly recommend it. It comes barkin' hot, not like the buffets where it sits around under heat lamps. My wife ordered the pulled pork which she said was excellent. Fast, friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul and Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“a casual little gem”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

we went here for lunch and were impressed.
i had the beet salad, others had the shaken salad and macaroni n cheese.
we had a humus appetizer
we all enjoyed every bit of this lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6tribes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We've been here twice and both times were great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our servers both times were very pleasant. The food is very good. We had the brisket, mac & cheese and the fish fry. There is a bit of a wait on Fridays. The Lake Perch had just a little too much breading but everything else tasted great. Their house salad with walnuts and grapes is delicious. It's a bit of a drive, but we'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JazzMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fork In The Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing