We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went there with parents many moons ago, but remember it with happy thoughts”
Review of Little Norway - CLOSED

Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went there with parents many moons ago, but remember it with happy thoughts”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was very historic and had great things to see. I recall there was a trunk there with the name Kari on it. Since that is my name I thought that was way cool.

Helpful?
Thank kerriegc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    12
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best museums in the midwest”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Wow! This is one of the best museums in the Midwest. It is worth the 15 mile drive from Madison. The collection of buildings and artifacts from the Norwegian settlement era are great and are topped by a full size Stave Church built in Norway as the Norwegian exhibit at the famous 1893 Chicago World's Fair. This is a fun place for kids and adults.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank UIAlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint display of Norwegian heritage”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The area takes you back to ancestors' times and you realize how they worked for all they had. Friendly staff and warm people throughout.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ALD1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, interesting, and off the beaten path.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Little Norway is a beautiful attraction to take your family to no matter your heritage. The tour guides were well informed and were able to answer all of our questions. The grounds and views were breathtaking.The path you walk during the tour is a little bumpy at times, but overall the tour is a nice stroll. I would say that parts of the tour are not stroller or wheelchair friendly.The tour doesn't take you into all of the buildings on the grounds, which I was dissapointed in. We brought a picnic lunch and ate on the grounds. The gift shop has many neat and interesting things to look at as well. The admission is not terribly high priced for the tour you get. It was worth the trip to see what Little Norway has to offer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Outdoor museum is wonderfull.Went as a kid and didn't appricate it then as I do now as an adult.Being able to see and feel the history and the culture that came to a new place is great.Puzzle house is a great picture too.

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Norway also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing