We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Trout ever”
Review of Laughing Trout

Laughing Trout
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montrose, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Trout ever”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great selection of craft draft beers and fresh trout. Stopped here because it
was across from our hotel.

What a find - we had no reservations but the beers made short wait
worthwhile.

The owner personally prepared the fish at the table. They should really charge
an entertainment fee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GalenaEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, IL
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I saw this restaurant as I drove through Monroe and was so tickled by the name I put going there on my list for the next time I was in Monroe. And I am glad that I did. We went for a late lunch and I had a Portabella Mushroom Sandwich that was excellent. The service was very good and I plan to go back and try some of the other menu choices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unexpected Food and Service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to dinner here with some co-workers and a client. Very friendly and unassuming service. Great steak, nice wine list and good beer selection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Chicago_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our third time to this restaurant in a month but feel we cannot return. Summer was our waitress and pleasant personality. My husband ordered salmon with roesti potatoes. Food was good but he had to ask where his potatoes were; Summer said she'd check and came back and said they forgot to do them but they would be out soon. He said forget them and she said, well, they come with the meal. She brought them when we were TOTALLY finished and he said take them back. They did comp a glass of cabernet but no apology. Really? Music was too loud. With the competitive price points in this market, the consumer needs to take the entire package into consideration. We brought friends who were thinking of having an anniversary party group at this restaurant. They changed their minds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Upscale for Monroe with great food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great bar with wonderful selection and very friendly and attentive bar tenders and waiters. The food is excellent, the trout and steaks are delicious. The portion size is almost too much, but the price is reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jkcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Trout also viewed

 

Been to Laughing Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing