We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable but a little glitche”

The Dining Room At 209 Main
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Monticello
Price range: $21 - $32
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a destination restaurant in the heart of the rolling hills of Green County in Southern Wisconsin. Fine dining, artful textile displays and a Wine Spectator awarded wine list.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable but a little glitche”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We traveled about 50 minutes via beautiful country roads to get here. The trip itself was lovely. The restaurant was not crowded when we first arrived, but by the time we left, it was full. We were glad we had reservations. If you mention that you would like an accessible entrance when you make your res, they will allow you to park in the back near the accessible door. The restaurant had fiber art on the walls which warmed up the ambiance of the old building. Everyone was friendly and helpful - when we asked questions our wait person didn't know, she either looked it up or asked and came back promptly with an answer. They were able to take special requests, for example, leaving out the prosciutto for a vegetarian in our group. Our group of 4 shared the bruschetta - 5 pieces of toasted bread with 5 different toppings. We each got only a little taste, and all were good, but the tomato/basil one was the winner! The least favorite entree was the "rack of lamb" which really was just a few lamb chops which tasted strongly like rosemary and did not seem fresh, she thought perhaps they had been frozen. The salmon was moist and nicely grilled. The halibut special had fresh herbs. The big winner at our table was the shrimp with gnocchi which melted in your mouth! For dessert, we loved the cherry cobbler with cinnamon ice cream - not too sweet which was just what we liked. One of us had the chocolate tart which she took home half of, it was so dense and intense! And one had the creme brule with fresh whipped cream -creamy but had a little too much liquor taste for me. Nice selection of wines and drinks. The 4 of us spent about $200. We had mentioned when we arrived that one of us was celebrating a birthday so her dessert came out with a candle which was very sweet of them to take note and remember to do that. We would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGal1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining is a Quant Location”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

From beginning to end, this dining experience exceeded my expectations. From appetizers..macaroni and cheese (duck confit withHooks 7 year cheddar and mascarpone), and chopped morel and roast beef crostini. Both were wonderful. My main dish of herb crusted rack of lamb was superb. The pecan butterscotch torte for desert was out sooooo tasty. Wonderful service, spacious bar. I was on crutches and the staff made me feel very comfortable by providing a corner table. I love this restaurant!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfumelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

All was good, but don't arrive 10 minutes before official open time-you have to wait the ten minutes to be
seated.
Food was excellent; staff good , ambiance nice. Best filet I've had in a long time. Cost is about $34 per, excluding wines, tax and gratuities.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorwestIlliniWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"209" matches up with the best”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We live 2.5 hours away from 209, but experienced it with friends a couple of years ago. We were always waiting for an opportunity to return, as it was that good, and as we had to be in the area for a family gathering, we traveled a day early to dine here. We are glad we did. The food and service was outstanding. A very creative menu that has something for most everyone. Southwestern salmon cakes were out of this world. My only criticism would be for the included salad. Mixed greens with minimal dressing and nothing else, made for a pretty mundane salad. If it had been coated with a bit more dressing and some slivered cheese and perhaps some nuts or anything else, it would not have been so boring.
Main course of pork was really good, probably a bigger serving than was necessary, with two big cornmeal breaded slices over outstanding cheese grits. Again, it was a really good dish.
Sticky Toffee pudding is a big hit. I decided that it smelled like freshly made caramel corn, and tasted much better. There were a lot of outstanding pecans, and even though it is called pudding, it is more like a cake. We were told it was the most popular dessert and I can understand why.

Presentation of the food was very good and the food was prepared perfectly, with the exception of the salad, but that isn't what I went there for, so it isn't a big criticism.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our Special Occasion Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I love the Dining Room. This is a place to go to for a leisurely, sophisticated dinner. The wine list is superb. An appetizer is a must. I love the grilled beef tenderloin with Worcestershire glaze and blue cheese cream. Sticky toffee pudding is excellent, paired with Grappa and espresso.Skill in the kitchen, wine knowledge (the chef's wife) and a great server (the chef's mother). We have been coming to the Dining Room for about eight or nine years. Food and wine served with soul, love and kindness.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PREZTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room At 209 Main also viewed

 
 

Been to The Dining Room At 209 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing