We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cash only- pretty pricey breakfast”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Original Pancake House
Ranked #13 of 44 Restaurants in Monona
Restaurant details
Madison, Wi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cash only- pretty pricey breakfast”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a 'local'-ish icon restaurant that definitely has a cult following, although I'm not sure why. The food is really heavy, lots of bacon and grease and pancakes. It seems more suited for late night than early morning, but they close in the early afternoon. Coffee is 'ok', not great, and it's cash only. However, the parking lot is almost always full in the mornings, so it's definitely popular.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissDiaz-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, good selections”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We eat here at least twice a month or more and have done so since the restaurant opened. The quality of the food is top notch. Everything is excellent whether you want omelets, pancakes, or crepes. Staff are efficient & friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kleamiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is ok food but for my tastes it is way too expensive when there are many diners such as the Cottage Cafe nearby where you can getter even better food at a much better price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raffdura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Breakfasts in the area”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

They have a large menu to chose from and the food is always delicious. Whether you like pancakes, crepes, omlets or just thick bacon and eggs, this is the place. Wait staff is always friendly and top off your coffee cup often. Unjoy

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't expect to use a charge card or debit card”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I met with a client there and was surprised that no charge cards or debit cards are accepted, so did a quick cash count!! We had a 20 minute wait, which I heard was about average. I could see why later -- the food is fantastic. Great coffee and fresh squeezed juice and the food was the best breakfast I've had in the Madison area, hands down. I would have given it an excellent rating, except for the wait and the no-card policy, and also, another morning, we met there and it was closed during a weekday (don't remember which one) so check the schedule! But the food is definitely outstanding, A++ for that, and the service was also very good. Lots of checking for coffee, etc. Happy overall with the experience and would (and will) return. With cash.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoJoGlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing