We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had a great time in Mountain, WI with the family”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Northwoods Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Chute Pond Watershed
Chute Pond Recreational Lake. Within walking distance
Slippery Rock Water Slide.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mountain, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a great time in Mountain, WI with the family”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was a great spot to have a little family fun time. The we loved the cabin, it was perfect for what we needed. Everything is provided for you, all you need to bring is the charcoal if you wish to grill. The kids had a great time too, it was nice to get away for a little while and not spend the day online or watch too much TV. There are a couple of parks near by that were fun to explore. Troy is nice to talk to and very helpful if you have any questions. We will definitely stay there again the next time we are out that way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LICHO X
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

That little big place is great; it's well secluded with majestic pines, but conveniently located in proximity and with easy access to almost everything. That's a beautiful area to explore; the people are wonderful. I love it!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your time.
Thanks for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules V
Iron Ridge, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and very enjoyable”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Troy for renting to us on such short notice.
This is our second visit to your "Northwoods Retreat "and we found it to be just as pleasant, private, charming as the first time..For sure you will be visited by us again. It is quiet, relaxing, refreshing, peaceful and the property is well maintained and clean.
Thank you again... it was our 37th anniversary and you made it a weekend to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness, cleanliness, The owner is willing to work, accomodate you.
Liked least: The rain.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Privileged to be a part of a special milestone.
You are always welcome.
Troy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennethbe...
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for what we needed”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

the place was comfortable plenty of room for 4 people . we were up to go on the atv trails and great location for that. nice and secluded area. thanks troy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted E
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what it advertised...”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at "Northwoods Retreat" in the fall of 2015. The rental was a rather simple structure, essentially a trailer home, with dated furnishings and decorating. That was okay, but what I least liked was the proximity to a major Wisconsin highway and the resultant road noise. The rental title of "Northwoods Retreat" and the pictures of it led me to believe that it might be quieter and more of a "close to nature" rental. Instead, it was more like renting a motel along a busy highway, but without those amenities. The price seemed reasonable at the time, but after the stay it just felt like a cheap experience given the many great "close to nature" rentals available in the north woods. I'll never stay there again, and next time I will find something more representative of a "north woods retreat" for my precious vacation time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood stove.
Liked least: Road noise from adjacent state highway.
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2015
As you you can see from previous five star reviews this review was fabricated in order to damage the Northwoods Retreat Listing.
A small portion of security was withheld due to the following message from our caretaker.
We had to do laundry and a thorough cleaning because of dog hair also the one colorful comforter has blood stains on it do u want to still keep it.
Also there was dog hair on the bunk beds and the bedding.
We cleaned for four hours.
Hi Ted this is the message I received from my caretaker.
I will be holding back $80.00 of your security to cover the cost of the comforter and the added cleaning.
This is not routine for me but it was necessary.
Troy
Please keep this in mind as you consider you stay at our peaceful, clean getaway!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJSchmit
Richfield, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable in a Beautiful location ”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 5 stayed here for 4 days. The home is in a BEAUTIFUL location and it's very CLEAN and COMFORTABLE. There's everything you need in the kitchen, which is great! We took advantage of all the great scenery and trails in the area. We biked, fished and swam. Our children (8, 9, 11) didn't want to leave. They loved the north woods, and the home.

Mountain is a cute town. We took some trips to other local towns and visited their shops and museums. The local gas station had books with lots of information on things to do in the area. You can get internet access at the hardware store and the local library, otherwise you are disconnected and forced to explore and enjoy the great north woods! Even the kids found being disconnected a fun experience.

I highly recommend this place. The owner is very quick and easy to work with.

*another reviewer said the mosquitos were bad. We were fine outside. After it rained one night it was more buggy so we used fogger and were fine sitting outside with that and bug spray.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules V
Iron Ridge, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“private, comfortable, peaceful, clean.”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice, very peaceful. The place was comfortable and clean. It was great to not have people right next door.The tranquilty in waking up, having that cup of coffee, while sitting on the deck and soaking in the fresh air and listening to nature was so relaxing. Good location to main highway to reach various activities in area. Made an excellent family getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, off the beaten path
Liked least: At first hard to find, but that was good.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing