We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long term stay”
Review of Village Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Horeb
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mount Horeb
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I recently moved to start new jobs in the Madison area. While we were waiting to close on our new house in Madison, we stayed at the Village Inn Motel for three weeks in May/June 2014. The staff was incredibly friendly, the room was clean, and the motel is in a fabulous location. Close to major highways, Kwik Trip, Walgreens, restaurants and downtown Mt Horeb. It also backs right up to the Military Ridge State Bike Trail, so we were able to ride our bikes to get around Mt Horeb. The rooms themselves are a little small and outdated and the water pressure in the shower was pretty weak, but we couldn't beat the location and price. (Because we stayed for so long, we were given a $30/night rate.) My husband actually stayed at another motel in Mt Horeb for two weeks before I joined him and he said the Village Inn Motel is the way to go. The other motel was a little creepy and the WiFi was super slow. The Village Inn was homey and the WiFi was very fast which was great for us since we both started new jobs and had to do some work after hours from the motel. I would definitely recommend this motel!

Room Tip: I believe the rooms located at the ends of the motels are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebedder, Manager at Village Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review, we really appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience with others. It is our goal to make our guests stay as affordable and comfortable as possible. We hope your move was smooth and enjoy your new home! Feel free to bike out our way and say hello anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great people and ownership. Clean rooms, window AC for those hot days, wifi available. Easy access to bike trail. If an extended stay, you have the choice of daily cleaning or do not disturb. Speaking of extended stays, and as a construction worker, the prices are the best in the area. There is also a family suite for bigger parties and fully loaded: flat screen TV, fire place, full kitchen, laundry, and private back porch. Stop on in if you plan on driving through!

Room Tip: Call the owner, tell them your needs and they will give you your best fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAK0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebedder, Owner at Village Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for the great review. It is our mission to create a "home away from home" for our guests.
We understand how hard it is for workers to be away from their families and how costly it can be so we try to keep the prices affordable. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our room literally opened up in to the queen size bed. You can barely walk around it to get to the bathroom and bench provided to put your bag on. There are no outlets in the bathroom. one four way outlet by the small entrance table. so choose if you want to charge your phone, laptop, blow dryer, fridge or microwave plugged in. If you are anything but small you will have a difficult time using the bathroom. we had to turn sideways to get between the sink and the small shower stall to get to the toilet. Only has "Free" tv on a 13 inch screen. we were tired from driving or we would have continued on as this is more of a 40.00 night stay not the 80.00 I was charged. I will say it was clean but so VERY old. Maybe it was the room we got but I would never stay here again. I have randomly driven through many towns and stopped even in Door County with lake views, queen beds, fireplace and couch and well as a full kitchen to use, and a pool for 10.00 more. Being the only place in the area does not mean you should over charge for basically a bed and shower. Again, no room to move around AT ALL. go there to sleep and wash up and move on...

Room Tip: keep driving....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebedder, Owner at Village Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments about how clean we keep our Retro Motel. We take great pride in offering our guests the cleanest rooms we can. We use the best organic cleaners for your comfort. We recently added additional outlets at the desk areas to accommodate contemporary electronics. Your room has 4 outlets in addition to the one you pointed out and there is one in the bath as well. Sorry for any confusion. We will try to make them more visible.
In response, we have larger rooms. We also have a full size two-bedroom suite complete with kitchen and large full bath, 42 in. flat screen TV and fireplace. All of our TVs have a built-in dvd player.
FYI: the current average room rate in Wisconsin is over $100.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed several times over the past 13 years and the rooms were always clean and reasonably priced. The motel is family owned and operated and you get that special small town hospitality. I guarantee you will be back! The motel is attached to the Military Ridge State BikeTrail and Stewart Lake County Park is just minutes away with ample hiking trails.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebedder, Owner at Village Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2015

Thanks for coming back for such a long time. Glad you enjoy your visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This place hasn't changed in 10 years, and I mean that in a positive way. With friendly owners, a clean and safe place, lots of wood carvings on site, AND such a beautiful location next to the bike trail… this.is.a.gem!

Room Tip: Make sure you bring your bicycle, the trail is fabulous (bike racks at the motel)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docs_Girl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebedder, Owner at Village Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We love to provide a consistent experience for our guests. It seems that we are on the right track.
Thank you for the input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I travel to Mt. Horeb about every two years. Previously I stayed at another hotel down the road and was going to there till I read the reviews so I checked out Village Inn. The reviews were pretty good so I booked a room for two for three nights.

Check in was very easy and the innkeeper was very nice even when I was going to be a bit late. The rooms are VERY and the beds were comfy. There was a microwave and fridge in our room and there is a flat screen tv -- it's a bit small and the cable is limited but you know what-- after running around all day watching tv was not a priority.

This motel is one of the older mom and pop sort of places -- the bathroom is a bit tight and it has an older model of shower stall but hey... all you need to do is get clean right? The bathroom was very clean as well.

Parking was easy. When you go out for breakfast make sure you to go Spring Garden Restaurant. Best breakfast in town. Go out the driveway and make a left and it will be on your right.

Room Tip: Reserve your room early when special events are happening. Rooms tend to fill up very quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KD8QGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebedder, Owner at Village Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We use Shaklee organic, nontoxic cleaners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I choose this place because we have found family owned older type motels to be quant and enjoyable. Unfortunitely the price over-road any possible pleasantry this place might have had. It was clean but the bed rowed to the middle resulting in a poor nights sleep. Had the price been half of what it was (more in keeping with the accomdations) I would have given a more favorable reviw.

It is sais you pay for what you get. Not in this case.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BearsGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebedder, Owner at Village Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I am glad that you found our room clean and our motel quaint and enjoyable. We work hard to give our guests the cleanest most comfortable stay possible. We pay extra for green cleaning supplies and take the time to disinfect every surface. I am sorry about the price, but we are still priced well below the state average of $106 per night. Your room was probably $69 and in peak season that is by any standard cheap. Half of this would not keep the lights on at our motel or any other.
STR data below:
Based on STR data through November, preliminary 2012 year end results for the U.S. hotel industry include increases in supply (0.5 percent) and demand (2.8 percent), a 2.3 percent increase in occupancy to 61.3 percent, a 4.3 percent rise in average daily rate to $106.17.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Horeb
1.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
0.3 mi away
Karakahl Country Inn
Karakahl Country Inn
#3 of 3 in Mount Horeb
101 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Motel

Address: 951 Springdale St, Mount Horeb, WI 53572-2086
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mount Horeb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mount Horeb
Price Range: $59 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is a one-story, 11 unit motel, 5 blocks from downtown Mt. Horeb, serving southwestern Wisconsin. We feature friendly service and clean rooms at reasonable rates. We are the only motel on the Military Ridge Bike Trail and on the "Trollway". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Mount Horeb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing