We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Campground” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Campground

Wilderness Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Campground
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Since my last review of Wilderness we've purchased a seasonal site/camper there. This place is still the best of all we've experienced. Our kids (5 & 6) will have activities that will keep them happy for years and years. I love the quiet during the week and the chaotic family activities of the weekend. In all the times we've been there (even when it was very busy) we were never treated with anything but kindness and helpfulness. We've had parties with plenty of talk & laughter (and beer) without being told to be quiet. But we were respectful of those around us who did put out their lights earlier. We just toned it down after 11. And yes, we've turn off our music. Have you ever tried sleeping to the dulcet tones of AC/DC or JayZ or even ABBA? Wilderness is first and foremost a family campground

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beloit, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at the Wilderness. The kids had a blast. They spent equal time between the lake and the pool. My daughter wanted to play the archery tag and a couple of the staff spent some time with her teaching her how to shoot an arrow. Saturday night they had a DJ by the pool. Kids and adults had a lot of fun dancing. Our site was big and overlooked the lake. My daughter caught her first fish in Bonnie Lake. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Went with family to this park - it is very secluded, but there are just too many rules here. The first sign you see is one stating that you MUST register at the park, even if you're just a visitor. This registration costs $10 - just to visit someone who's actually camping at the park! You MUST have all music turned OFF by 11pm. Can't even have it on low. MUST have a fire grate over their fire-pits - you supply it, they don't. MUST have a purchase at their store of $5 or more to use a debit card. Cannot take your pet to an open area to play fetch - they are not allowed to run AT ALL! The owners & folks that work behind the counter seem very grumpy - no smiles. The campground workers "patrol" the campsites & if they see something they don't like, you get reprimanded - not asked politely, but you're told your "in violation" of their rules. It's too bad there isn't more cheer here, because this could be a nice place. I won't return...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caziegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed at Wilderness Campground in Montello this past weekend and on Saturday night our neighbors found some baby raccoon's under their truck. Many people were taking pictures of the raccoons and all of the kids thought they were really cute. Then campground security came down and saw them. He proceeded to call grounds to come "take care of the problem." Grounds got there and proceeded to chase the raccoons out from under the truck and hit them repeatedly with shovels until they died. All of the kids and adults around were absolutely horrified. If they had wanted to kill the raccoons thats fine but they should have taken them somewhere out of the campground or away from people at least. The children were all very disgusted and scared and should not have had to see this. The woman on the site was also in tears. The grounds people gave no warning that they intended to kill the raccoon's so a lot of people were watching. For an act like this to take place in a campground in front of many people is just horrific. I have no intentions of ever staying in this campground again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank meganw439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were "scolded" for playing fetch with our unleashed dogs in the middle of a big field next to nothing! Also, they take "quiet time" very seriously, apparently all campers are supposed to go to bed at 11:00! Even very quiet music was not OK, and we in an area that was not by any other campers! There was one permanent resident that did not approve of the weekend campers - go buy a summer house! My cousins rented a trailer - no hot water, heat, fridge wasn't turned on . . . all for $300 for the weekend. We will never return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I absolutely love Wilderness. We've been there with just adults and had a great time. If having some rules about "quiet time" is strict then I like strict! With adults it is laying in the sun around the pool, fishing, and plenty of party around the campfire. With children it is even better...many recent updates have made it that much more fun. The new playground was used every day, the jumping pillow was a huge hit, and while the pool was nice, the lake was everything two little girls and their parents could possibly want.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We have stayed at this campground 3 times now as we have friends with a family that have a seasonal camper here. The campground has a small lake and a pool which is good for the children although there are no lifeguards. The campground is desperately family oriented and don't plan on going here with adult friends for a hoo-ra time or you'll be unpleasantly surprised. Only one tent allowed per site, no motorcycles allowed in the park, more than 2 adults per site is extra, quiet hours are roughly from every hour of the day to every hour of the day. We are staying one last time here in June and after that, we will not be returning to the campground nazi's. This would be the place to go if you want some peace and quiet and a serious lack of fun as peace and quiet are strictly required and fun is seriously frowned upon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loudpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montello hotels
7.0 mi away
Hilltop Motel
Hilltop Motel
#1 of 2 in Montello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Campground

Property: Wilderness Campground
Address: N1499 State Road 22, Montello, WI 53949-8717
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Montello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Montello
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing